We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Budget Backpackers

Hostelworld.comUS$29*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

763 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 555: English reviews
Start your review of Budget Backpackers
 Click to rate
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Decent rooms, friendly staff and good facilities. Wi-Fi was average and the 6-8 mixed dorms had a tendency to end up as mostly male (during my time there at least), which may turn off some solo female travellers. The location was stellar and the sister-hostel down a few hundred metres had a great in-house bar that you could access also....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beth N
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we really appreciate you taking the time to review us. Thank you for the great feedback and your very kind words of recommendation. We hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back sometime soon. BB Manager :)

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This place was so cool and the staff were so friendly. Its perfect for young people because of the environment and the type of people that are staying there. The bedrooms are big and comfortable. I strongly recommend. The only bad thing for me is that the bathrooms and toilets are shared.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank matxiel s
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and liked our vibe. Our sink in the bathroom areas are shared. Our toilets and showers are of course private. we do have a few sink areas that are single sex for any guests that may be uncomfortable sharing sinks with both genders....

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I've stayed in this hostel 4 times over the last 4 years. I used to love it here but the last 2 times I've visited its gone way down hill. The cleanliness is horrible (bathrooms and dorms were filthy) the reception staff just weren't as friendly as the used to b. and everything si starting to look really run down....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LCToronto_11
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

We are so sorry that your experience this time at our hostel was not as good as your previous stays with us. We do ask our guests not to bring their own food and drink into our Bar area where we provide very good value for money meals and drink which our guests can purchase. We do have a chill...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hostel located in a great central location, our room looked out into greyfriers church yard and close to lots of pubs and restaurants. Check in was easy and then room clean and spacious. We stayed in a 4 bed dorm which had its own sink which was a bonus. Also provided duvets free. Not very many showers considering how many...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank fayemorris
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for the great feedback. We are so pleased you loved our location and found check in easy and our facilities clean. We have asked our IT guys to check out the wifi as it has been designed to reach all room in the hostel. Thanks for the heads up. We hope you had an enjoyable time in our...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great location: just a few minutes away from the Royal Mile, situated right in Grassmarket (and near a heap of restaurants). Bathroom/ Shower Facilities: Thanks for showing me that despite being in an old building, you have managed to fit in modern and roomy facilities. The bathrooms/ showers are very well-done (I am extremely picky about bathrooms and showers) Laundry...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tansuesan
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us . We are so pleased you liked our Location and Bathrooms and that you thought our Bar was good value. We have asked our IT guys to look at why the wifi was not available in your room as it should be available throughout the hostel , thanks for the heads...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hostel is quite central, you can walk everywhere. Staff are friendly and people in the hostel as well. A lot of Germans and Spanish people. The breakfast is not good and expensive, I recommend having breakfast outside the hostel. Cleaning is okay but not great. I went on my own and manage to do some friends there. There's a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank daniela c
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments. We are so pleased you found our staff friendly and helpful. We try to offer a budget range of breakfast from £2 as we are aware most of our guests are on a budget. We are sorry that you thought our breakfast offer was expensive. We are so pleased that you would recommend us...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 April 2017

Good bed, recently renovated washrooms and bedrooms, quiet. You can charge your phone right next to your bed! There are lockers for bags (need your own lock), and the lounge is very nice. A note for very spiritual visitors, the grave yard can be seen from some of the bedrooms windows. Good value for money. However, the wifi did not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank noorahytoenen
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. Yes the graveyard you see from some of our windows is the historic Greyfriars Kirk in the historic old town where the famous little dog Greyfriars Bobby is buried. The wifi is designed to reach all rooms and we have asked our...

Reviewed 7 April 2017 via mobile

It's walking distance to Greyfriars, elephant cafe, Victoria street, grassmarket and other tourist attractions. The hostel is clean, bed linen is clean, toilets are clean. This hotel has a nice cool cafe. The security of the hostel is good because you need a security pass to enter hostel. You are not allow to go in hostel if you do not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Venus G
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Thanks for the great feedback. We are so pleased you liked our location and high level of Cleanliness and Security. Thanks again and we hope you had a safe onward journey after checking out. BB Manager :)

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 3 April 2017 via mobile

This was my first and last time to stay in a hostel. Location was good, its in the centre of old town. Three friends and I shared a 4 bed room which was spacious. However it was so hot , I mean couldn't breathe kinda heat. Had to sleep with the windows open and the radiator didn't turn off. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RoseT0012
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased you liked our Location but sad you did not enjoy the hostel experience. All our rooms have heating in them that have controllable radiators that can be turned off for guests comfort. We have asked our maintenance team to check all our rooms to ensure all thermostats are...

Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

We had an amazing time in Edinburgh and staying at Budget Backpackers was a very good choice! The team is very nice and help out with any questions, the showers and kitchen work just fine and the beds are very comfortable! As the hostel is very central in the old town of Edinburgh every sight and attraction was in walking...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leah P
BudgetB, Manager at Budget Backpackers, responded to this review

Its always great to hear that our guests have had such a great time while staying with us. Thanks for the awesome feedback and we hope to see you back again soon. BB Crew :)

365 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (146)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Room/Suite (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
1:32
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (76)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (210)
Viewed
Amenities (55)
Viewed
Four-Person Dorm (18)
Viewed
Private Double Twin Room (19)
Viewed
Dining (64)
Viewed
The Hotel (54)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 147 in Edinburgh
884 reviews
Old Town
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
Radisson Blu Hotel, Edinburgh
#25 of 147 in Edinburgh
910 reviews
Old Town
Ibis Edinburgh Centre South Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
Apex Grassmarket Hotel
#84 of 147 in Edinburgh
3,301 reviews
Old Town
Stay Central Hotel
Stay Central Hotel
#44 of 147 in Edinburgh
1,431 reviews
Old Town
G&V Royal Mile Hotel Edinburgh
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Old Town

Neighbourhood Profile
Old Town
Few Edinburghers live in the Old Town, but its labyrinth of dank alleys and steep streets suggests this was not always the case. Today, it’s mostly visitors, tartan-flavoured souvenir shops, and pipers that you’ll find on its cobbled streets. This is the place to get a feel for Auld Reekie (Old Smelly), as the town was once nicknamed, and stroll the Royal Mile, the thoroughfare that links the castle with the royal palace – two of Edinburgh’s great set-piece attractions. But there’s lots more exploring to do here down dozens of little alleys, or wynds, while at night the city’s busiest clubs erupt along the Cowgate which is closed to traffic for this purpose.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
With over 250 beds, and located in the heart of beautiful Old Town, Budget Backpackers is one of the best places to stay in Edinburgh! All of the amenities you need including free linen, free hot showers, a self catering kitchen, and a bar/cafe! Budget Backpackers is one of the best located hostels in the city, being only a 10 minute walk from Waverly Train Station, a 2 minute walk from the Royal Mile, and the breathtaking Edinburgh Castle practically on our doorstep! There is also always something happening within the hostel, with weekly Wii and Pool Competitions, Quiz and Movie Nights, Free Walking Tours 11am daily Monday to Saturday, Whether you want to see the sights, make friends, party it up, or just relax, Budget Backpackers has everything you need to make your stay in Edinburgh memorable! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Budget Backpackers

Address: 37-39 Cowgate, Edinburgh EH1 1JR, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Old Town , Cowgate
Price Range: RM78 - RM246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Budget Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 300
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Budget Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budget Backpackers Hotel Edinburgh
Budget Backpackers Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Budget Backpackers staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Marseille, France
5 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Budget Backpackers staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Perhaps a room on one of the lower floors if you need wifi”
fayemorris, 1 May 2017 | Read review
“Excellent location, good atmosphere.”
noorahytoenen, 12 Apr 2017 | Read review
“if you wanna meet people, get to the 30 beds room. What a great place to spend some nights”
93johnnyc, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Get a lower floor if you have problem with stairs; also for better wifi.”
  • view of castle from front of hostel
  • private rm with shower, shared bathroom
  • night view of castle from front door of hostel
eccartwright, 22 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The rooms facing the street can be noisy (especially during festival season), pack earplugs.”
sarahgI8590TZ, 24 Aug 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Hostelworld.com
US$29* /night
View Deal
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates