We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Show Prices
#90 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"]}}
Add Photo Write a Review

638 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Edinburgh Thistle Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 585: English reviews
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 December 2015

The staff at this hotel were very good, pleasant , polite and helpful. It is looking a bit aged and could do with refurbishment, especially the shower room. There was little bits of ''paper rubbish'' on floor in bedroom, so obviously not been vacuumed properly. But over all for a one night stop it suited us, it was on groupon...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dolphin542013
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dolphin542013, Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave us some much valued feedback for your recent stay. I am pleased to hear that you found the staff were polite, helpful and pleasant and that there was plenty for breakfast.All our rooms are now in process of been full refurbished and housekeeping have been retrained so these issues...

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 December 2015

Think we picked the wrong Thistle hotel. Recently stayed for one night to visit the Xmas market and found the hotel to be too far from the centre for us to walk. The bedroom we had Manor Suite was spacious and the bed was comfortable but the curtains on the very large window had seen their day they were ripped...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christine H
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 8 December 2015 via mobile

Used a Groupon offer. The hotel is part of a period built row of stone buildings. Very welcoming from the outside. Staff friendly and helpful. Despite asking not to have a basement room, that is where we were located. However, room was very nice, clean and comfortable. The only slight downside is there was evidence of water damage near Bath...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stephen F
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stephen F, Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave us some much valued feedback for your recent stay. I am pleased that you found our hotel to be very welcoming and the staff friendly and helpful. It is a pleasure to hear that you found breakfast to be good and the seasonal decorations added to the warmth...

Reviewed 7 December 2015 via mobile

We really liked the Thistle! We stayed in the Manor suite and had a great stay for honeymoon. We enjoyed our conversation with staff on the way out, and they where so friendly. It really made us feel comfortable and really nice atmosphere. We only stayed one night, the bed was amazingly comfortable and a lovely big room! They even...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mumoftwo31
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mumoftwo31, Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave us some much valued feedback for your recent stay. I am pleased to hear you really like our hotel and you had a great stay in our Manor Suite. I am glad the staff were friendly and looked after you while you were with us. On behalf of myself...

Reviewed 2 December 2015 via mobile

Myself and family stayed here for their 40th Wedding Anniversary this weekend. We wanted them to experience the Winter Markets etc...Hotel was as expected, although decor was a bit dated, it was cozy and inviting , beautiful spiral staircase...we loved our stay here, our room was sufficient for our stay, had everything we needed, room 23, bed was massive and...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jayzeecandy
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jayzeecandy, Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave us some much valued feedback for your recent stay. I am pleased you loved your stay here and found the hotel to be cozy and inviting with the beautiful spiral staircase. I am pleased the staff upgraded your aunt and uncle to our Manor Suite for their anniversary. It...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 November 2015

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at this lovely hotel, just 20 minutes walk from Princes Street, and the only disappointment was the very small 'basement' room I was allocated. The lovely gentleman at the hotel did say that had the hotel not been so busy they would have offered me a complimentary upgrade, and I would say that this small...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Carol H
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Carol H Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave us some much valued feedback for your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you found your room was small and on this occasion we could not offer a complimentary upgrade to you. I am pleased to hear that this has not put you off returning and...

Reviewed 28 November 2015

We went to Edinburgh for the Christmas markets and lights and got this hotel via groupon. The hotel itself is very old and traditional. The rooms have been decorated tastefully but are still old and a little tired. They still have the original windows and the water pressure wasn't great in the sink. However we had a great sleep in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clare S
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clare S, Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave us some much valued feedback for your recent stay. I am pleased you had a lovely trip away to get some Christmas shopping done and that you would use our hotel again. I am please to hear that you had a great sleep and in a very comfortable...

Falkirk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2015

Arrived on Friday having purchased a Groupon overnight stay for two adults and one child with mulled wine & mince pies for the adults & a selection box for the kid. Checked in and was shown to our family room, looked ok although we just dropped our bag off and went straight back out as we had booked a restaurant....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlene C
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear charlene46, Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave us some much valued feedback for your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that you were not very impressed, we did run a Groupon offer over the month of December i am sorry that a selection box was not provided. With regards to the basement rooms, all our...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 November 2015

I was performing in a concert in Edinburgh on Saturday evening and needed a hotel close to the location. This hotel was superb. The location was excellent; the rooms spotless and the staff could not have been more friendly or helpful. I would highly recommend this place to stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Paulbasso
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear billyandchell, Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave us some much valued feedback for your recent stay. I am pleased our hotel was superb and in a excellent location for your needs. I am glad to hear your room was spotless and the staff couldnt have been more friendly. On behalf of myself and the team i...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2015

I booked the hotel for my fiancé and I for her birthday. We weren't disappointed. On arrival to our room we were impressed, everything was very clean. Freshly cleaned too as we could still smell the bleach. This may have put some people off but made us very happy. We were very happy to see an iron in the room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SJ H
Thistle H, Manager at Edinburgh Thistle Hotel, responded to this review

Dear SJ H Firstly thank you for taking the time to leave us some much valued feedback for your recent stay. It is always a pleasure to hear that the staff were very friendly and helpful. I shall certainly pass on your comments with regards to your delicious breakfast and to housekeeping with regards to how impressed you were with...

294 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (159)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (25)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (135)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (13)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (36)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
Cityroomz Edinburgh
Cityroomz Edinburgh
#84 of 150 in Edinburgh
758 reviews
West End
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
Brooks Hotel Edinburgh
#87 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,050 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Thistle Edinburgh City Centre, The King James
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Channings Hotel
#35 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,236 reviews
West End
The Bonham
The Bonham
#52 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,309 reviews
New Town
Frederick House Hotel
Frederick House Hotel
#111 of 150 in Edinburgh
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in West End

Neighbourhood Profile
West End
Prevailing winds meant that most cities that grew in industrial Britain had their most desirable neighbourhoods to the west – upwind of factory fumes. Edinburgh was no exception, with its wealthiest citizens settling in its West End and leaving behind grand Georgian townhouses, private gardens and genteel crescents. These backstreets remain as dignified and sleepy as ever, and most of the action here lies along the district’s busy main roads. Lothian Road connects to southern Edinburgh and harbors a vague entertainment district: three theatres and the city’s main indie cinema. All attract a select crowd, the sort who appreciate the Saturday Edinburgh’s Farmers’ Market around the corner. The West End’s other great thoroughfare, Shandwick Place, is dominated by trams trundling out to the suburbs and airport, and shoppers picking up last-minute items before hopping aboard.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Edinburgh Thistle Hotel is located in the prestigious, quiet and residential west end area of Edinburgh New Town.The hotel is central and near to Edinburgh Castle, the Edinburgh International Conference Centre (EICC) and of course the renowned Princes Street with its vast array of stylish shops and stores. Established in 1924, the hotel has retained most of its original period features, having once been a Georgian Town House. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Edinburgh Thistle Hotel

Address: 59 Manor Place, Edinburgh EH3 7EG, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > West End
Price Range: RM416 - RM1,151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Edinburgh Thistle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Edinburgh Thistle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Edinburgh
Edinburgh Thistle Hotel Scotland
Hotel Style:
#20 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#37 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#44 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Edinburgh Thistle Hotel staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Edinburgh Thistle Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor has bested views but more stairs to climb”
gabrum26, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We had the Manor Suite every comfortable and clean. Basement room but felt spacious”
francena2015, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“We upgraded day before , well worth it for larger room and cooked breakfast ..”
janbram66, 16 Mar 2017 | Read review
“rooms are all up stairs ,, no lifts so must be at least able to get to rooms,, i had first floor”
E3478DNthomasb, 3 Mar 2017 | Read review
“No lif;t not all rooms have a bath”
JohnG103, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5