We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kinnettles Hotel

Save
Share
127 North Street, St Andrews KY16 9AG Scotland
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
eDreams
Travelocity
Snaptravel
Orbitz.com
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (80)
Dining (16)
Room & Suite (2)

About

#12 of 18 hotels in St Andrews
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travellers' Choice
Kinnettles Hotel is a bespoke luxury hotel nestled in the heart of the home of golf, St. Andrews. This 5-star boutique hotel will impress with its modern yet elegant look. The hotel hosts 9 luxurious suites sumptuously decorated in a traditional Scottish style. The state of the art fresh inc medi spa offers prestige ESPA treatments and products ( Fresh Inc Medi spa will be closed for the winter months Mondy and Tuesday). Furthermore you can also enjoy the Sauna, Steam Room, Jacuzzi and Nail Bar. The Restaurant at Kinnettles excels in offering all guests an award winning gastronomic experience. Kinnettles Hotel has been designed to offer guests a truly memorable experience whilst delivering unparalleled service ( please note that the HAAR restaurant will be closed Monday and Tuesdays for the winter period). Architects J. Hall and D. Henry designed and built the hotel in 1879, for over 135 years the building has served as a monumental destination for visitors to the town. After its most recent renovations which were completed in 2017 this hotel has now been delivered into the 21st century whilst strongly maintaining its roots with traditional Scottish decor.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness / spa changing rooms
Free breakfast
Tennis court offsite
Children's television networks
Airport transportation
Spa
Baggage storage
Wifi
Sauna
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Couples massage
Facial treatments
Foot massage
Full body massage
Hand massage
Head massage
Manicure
Massage
Neck massage
Pedicure
Salon
Steam room
Waxing services
Concierge
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Safe
Bottled water
Minibar
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Boutique
Romantic
Languages Spoken
English
146Reviews6Q+A9Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 107
  • 21
  • 8
  • 5
  • 5
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Gina T wrote a review Oct 2020
Nottingham, United Kingdom67 contributions42 helpful votes
Booked this hotel based on reviews good reviews. On arrival discovered the room allocated was not the one I booked but didn't say anything because the room was very nice and well appointed. The room was on the front of the hotel overlooking the street. It became apparent that there is basically no sound proofing at all - no double glazing etc which means that the noise of the road is constant AND HEAVY through the night, not just traffic but people out and about! Although it is a small town, this road is extremely busy with lorries, cars etc but the fact is that if you are in this part of the hotel the experience will be as if the bed is at the side of the road. Neither my daughter or myself slept at all ! I spoke to the receptionist the next morning , no explanation of why given a different room to the one booked but di suggest I email the manager as she was only filling in - I have emailed twice but not received any reply or even an acknowledgement ! Not really the standard of customer service or experience that fits with a very expensive hotel !
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Rooms at the front are VERY noisy
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Kinnettles Team, General Manager at Kinnettles Hotel
Responded 26 Oct 2020
Hello, i am sorry about the issues you had with your stay, the hotel is situated within the town centre and St Andrews can be a very busy place. I am sorry it was not the room you wanted we did upgrade you from the standard Deluxe room to a Deluxe suite. i am sorry regarding this. I would like to talk this through with yourself and we can discuss these points further, please call me on 01334473387 would be great to talk and discuss your concerns regarding your stay. Michael
Read more
LittlewoodFamily wrote a review Oct 2020
Aberdeen, United Kingdom20 contributions12 helpful votes
We stayed at Kinettles for one night. The hotel is lovely and comfortable. The first room we were offered did not have a bath so we chose instead a smaller room with a roll top bath. It was lovely. The room was well appointed and the bathroom was great with a fab shower as well as the bath. A very comfy bed and a nespresso coffee machine made for a great stay. The room was very clean and we felt safe with their Covid procedures. I had read in other reviews that because of Covid, some people had breakfast delivered to their rooms in a box as the restaurant wasn’t serving hot breakfasts. It was therefore a lovely surprise to learn this was no longer the case. To make things safe and ensure the restaurant never got too busy, we had to book a slot and pre order the night before. The eggs benedict I had was absolutely delicious, definitely 10+/10. The hotel is lovely however the main asset is the staff. They we’re fantastic, friendly and so eager to help make your stay an enjoyable one. They have the service level spot on, friendly and super helpful but not at all obtrusive. Special mention to Michael who was very professional but so much fun with it.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Kinnettles Team, General Manager at Kinnettles Hotel
Responded 26 Oct 2020
Hello, Thank you for such a wonderul review, i am so glad you enjoyed your stay, here at Kinnettles we like to turn moments into memories and would love to see you here again. please contact me directly for any future stays and we will ensure you are well looked after
Read more
justwantaniceroom wrote a review Oct 2020
Scotland47 contributions44 helpful votes
Lovely hotel that was spotless and made us feel confident with all the new guidelines. Staff couldn’t have been friendlier and made sure we were looked after and had everything we needed. They are a credit to the business. Personal service with a good dose of humour and professionalism. We’ll be back! Thank you for a wonderful stay.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Kinnettles Team, General Manager at Kinnettles Hotel
Responded 26 Oct 2020
Hello Thank you for a wonderful review, we do like to have fun with our guests but we will always remain professional in doing so. thank you very much and we hope to welcome you back here in the future, please contact us directly for any future stays.
Read more
Stephen S wrote a review Oct 2020
Motherwell, United Kingdom7 contributions4 helpful votes
Booked for an overnight on a Saturday night. Got a call from the NHS on Friday saying my wife had to go for an emergency op the following Tuesday and should immediately self isolate. I phoned to explain to the hotel, they said no problem. There is a problem with a refund though. I have sent 3 emails, which have all been ignored. We could have ignored the request from the NHS and still travelled, but decided to do the right thing to protect others. Really shabby that this hotel decided to profit from our actions. Disgraceful
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Grant Cooper, General Manager at Kinnettles Hotel
Responded 10 Oct 2020
Hello Stephen, i would like to thank you for taking time to talk to me today about your review. Just to clarify, you booked via last minute.com who are owned and under the the expedia group and you pre paid for your stay, as i have stated the hotel does not actually have any of your money and is being held on a VCC ( virtual credit card) by expedia. i have requested that you do indeed get a refund but i simply cant give you a time fame on when expedia would give you this, i was also willing to give you credit for a future return and have let expedia be known to this instead of a refund and we would get you booked in. We would love to have you stay in our hotel and i really hope to see you in the future. I hope you and your wife are well.
Read more
Den B wrote a review Oct 2020
Norwich, United Kingdom57 contributions36 helpful votes
The Kinnettles Hotel is obtaining reservations by deception, and it is best avoided. We reserved a Junior Suite for one night, September 10, at £290, and their description of facilities, stated in bold lettering, Free Parking & Cooked Breakfast provided, and the pricing summary showed `Fabulous Breakfast Included’ However, I had to ask 3 times, by Email, whether the parking was on site, or nearby. Their eventual reply was that there was a free car park, next door but one, along with a free parking area at the rear of the Hotel, and that it would be best to unload our cases before parking the car. On arrival, we noticed double yellow lines at the front, so we took the chance and went into reception. It was suggested that the car be moved as soon as possible, because the Traffic Wardens were diligent. However, there was nowhere to park at all, apart from a space across from the building, at £1.20 per hour. The receptionist then said that there would be no cooked breakfasts, as the Restaurant, which they no longer owned, refused to offer this facility to their guests. The breakfast instead was going to consist of a box of food items, of which was not known, and could not be chosen, and it would be left outside our room the following morning. For £290 per night – this is a rip-off. We refused to accept this, and demanded a refund. We explained that the room was booked, and prepaid, as `Non Refundable’ and so – as the manager was not there (they never are) – she phoned him and it was agreed that they would refund this sum through the booking agent. We went to another Hotel, just out of town, The Rufflets, and the next morning, after a wonderful cooked breakfast, called in to see the Kinnettles Manager. He confirmed that the full sum paid would be refunded, but he would not respond to my Email confirming this. It did of course remain unresolved, and eventually, through the intervention of Booking.Com, I managed to obtain the £290 paid. My conclusion is that the Hotel operates under a cloud of misrepresentation, in order to obtain reservations, and relies on the fact that, because they are using `Non Refundable’ as part of their booking terms, they can pull it off because, until the guest arrives, the realities are unknown, and then it is too late. Incidentally, the reason the Restaurant refuses to provide cooked breakfast –“potential cross contamination of Covid 19” – but hang on, they will provide the Hotel Guests with Lunch and Dinner!! Draw your own conclusion there.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Service
2 Helpful votes
Helpful
Share
Response from Grant Cooper, General Manager at Kinnettles Hotel
Responded 10 Oct 2020
Dear Mr B, thank you very much for your comment, i am sorry for the way you feel regarding your booking. i have spoken to Booking.com on numerous occasions to remove the cooked breakfast of the menu as it is a continental breakfast we are currently supplying due to the current climate we are in and we are simply trying to do our best. i am sorry about this. I had responded to you via the booking.com channel manager and explained there is a car park at the side of the hotel and all the way around the hotel is free car parking, now very little of our guests dont get parked. You had decided to leave the hotel due to these issues and yes i offered a free refund, however you booked via booking.com and pre paid ( VCC) a virtual credit card, the hotel does not have your money, i have asked booking.com to indeed refund you, this refund not coming from us as we do not have your money, booking.com then refund you, i have no way of knowing the time frame the funds will reach back to you from booking.com. i am very sorry for your experience here, i would love to recitify this for you and would love for you to get in touch and i can ensure your next stay with us be a better one.
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
US$176 - US$393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandFifeSt Andrews
NUMBER OF ROOMS
9
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Kinnettles Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Kinnettles Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Kartel Scotland (0.3 km), University of St Andrews (0.2 km), and St Andrews Castle (0.5 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Kinnettles Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Kinnettles Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Kinnettles Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Haar Restaurant, The Räv, and The Keys Bar.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Kinnettles Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a sauna and locker rooms available in the fitness centre during their stay.
Does Kinnettles Hotel have an airport shuttle?
Yes, Kinnettles Hotel offers an airport shuttle for guests. We recommend calling ahead to confirm details.
Is Kinnettles Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.8 km away from the centre of St Andrews.
Are any cleaning services offered at Kinnettles Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are there any historical sites close to Kinnettles Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Andrews Links (1.4 km), St Andrews Cathedral (0.8 km), and Martyrs' Monument (0.3 km).