We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Aynetree Guest House

PricelineUS$83*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$88*
US$83*
Great Deal
US$88*
US$88*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Professional photos
Aynetree Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

225 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Aynetree Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 200: English reviews
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewed 24 September 2015 via mobile

We liked the days, the rooms were very clean, the bathroom was enough, plenty hot water, the breakfast perfect and locomotion easy to go and return from the train station, using bus. A take away in the corner and convenience store can help a lot. And Brian, the owner, was very helpful and polite.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank FabioP077
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your pleasing review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and the short bus trip to the centre is hassle free. I hope to meet you both again some day.

Yachats, Oregon
Reviewed 5 September 2015

We enjoyed our stay here, although we were disappointed that the owners were on vacation. The substitute hostess was very competent. This B&B is a ways from downtown Edinburgh but the bus stop is just outside the door, and there is off street parking. We took the bus to Princes Street each day -- well worth the bus ride for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bob P
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Bob, Thank you for your great review. I am glad that Lynn looked after you and our business when we had an extra little break in May (never been know before). I was surprised that you were disappointed in not meeting us the owners. Unless you stayed with us before and wanted to catch up on gossip etc...you really...

Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

We stayed in the family room which was roomy and comfortable. The prices for Edinburgh are inflated in general and personally we enjoy the Scotland country much more than the city. I felt the price for this place was too high but again all the prices for Edinburgh locations were sky high so this place was reasonably priced and competitive...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank love2gadabout
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review and we were generally pleased with it. I am so glad that you enjoyed the spacious room (room 2). There are, however, a few points that I need to clear up. Across the road there is a new school being built (high-tec with a swimming pool etc...) so one cannot complain as...

Bellshill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 July 2015

we had an overnight stay in this lovely Victorian House in Portobello . we were going to The Scottish open in Gullane . on arrival we were given excellent recommendations for nearby restaurants and bars on promonade with first class directions !!! We slept well in a spotless and very comfortable room with excellent amenities and lovely views of the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ella B
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Ella, Thank you for a great review. I am so glad that the directions to Gullane got you there quickly. We are not actually in Portobello but near it. Just a small correction. We are in Edinburgh. I am happy that you both found the place spotless and our cleaner has got 30 years experience in hospitality. I know...

Whitby, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 24 July 2015

Highlights: 10-15 min walk from Portobello beach; full scottish breakfast; option for porridge or vegetarian; tickets to main attractions available; clean and comfortable room; quiet; bus stop directly outside of b&b; 15 minute bus into town; able to leave luggage upon early check-in; good wifi Note: check-in and check-out are fixed and prompt

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GottaLoveTrips
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for a great review. I am so glad that you enjoyed the breakfast. It is "tailor" made to suit each individual and on arrival we like to get an idea of what people want eg. allergies, vegan, full scottish..etc....if we do not have an ingredient we would go out and buy it (within reason). This only...

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2015

Very welcoming B&B. Brian helpful and friendly. Loved the Victorian house especially the wooden floors - everything spotless and cleaned each day. Breakfast lovely. I am not used to eating breakfast but thoroughly enjoyed it. Vegetarian catered for - no problem. Bus stop directly outside and only a short journey into Edinburgh central. Great value. Would recommend and would visit...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda F
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for the great review. Yes, we love the stripped floors and as they are washed every day it keeps everything free from dust mites. Far more hygienic than carpets. You were in room 3 which was at the front of the house (the room were somebody posted a bus going by for some strange reason). I am glad...

San Antonio, Texas
Reviewed 30 June 2015

From the moment my family of 4 arrived, we were warmly greeted and treated like family. Rooms and house were very clean and breakfast was custom made to order. My wife is vegan and Brian the owner fully accommodated her diet needs. There is a bus stop right out front that takes you into town every 10 minutes for £8.50...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Deployedbrian
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your great review. Brian has always been great with children and is a real family man. As we do not get many children here (they all go to the travel lodges) it was a pleasure for him to "entertain" them. He is a child at heart. Room 2 with the bunk beds is a grand room and...

wales
Reviewed 26 June 2015

Stayed here in April.It is outside Edinburgh but there is a bus stop just outside to travel in to the city, very handy.The room we stayed in had plenty of space and was nice & cosy.The breakfast was great & Brian was very helpful to everyone with advice on many things.So there is nothing to complain about the stay here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank archiewales
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Archie, Thank you so much for the great review. I am so glad that you both had a comfortable stay and it was good to receive some Welsh folk. We never have Welsh people staying except at the rugby. Love the accent! Anne.

Louisville, Kentucky
Reviewed 17 June 2015

Before we booked our honeymoon trip to Scotland, my husband and I combed through dozens of hotel and B&B websites. We wanted to choose a space that was close to public transit, particularly tidy, and cost-effective. I also wanted to book with a space that had a local feel to it, which is ultimately why we dismissed the run-of-the-mill hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lana L
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

Lana, thank you so much for this glowing review. It made my day and I sent a copy to Lynn, our Manageress who looked after you mainly as we were on holiday. She was so pleased and it was very important to her as she only looks after the place once a year. I am sorry that I did not...

Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 June 2015 via mobile

The pros: 1. Great Internet connectivity. The cons: 1. Small rooms 2. Detached bathroom and toilets!! 3. You need to guess how to get into the property as there is no reception whatsoever... 4. They state of 6 parking lots for 6 rooms but nothing was reserved for us... Conclusion: don't bother, the low price is not even a factor.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Issac M
brianpolo, Owner at Aynetree Guest House, responded to this review

It is amazing how you can state that the rooms are small since you only ever saw one and this was the one that you stayed in - room 4. This room has a separate toilet from the room and you knew this when you booked it. It even has a picture of the room and bathroom on our web-site...

34 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (34)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (20)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edinburgh hotels
5.2 km away
Caravel Guest House
Caravel Guest House
#153 of 389 in Edinburgh
87 reviews
3.9 km away
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
Cherry Tree Villa Guest House
#200 of 389 in Edinburgh
193 reviews
4.3 km away
Culane House Hotel
Culane House Hotel
#131 of 389 in Edinburgh
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Milton House
Milton House
#136 of 389 in Edinburgh
24 reviews
4.7 km away
16 Pilrig Guest House
16 Pilrig Guest House
#150 of 389 in Edinburgh
30 reviews
6.4 km away
Heriott Park Guest House
Heriott Park Guest House
#169 of 389 in Edinburgh
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Family run Victorian detached guest house, with private parking for 6 cars, situated near the city centre. 5 fully equipped en-suite bedrooms except one which has a private large bathroom all modernized and refurbished in June 2006 to a high standard. The dining room has a coal fire which is used during chilly nights. Although central to all attractions including Arthur's Seat and the Palace of Holyrood; the house is peaceful, quiet and relaxing. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Aynetree Guest House

Address: 12 Duddingston Crescent | Milton Road, Edinburgh EH15 3AS, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Edinburgh
Price Range: RM385 - RM1,319 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aynetree Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, HostelWorld, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Hotel.de so you can book your Aynetree Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aynetree Guest House Edinburgh, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Aynetree Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“If you get the room with a private bathroom, I recommend taking a robe”
sarahharper85, 6 Dec 2016 | Read review
“ground floor front facing room with ensuite facilities was excellent and quiet”
ellab684, 28 Jul 2015 | Read review
“The room we stayed in had a private bathroom down the hallway with a separate private key entrance. Very clean and quaint with no shower.”
GottaLoveTrips, 23 Jul 2015 | Read review
“Our room had a main bed and a set of bunk beds for our two children.”
Deployedbrian, 30 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Don't have breakfast”
mollie1312, 16 May 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$83* /night
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$88
Expedia.comUS$88
Booking.comUS$88
View all 9 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates