We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
Panoramas (18)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,864 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,570: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2014

Me and my partner booked to stay here on the 29/11/14 as we were going to see a show in the Playhouse. We have been to Edinburgh previously and stayed in this hotel and thought we would book it again with it being so close to the Playhouse. However when we arrived at the hotel we were told that we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Kerrie-Anne L
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Kerrie Ann, Thank you for your review. I am aware that my General Manager has already been in touch with you regarding the issues you have raised with your booking. Many thanks, Gemma Vincent Sales Manager

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2014 via mobile

Whenever in Edinburgh I stay here because it's clean and provides all the mod cons travellers enjoy. Reception area is classy and up market. Room spacious and nice views of the lively city center. Breakfast is a buffet style with a large choice of pastries, bread, spreads, cheese and cold cuts. A nice place to stay and take in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Anne, Thank you so much for your kind review, we do have a wonderful building for our hotel here in Edinburgh and I am delighted to see how much you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again soon! All the best. Kind regards, Gemma Vincent Sales Manager

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 December 2014

Clean, comfy beds, great free breakfast and Wi-Fi and a five minute walk from city center. There are really good restaurants right next door and easy access to Carlton Hill. Staff was super friendly too!

Review collected in partnership with Skoosh
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margo C
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Margo, Thank you for such a kind review we really do appreciate your kind feedback and hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Gemma Vincent Sales Manager

Crewe, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 December 2014

Loved it great location I love this chain you know what you get. Staff very helpful breakfast as normal but the staff worked particularly hard as hotel was very busy both days we were there. Its quaint in an old building we loved our stay and would go again beds just a bit too soft.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jacqui W
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review, We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Gemma Vincent Sales Manager

Glasgow
Reviewed 28 November 2014

Stayed for one nights to celebrate my mothers birthday. We had three rooms in total, all on the sixth floor. My room was lovely and the bed comfortable. Breakfast was standard holiday inn express so a limited selection. The worst point during the stay was on checkout day when we had gone for a walk and went back to get...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ross B
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, I am so sorry to hear of your experience with the key cards this can happen sometimes as they can time out however there is no excuse for a member of our team to speak to you in that way, I assume it was a housekeeper and I will certainly be following this up with...

Reviewed 28 November 2014 via mobile

Choose this hotel because we were going to the playhouse to see wicked , the location was perfect straight across the rd, room was spacious and spotlessly clean. The beds were very comfortable , I slept the full night through which is unusual, even at home. Shower was great lots of hot water, free wifi , lots of tv channels....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fluffygirls
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Fiona, Thank you so much for such a kind review. We very much appreciate your kind comments. Kind regards, Gemma Vincent Sales Manager

Singapore
Reviewed 27 November 2014 via mobile

Location was close to the city centre, & near Tesco Express & the tram stop (though we arrived late & had to drag our luggage from Waverly station bus stop). Was a bit tough climbing the slope to Waverly station everyday. Room was large, with hard or soft pillow. Staff was very helpful to carry our luggage to the lobby...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tan P
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Tan, Thank you for your kind review, We hope to see you again soon! Kind regards, Gemma Vincent Sales Manager

Scotland
Reviewed 26 November 2014

Having booked this hotel 3 months in advance using a reliable third party website, my partner and I checked into this hotel last weekend. Everything seemed to be running smoothly. We were greeted warmly by staff and had no problems checking in. We were given Room 105 and upon entering the room, we knew something wasn't quite right. There was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hellorach
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Hellorach, Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear of the mistakes that were made during your check-in process, this is not something that occurs often and I can only apologize once again. I certainly hope you will consider returning on a future occasion. Kind regards, Gemma Vincent Sales Manager

London
Reviewed 26 November 2014

There is a bit of an offhand attitude on the frontdesk. If a grumpy big boned dismissive Scotch lass is your idea of a welcome, roll up to be snubbed! The hotel is just adequate, if you get a deal for the room rate. It feels like it could do with a deep clean. The absence of a restaurant for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank themiddleway
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear themiddleway, Whilst I appreciate you were clearly unhappy with your stay and Tripadviser is indeed a tool that is used to leave feedback the comments regarding a particular team member's appearance is unnecessary. I do of course apologise if you were unhappy with your stay and would be delighted to discuss your complaints in more detail, please do contact...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 November 2014 via mobile

I use the holiday inn brand across the world this may change after my last Experience staff not having a clue ...Wifi everywhere yes if you go outside and connect to something else TV not working and reception a complete joke ... My advice don't stay unless you just need a bed ...!!!!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Spainie
Mgtresponse, Manager at Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre, responded to this review

Dear Spainie, I am sorry to hear you were unhappy with your stay, I am not sure if you reported your issues to reception in order to give us the chance to rectify them? It is never our intention to cause upset to our guests and it is a shame that you will not be returning due to this. Kind...

520 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (330)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (84)
Viewed
Room/Suite (90)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (44)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Other (83)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (121)
Viewed
Accesible Room (14)
Viewed
Family Room (15)
Viewed
Dining (24)
Viewed
Standard Double (13)
Viewed
The Hotel (42)
Viewed
Twin room (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (69)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
Old Town
Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh - Royal Mile
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
Jurys Inn Edinburgh
#114 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,545 reviews
Broughton & Calton
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh
#51 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Broughton & Calton

Neighbourhood Profile
Broughton & Calton
Lying where grandiose New Town townhouses give way to malls and utilitarian housing, Broughton and Calton have long been transitional neighbourhoods with a mixed identity. It’s here that Edinburgh’s gay village found a home in the 1980s. But gay culture is anything but overt along bustling epicentre Broughton Street; even if polished pubs, hip bistros, smart delis and art galleries all speak of affluent good taste. The top of Leith Walk is more ragged. This major thoroughfare boasts a famously gritty gay club, as well as a strip of good Indian restaurants. Regal Georgian and Victorian townhouses preside over largely deserted streets in Calton, where only the occasional restaurant or hotel brings much life. Even so, a steady trickle of idlers and picnickers pass by to climb Calton Hill for its wide-open lawns, wonderful city views, and curious monuments – an Athenian-style temple among them.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Free Internet Access and Free Hot Breakfast. Simply ask for an internet voucher at check in. The hotel offers continental breakfast buffet plus two daily hot options. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is a 5 minute walk to Princes Street & a 10 minute walk to the Royal Mile. Located near the St James Shopping Centre & Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre. The hotels offers free luggage storage and has designated smoking bedrooms. All bedrooms & public areas have high-speed wired & wireless internet access provided by Swisscom. All rates include complimentary EXPRESS START breakfast for all persons. The hotel is within walking distance of Waverley Railway Station and St Andrews Square Bus Station. The Airlink 100 Bus goes from Waverely Bridge to Edinburgh Airport in 25-minutes. Holiday Inn Express Edinburgh City Centre is located near Broughton Street, George Street & Queen Street. The hotel is across from the Omni Centre with a choice of restaurants & a Vue Cinema. This Edinburgh City Centre hotel is a perfect choice if you are looking for a base near Edinburgh Castle, The Real Mary Kings Close , Edinburgh Dungeons and Holyrood or for events at Murryfield Stadium, Corn Exchange, Hearts Football Club, Hibernian Football Club or Meadowbank Stadium. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre

Address: Picardy Place | Opposite Edinburgh Playhouse Theatre, 1/4 mile East End Princes Street, Edinburgh EH1 3JT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Broughton & Calton
Price Range: RM365 - RM968 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Hotel Edinburgh
Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre Scotland
Hotel Style:
#57 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre staff and other travellers.
15 questions
Ask a question
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
21 days ago
Glasgow
1 month ago
Richardson, Texas
Athens, Greece
5 months ago

See all questions (15)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express - Edinburgh City Centre staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“no noise on 4th floor at back of hotel”
 of 5 bubbles p3aud, 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room at the back is quiet but without a good view.”
 of 5 bubbles eneri64, 5 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Top floor with a view ,room 615”
 of 5 bubbles foxxyladyScotland, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a room with a view”
 of 5 bubbles deanw770, 24 Jan 2017 | Read review
“if you don't mind heights go to 6th floor to see the views”
 of 5 bubbles neece52, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5