We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh

Expedia.comUS$178*
View Deal
#78 of 147 Hotels in Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

784 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh
See the most recent reviews
Showing 762: English reviews
Kings lynn
Reviewed 22 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 night for my partners birthday was amazing, very helpful staff, nothing was too much trouble. Food was good also and the cocktails amazing. Perfect location done all the sights & lots of nice bars in the area too. Really easy to find. We stayed in Paris and it was perfect nice little touches to the room,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aimslou
LeMonde_Manager, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hi, I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Le Monde. As you mentioned we have the advantage of everything in one place; a great hotel, bar and restaurant all in the center of Edinburgh. Our Parisian themed suite is gorgeous and has the advantage of a view right onto George Street. If...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 February 2014

Interesting change from your average hotel. A bit pretentious. Good location, comfortable bed. Plenty to do nearby. Would stay again. The attached bar is pretty. Also, check out the stand comedy club close by.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eddie M
LeMonde_Manager, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hi Eddie, Thank you for your review of your stay with us here at Le Monde. I am glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that you will be back to visit us again soon. As you mentioned we are located in the perfect place for both sightseeing and soaking up the atmosphere that Edinburgh has to offer....

Scotland
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Stayed this week in Le Monde for the second time and certainly was not disappointed. It is a stylish boutique hotel with the additional feature of the rooms based on foreign cities. My room was Berlin and not only well decorated and comfortable but the walls were covered in "cabaret" photos. Bed was excellent with really comfortable pillows. The bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank xanteater
LeMonde_Manager, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hi, It is great to hear that you have chosen to stay with us for a second time and that clearly speaks volumes about how much you have enjoyed your stays with us. As you have mentioned the Berlin room is fabulous and it is fun to find out all the different quirky features each of the bedrooms here have!...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 February 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here at the beginning of January which was Christmas prezzie from my parents. We were so excited and in no way disappointed! We stayed in the Milan room and while at first I wasn't too sure I'd like the decor going by the pics online (and the description of leather headboard and mirrored wall), it...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephanie B
LeMonde_Manager, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hi Stephanie, Thank you so much for such a glowing review of your stay with us. I am sure your parents will have been pleased with themselves having picked such a successful present for you both! Milan is a gorgeous room and as you said it is tastefully decorated with the stylish, chic atmosphere you would expect in the city...

Consett
Reviewed 1 February 2014

We stayed in the New York Loft living theme room which would be my choice for a return stay. This place has style, Disco down stars but not a problem with too much noise. Room was clean and spacious, very comfortable. Only down Side, it's on George Street and parking is a problem, overnight parking is a breeze outside the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jdceve
LeMonde_Manager, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hello, I am so pleased to hear that you had such a great stay with us and can completely understand why you have fallen in love with the New York suite – it is certainly an impressive room! As you have mentioned the parking is slightly costly – however we can recommend that on a Saturday/Sunday night stay there are...

Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

This was the 3rd time we stayed at le monde and every time we go it just seems to get better. We have to save like mad to return to le monde as it is pricey but at the same time it is worth every penny. The staff are amazing and always a pleasure what ever time of day nothing...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank 110sas
LeMonde_Manager, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. I am so happy to hear that each time you have stayed with us your expectations and experience have been improved. Cairo is a wonderful suite and if I am allowed a favorite this would certainly be one of mine too! Your loyalty is valued and I'm...

Rotherham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 January 2014

17th - 20th January 2014 I was in Edinburgh playing the UKIPT poker torney and decide to stop at Le Monde while visiting. Firstly what a perfect central location. Then the receptionist was truly lovely and friendly asking if I would like a glass of champagne ? I declined saying could I have an orange juice which was no problem...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Nigel T
LeMonde_Manager, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hi Mr Turver, Thank you for taking the time to post such positive feedback! I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great that you were able to enjoy our restaurant and found the staff to be "lovely and friendly" I will certainly pass this feedback on. I will also take into consideration your comments regarding the...

Chester
Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed at Le Monde over Christmas and what an excellent choice it was. The hotel is situated in the centre of Edinburgh so car parking can be a little tricky at times, but there are plenty of options so don't let this out you off. The staff are not only incredibly friendly (not pushy) but extremely helpful helping in...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank QuicksChester
LeMonde_Manager, Manager at Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh, responded to this review

Hi Malcolm, We are thoroughly pleased to hear how much you and your family enjoyed your stay with us over the festive period. We are delighted that we were able to make your time memorable and enjoyable at Le Monde. Thank you for taking the time to write such glowing feedback i will ensure this is passed on. We look...

Seattle, Washington
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We stayed at the Le Monde for only one night, just before Hogmanay. Let me first say that the staff here are truly special. They were so helpful and accommodating. (Lost bags, straggler friends, etc.) And it wasn't just one or two people. Every person we encountered was really exceptional. The decor is fantastic and I loved how each area...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank girl1der1975
Scotland
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I booked the New York suite for my mum and I because we had to cancel a trip to actual New York at the last minute. My mum was delighted by the surprise and the room and hotel definitely lived up to our expectations. The staff couldn't have been more welcoming and accommodating. The suite was absolutely huge and luxurious....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cancunfan

637 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (321)
Viewed
Room/Suite (81)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (25)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
0:23
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (192)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (299)
Viewed
Executive Room Atlantis (22)
Viewed
Executive Room Berlin (30)
Viewed
Executive Room Milan (18)
Viewed
Executive Room Paris (28)
Viewed
Executive Room Reykjavik (33)
Viewed
Junior Suite Casablanca (24)
Viewed
Junior Suite New York (32)
Viewed
Large Superior Room Rio (32)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
Superior Room Havana (18)
Viewed
The Hotel (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
New Town
The Principal Edinburgh
The Principal Edinburgh
#27 of 147 in Edinburgh
990 reviews
New Town
Ibis Styles Edinburgh Centre St Andrew Square
New Town
Tigerlily Hotel
Tigerlily Hotel
#19 of 147 in Edinburgh
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
New Town
Fountain Court - Stewart Apartments
Princes Street and Gardens
Hotel Indigo Edinburgh - Princes Street
New Town
Fountain Court Apartments Royal Garden
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Staying in New Town

Neighbourhood Profile
New Town
Suits and shopping bags rule the streets of New Town, until after dark when strappy dresses come out to play. This is the city’s central business district with its smaller offices, clothes boutiques, and many of the city’s flashiest restaurants and ritziest clubs. The architecture along roads like George Street helps give it a swank and formal feel: it’s a planned Georgian development of regal townhouses, geometric squares, and self-important statues. But it’s also a very wanderable neighbourhood, with a healthy bustle at almost any time of day and fine people-watching in places like St Andrew's Square which fills with picnickers around lunch. You’ll also find a series of cheerful basement bistros on Hanover Street, while dark Rose Street has something of the feel of an undiscovered back alley and is chock-full of characterful pubs and small independent shops.
Explore this neighbourhood

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Dirty Martini
The Dirty Martini
Cuisines: British, Contemporary
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Minibar
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
  • Dry Cleaning
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Voted the 8th trendiest hotel in the UK, we are without a doubt the trendiest hotel on George Street, and one of only three to make the shortlist in Edinburgh. Wander through a unique odyssey of world class eating, drinking and dreaming... without even leaving Edinburgh. Our 18 individually designed rooms are inspired by some of the world's most exciting cities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh

Address: 16 George Street, Edinburgh EH2 2PF, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh > New Town
Price Range: RM722 - RM1,929 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Monde Edinburgh Hotel Edinburgh
Edinburgh Le Monde Hotel
Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh Scotland
Hotel Style:
#24 Romantic Hotel in Edinburgh
#35 Family Hotel in Edinburgh
#41 Business Hotel in Edinburgh
#42 Luxury Hotel in Edinburgh
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh staff and other travellers.
8 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Le Monde Hotel Edinburgh staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Boutique so it depends what you prefer, city or country themed rooms.”
caschetp, 29 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Each room is different based on cities of the world! So take your fancy!”
SuzanneD843, 11 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Try to get one that looks on to George Street. Especially at Christmas”
deej11, 8 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms at the front can be noisy because of the club below. Didn't hear a sound in the Tokyo Suite”
636looby, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“try to avoid the room facing club down stairs”
KaiW_12, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Expedia.com
US$178* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$183
TravelocityUS$178
Hotels.comUS$178
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates