We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Argyle Backpackers

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Argyle Backpackers
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

173 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 126: English reviews
Start your review of Argyle Backpackers
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed in a very small room with a bunk bed facing the street and It was noisy. The guy at the reception wasn't very helpful and barely spoke english. We got assigned a different building from the other 2 friends that came with us. Great backyard in the main building.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Miguel C
Florence, Italy
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

The hostel has dorms and also double rooms, all with share bathrooms. Every floor has facilities and you have not to wait to use them. There are time restrictions to use the toilet on the top floor ( not between 11pm / 7am) and also general shower restriction during evening and night times. There are two shared kitchen where is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Novolvernunca
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed for a night at this backpackers hostel and overall had a pleasant experience. There is very friendly and efficient staff at the front desk, I must give special thanks to Adrián for all the info provided. As for the quality of sleep I was none too pleased, although the matress was comfy enough and the room warm there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Menorcarider
Reviewed 14 March 2017

We arrived late and even though we were a bit late telling them about it, it was no problem, we got our key and a note saying that we should just check in the next morning. The house is old in a worn down charming way, but nice and clean. We thought the bed was almost too soft, but found...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ann-Sophie H
ArgyleBP, Front Office Manager at Argyle Backpackers, responded to this review

Hello Ann-Sophie, Thank you for your feedback. We do take pride in offering a more relaxed, homely environment for our guests while keeping our staff at hand for any requests or queries that you may have. Our reception desk is manned from 9am-10pm and the staff there are more than happy to assist. Just FYI - there are coffee plungers...

Dortmund, Germany
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

Beautiful and cosy hostel. Not as close to the old town and bars as other hostels but well within walking distance. Very helpful (but not always extremely knowledgeable) staff. Supermarket around the corner and 2 kitchens with a lot of cooking stuff. So everything would be great if it wasn't for the beds. They were just horrible. I have slept...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank therespite
Reviewed 20 November 2016 via mobile

Arrived early and was allowed to check in before the 2pm set time. Thought that was great. Wasn't shown about the place, just given keys and smiled at. So didn't know where my room was, where the kitchen was, toilets, living room etc. None of it explained. Rules are set to be quiet after 10pm and before 8am. The morning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 25 September 2016

When I first arrived at the hostel the room the staff member put me in didn't have any clean beds. After cleaning a bed for me, she came back and said she'd put me in the wrong room and moved me to another. I don't really blame the staff member though, she was clearly trained very poorly. Security was terrible....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kgrote
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 August 2016

As others have said this hostel is 2 period houses joined together which makes it homely and means you have 2 of everything. The staff were helpful and easy going. It was really nice to have a proper shower room, as if you were in a house, and I never had to queue even though I was there during the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dmumma
ArgyleBP, Manager at Argyle Backpackers, responded to this review

Hi, I apologise in taking the time to respond to you. I am so glad that you had a great time in Edinburgh. Thank you for taking the time to write a review on tripadvisor, we really appreciate that guests take the time to tell us about their stay and the things that they liked about our hostel or the...

Reviewed 2 August 2016 via mobile

This was a great find. The hostel is very well situated just the other side of the meadows and was both clean and good value. We had a private room so wouldn't be able to comment on the dorms, but would definitely book in again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
ArgyleBP, Front Office Manager at Argyle Backpackers, responded to this review

Glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again. :)

Aldermaston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2016

Fantastic hostel which helped me and a friend with a very last minute booking. We couldn't find any accommodation in Edinburgh but the Argyle managed to squeeze us in. Jackie, the lady I spoke to on the phone was incredibly helpful! Great asset to the hostel. The hostel is clean and very friendly! The bed was comfortable and the bathrooms...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jasonowen1983
ArgyleBP, Manager at Argyle Backpackers, responded to this review

Jason, We were happy to help! I'm so glad you two were able to enjoy the rest of your time in Edinburgh. If you're ever back this way, we'd love to have you over again! Jackie

39 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
2:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
High Street Hostel
High Street Hostel
#22 of 215 in Edinburgh
407 reviews
Old Town
Castle Rock Hostel
Castle Rock Hostel
#3 of 215 in Edinburgh
1,436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Haggis Hostels
Haggis Hostels
#13 of 215 in Edinburgh
390 reviews
Old Town
Royal Mile Backpackers
Royal Mile Backpackers
#41 of 215 in Edinburgh
154 reviews
New Town
CODE POD Hostel
CODE POD Hostel
#2 of 215 in Edinburgh
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
  • Microwave
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Our quiet, friendly, clean, 4 star hostel offers a wide range of facilities and services including free wi-fi with additional access to our sunny garden. We are located beside Edinburgh's Meadows Park where most attractions are only a short distances walk. We offer several rooms that can accommodate 4 to 6 people as well as various private rooms that include: doubles, singles, twins and triples beds. We are student friendly! For students it is only a short distance to travel to Edinburgh University Campus and Napier University's central campus. Additionally you will find by staying with us that everything you need is close by. The area offers various organic food stores, locally owned shops, supermarkets, cafes and pubs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Argyle Backpackers

Address: 14 Argyle Place, Edinburgh EH9 1JL, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: RM211 - RM524 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Argyle Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity and HostelWorld so you can book your Argyle Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyle Backpackers Hotel Edinburgh
Argyle Backpackers Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Argyle Backpackers staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Argyle Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“This extra building has a different wifi network/password”
miguelcQ2146SM, 21 Apr 2017 | Read review
“The 6-bed dorms don't have locking front doors.”
kgrote, 25 Sep 2016 | Read review
“6 bedroom female dorm was great.”
405taryng, 4 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Laundry service not free, cost£4 per load of washing”
antonio72015, 9 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Great location and money”
Kumar_IND0, 11 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5