We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Dene Guest House

369 reviews
Save
Traveller (102)
Room & Suite (173)
Dining (28)
Overview
  • Excellent67%
  • Very good29%
  • Average2%
  • Poor1%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
“shared bathroom”(16 reviews)
“b b”(29 reviews)
“botanic garden”(4 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Multilingual Staff
Air Conditioning
Pool
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
Offers from Dene Guest House
Special Rate: SIX NATIONS only here!
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (369)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Dene Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
273 results
Traveller rating
170
88
10
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
170
88
10
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshared bathroomb bbotanic gardenbreakfast roomprinces streetsingle roomplace to stayroom was comfortable and cleancooked breakfastvery pleasant staynice breakfastregular busesground floorbus stopenjoyed my stayminute walkdefinitely stay here again
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
11 - 15 of 273 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2017 via mobile

My mum and I shared a triple room (a free ungrade from a double) for 3 nights. The room was clean, airy and comfortable. The hosts were friendly and accommodating. Very good location, only a 20 min walk into the centre. We didn't have the...More

Thank decksmcd
Response from DeneGH, Owner at Dene Guest HouseResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Decksmcd, Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a great review on Tripadvisor, this is very appreciated. We are delighted you enjoyed both your stay and the upgrade, that is something we can do in low season and in very...More

Reviewed 15 November 2017

Before my arrival, I experienced the kindness of the staff in satisfying my requests and I found very useful the directions to reach the guest house on its official website. I booked a beautiful room with a shared bathroom that was cleaned repeatedly during the...More

Thank Elisa L
Response from DeneGH, Owner at Dene Guest HouseResponded 16 November 2017

Hi Elisa, We are really glad you enjoyed your long stay at the Dene Guest House even though you were in a room with shared bathroom. Thank you for mentioning the cleanliness of these facilities as we are trying to do our best to keep...More

Reviewed 13 November 2017 via mobile

I booked 2 rooms for a trip to edinburgh for jan 2018 on 5th nov 17. Contacted them with payment in full on 13th nov to be told by manager i had no booking. When i told him i had made the bookibg the previous...More

Thank burnsik
Response from DeneGH, Owner at Dene Guest HouseResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Burnsik, We are glad you did not make it here! And your review gives us the opportunity to clarify the situation for the audience here. You phoned us for two rooms in January, as you were not able to prepay the first night you...More

Reviewed 8 November 2017

15 mins walk or 5 mins bus trip fettes row stop.warm,friendly welcome.room was on ground floor en-suite too it was perfect for me and my wife,clean and tidy,two comfy seats too,breakfast was continental and a hot meal offered too no complaints,apart from coffee could have...More

Thank davidsenior
Response from DeneGH, Owner at Dene Guest HouseResponded 16 November 2017

Dear David, Thank you for taking the time to leave us nice review on Tripadvisor. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at the Dene and that all the information we have given you were relevant. We are sorry you did not appreciated the...More

Reviewed 6 November 2017

Lovely place, good breakfast, very good location, with lots of pubs/restaurants in the area, the Botanics close by, and regular buses into town. I'd certainly recommend this place to anyone who wants to visit Edinburgh but doesn't want to be in the noisy heart of...More

Thank Peter S
Response from simkor2015, Owner at Dene Guest HouseResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Peter S., Thank you very much for your nice review. We are really glad that you enjoyed the location of the Guest house and its many assets. We will be very happy to welcome you (or/and your friends) if you ever coming back to...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
12345655
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Multilingual Staff
Details
Price range
US$66 - US$222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$66 - US$222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (102)
Room & Suite (173)
Dining (28)
Pool & Beach (1)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Tashacaroline
10 August 2016|
AnswerShow all 5 answers
Response from DeneGH | Property representative |
Dear Tashacaroline, We apologize for the late reply. Yes, you do have breakfast included free of charge when you book with us directly. We offer a continental breakfast buffet along with a cooked breakfast menu (both... More
0
Votes
Nadine L
29 December 2015|
Answer
Response from DeneGH | Property representative |
Dear Nadine, We apologize for the late reply. Our standard check-in time is 2.00pm. We always try to serve the rooms as soon as possible so most of the times guests are able to check in earlier than that. However, if we... More
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"Get a room on first or second floor"
Read review
"The en-suite rooms are a recommended upgrade"
Read review
"Close to the city center"
Read review
"ask for room no.1 or 2 if you have trouble with stairs."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing