We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Nira Caledonia

Show Prices
#15 of 150 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Nira Caledonia
Nira Caledonia
Panoramas (26)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,093 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,035: English reviews
Start your review of Nira Caledonia
 Click to rate
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

The hotel manager was incredible in creating a truly unforgettable experience that we will never forget! They organised for our family and friends to be let into the room early so as to surprise my finance and she was truly amazed. They were amazing throughout and I cannot thank them enough. We stayed in the jacuzzi suite for the second...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jonnypelter089
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you sincerely for your kind comments and sentiment, the team will highly appreciate your recognition. We'd be delighted to welcome you back again. Best regards, Chris and the Nira Caledonia Team

London
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. The decor was beautiful - the reception and restaurant staff were brilliant. However, the room cleaning staff are letting this beautiful hotel down. Location was great - beside Stockbridge - which is very pretty. They - on 2 consecutive days - did not provide us with any toiletries and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MrsFitzy
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. Please do be assured that your feedback has...

Ely, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

All I can say is amazing,, hotel was spotless and fabulous place to stay. The staff were all very helpful and nice, breakfast excellent choices and the room was fantastic too we will be returning here. Location very good too.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 452IanT
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Great to have your wonderful sentiment and feedback. The team members will be delighted to have your recognition. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime soon.

Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely small hotel, beautiful decor, amazing service. The room we stayed in was on the top floor in the attic space- very specious and lovely designed decor. The breakfasts were amazing and a relaxing space to read the paper. A lovely part of the old Georgian part of the New town part of Edinburgh just a 2 min walk to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank RG6574
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Your warm sentiment and comments are highly appreciated, thank you sincerely. We certainly wish to welcome you back in the not too distant future, please be sure to get in touch directly. Best regards, Chris and the Nira Caledonia Team

West Cumbria
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Edinburgh is probably the city we have visited the most. But we'd never stayed in that part of the New Town. It was only a 20 minute stroll from Waverley. We had a "petite suite" which suited us fine. Really quiet location. There were lots of little touches to make you feel welcome and Sean, the Duty Manager, is really...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank solwaydooker17
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and feedback. We are delighted that your appreciated and noted the small extra touches that we provide all of our guests. Sean will no doubt be highly delighted to have your personal recognition, thank you. We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future....

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My partner and I stayed here for a weekend whilst visiting Edinburgh. It is situated within easy access to the town centre but far enough away that you are not disturbed by the traffic and noise. First impressions were what a lovely building and what friendly staff. We arrived early and were able to leave our bags at the hotel,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChazD23
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thanks for your kind compliments and feedback. The team will be delighted to read your comments. I do note your other comments for the appropriate attention. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the near future. Best regards, Chris and the Nira Caledonia Team

A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I was disappointed and upset with the whole night me and my partner stayed. It all seemed luxurious at first but it went downhill fast. The rooms especially the bathrooms x2 were filthy, the shower was filthy i found 3 pubic hairs and head hair in the shower tray never mind the jacuzzi. For £259 I'd have expected they would...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank A TripAdvisor Member
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Member, You have chosen to remain anonymous, your submission indicates that you stayed in March, the comments are a little light on detail. I cannot understand why you would occupy a room if the bathroom, as you say was filthy and that you were disappointed with the hygiene and breakfast without reporting to a member of staff or asking...

Charmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had an excellent few days staying at this delightful luxury hotel. The Jacuzzi suite was perfect to relax in with a glass of something nice after a days sightseeing. Breakfasts were fab and would thoroughly recommend the Chateaubriand for Dinner- scrumptious! The staff are very friendly and attentive. We were in great need of a relaxing, quite break with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally-AnnMowbray
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It sounds like you had the most enjoyable time staying with us, the team, especially our chefs will be highly delighted to have your recognition. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards, Chris and the Nira Caledonia Team

Crieff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What can you say about this hotel other than this has been the best experience I have had in many a year From the moment you arrive it is just sheer heaven. The staff amazing.. the room fantastic We went for the romantic turn down ... worth every penny and more i just want to go back every available chance...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Annie1302_13
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Wonderful to receive and read your great comments and feedback. The team will be highly delighted to have your personal recognition. Also great to read that you have taken the time to check and compare our direct pricing against other online sites, we always ensure the best price is the direct price! I strongly advise other readers to...

Manchester
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My boyfriend and myself stayed here for 3 nights for his 30th birthday. The first night we stayed in a petite double room and the second two nights in the Gloucester suite. Both rooms were beautifully decorated and the suite was huge! Especially enjoyed the jacuzzi bath! The hotel itself is beautiful and set in on a quiet street, less...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ClareSpo
NiraCaledoniaTeam, General Manager at Nira Caledonia, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you kindly for your wonderful comments and feedback especially since you are a returning guest. The team will be truly delighted to have your recognition. We certainly wish to welcome you back sooner rather than waiting another four years!! Chris and the Nira Caledonia Team

641 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (376)
Viewed
Bathroom (27)
Viewed
Room/Suite (99)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (32)
Viewed
View from Room (11)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (192)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (171)
Viewed
Executive Room (30)
Viewed
Jacuzzi Suite (35)
Viewed
Petite Double Room (27)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Suite (39)
Viewed
The Hotel (24)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (94)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Dining (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (11)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
West End
The Chester Residence
The Chester Residence
#1 of 150 in Edinburgh
1,756 reviews
Princes Street and Gardens
The Balmoral Hotel
The Balmoral Hotel
#9 of 150 in Edinburgh
3,581 reviews
Old Town
Old Town Chambers
Old Town Chambers
#5 of 150 in Edinburgh
841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
The Rutland Hotel
The Rutland Hotel
#8 of 150 in Edinburgh
993 reviews
Broughton & Calton
24 Royal Terrace
24 Royal Terrace
#6 of 150 in Edinburgh
258 reviews
Stockbridge & Dean Village
The Raeburn
The Raeburn
#2 of 150 in Edinburgh
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in Stockbridge & Dean Village

Neighbourhood Profile
Stockbridge & Dean Village
Just downhill of New Town and attractively straddling a river near the elegant Royal Botanic Garden, it’s small wonder that Stockbridge became one of the city’s first hip neighbourhoods. It’s now one of Edinburgh’s most desirable, though many bohemian touches have fallen away as its residents have matured and the area has gentrified. Some second-hand shops cling on, but mostly residents display refined tastes in basement bistros, gastropubs, coffee and antique shops, boutiques and delis and at the Sunday farmers' market. A pleasant ten-minute walk away, along a leafy riverside path beside the gurgling Water of Leith, lies Dean Village. This sleepy neighborhood of medieval half-timbered houses still retains much of the village feel it had when watermills plied their trade here. Beyond, the wooded riverside path feels even more remote as it climbs to the sculpture gardens of the Scottish National Gallery of Modern Art.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Breakfast included
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Nira Caledonia is surrounded by the cobbled streets and Georgian elegance of New Town, a short stroll from Princes Street, Nira Caledonia is a central yet peaceful Edinburgh retreat. Amid the plush pelmets, rich textures and original cornices you'll find flat-screen televisions, Nespresso coffee machines, complimentary Wi-Fi and iPod docking stations. You'll find warm, heartfelt service and a cool, quirky style. Each of our sumptuous rooms and suites is unique, with its own opulent character. Many have vast floor-to-ceiling sash windows, others open out onto a private garden and some feature a relaxing Jacuzzi. All have new ultra-comfortable beds and pillows of goose feather and down. As a protected Grade A building we don't have a lift, but our porters are always on hand and we offer 24-hour room service. The cuisine at our restaurant is natural, fresh and often organic, with ingredients farmed, caught, raised or bred in Scotland and with over 25 Scotch whiskey blends and single malts, our bar also focuses on local flavours. With a friendly touch - and a touch of theatre - we welcome independent-minded travellers who prefer to go their own way. Come our way. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nira Caledonia

Address: 6 - 10 Gloucester Place, Edinburgh EH3 6EF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > Stockbridge & Dean Village
Price Range: RM598 - RM2,785 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Nira Caledonia 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Nira Caledonia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nira Caledonia Hotel Edinburgh
Number 10 Edinburgh
Number 10 Hotel Edinburgh
Number Ten Edinburgh
Nira Caledonia Edinburgh, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Edinburgh
#12 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
#26 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#51 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nira Caledonia staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question
London, United Kingdom
Boston, Massachusetts
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Newcastle, United Kingdom
10 days ago

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Nira Caledonia staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Any room - as all beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles MrsFitzy, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“All dated but functional”
 of 5 bubbles 924terrencen, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Not next to the stairs and ask about adjustable heating.”
 of 5 bubbles 760qb, 28 Feb 2017 | Read review
“The suites are definitely worth the extra money”
 of 5 bubbles claire872017, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“rooms at the front sometimes suffer from car noise and passers by”
 of 5 bubbles Andrew632014, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5