We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Golf Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
The Golf Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

27 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 25: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We only stayed overnight for 1 night with DBB. This hotel is just a 5min walk from the bus station in St Andrews, so if you don't wish to use your car you can get a Stagecoach X24 bus from Glasgow Buchanan St directly to it. If you need a small break this is ideal as the small hotel facilities... More 

Helpful?
Thank Daytripper882015
vermont
Level Contributor
78 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived early and the staff took our luggage so we could hasten off to discover St. Andrews. We found our luggage in our rooms when we returned and that seemed to be how the Inn is run - ever accommodating to their guests. Our two rooms had large picture windows looking down over Golf Place to the sea. Beds... More 

Helpful?
Thank MacD-NC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Golf Inn was ideally situated for the Golf Course, beach, town center, Aquarium, St Andrews Castle and the old Cathedral. The bedrooms are above a bar/ restaurant, our room was compact but clean and well equipped, tea/coffee making facilities, ironing board and iron, hairdryer but no mirror in bedroom!! Bathroom was good size with bath and great shower, complimentary... More 

Helpful?
Thank elaine m
glasgow ,scotland
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This is a pub with some rooms above. Room was clean and warm and had a slight view of the beach. Ideal for a short stay. Breakfast was tasty. Dinner choice was limited but the fish and chips went down a treat. Handy position and on a Monday night , it seemed quiet enough. Staff were very friendly. All in... More 

Helpful?
Thank greypigeon
Pitlochry, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After walking around St Andrews trying to find a pet and child friendly place to eat our lunch we finally came across The Golf Inn. A family of 4 adults two children and a dog we were all a little tetchy at being sent away from so many places. The staff here immediately lightened the mood. They brought water for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lizzie B
Canada
Level Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2016

We stopped in for lunch before wandering around the Old Course. We had a very basic lunch of soup and sandwich with coffee and it was just that - basic. We weren't expecting anything special so that's OK. The cafe is small and the decor is typical with golf memorabilia on the walls. Pleasant.

Helpful?
Thank CanadaFisher
Alex M, Owner at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for that... anyone out there fancy a Soup & Sandwich lunch we serve them 1130am – 5pm daily here's the menu - served over two floors, pets welcome in the bar area only. Choice of Daily Soups are Served with Crusty Bread £4.50 Sandwich and Soup Combo £8.00 Triple Decker and Soup Combo £9.50 All our Sandwiches are made... More 

Niagara-on-the-Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
204 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2016

Right down the street from the Old Course. This is a hotel with rooms on the 2nd and third floor (walk up only). Rooms were clean and comfortable. We stayed for two nights that included a nice Scottish breakfast. You have to rely on public parking on a side street which is only a block away. We had pints in... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Colonel_Butler
Alex M, Owner at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

thanks for taking the time to post your review Colonel ... sounds like you enjoyed your visit... see you next time maybe? All the best Alex More 

Pitlochry
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 October 2016

We spent a lovely morning in St. Andrews walking on the beach and decided it was time for some lunch. We had been looking forward to fish and chips so when we saw The Golf Inn it looked perfect. We sat down at a vacant table, no one came over for 10 minutes. When a waitress eventually came over there... More 

Helpful?
Thank katowa
Alex M, Owner at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Let me continue the part of the story that you've missed off "You then upon being table checked you pointed this out and were subsequently offered an apology, and then a replacement, an alternative or a full no quibble refund" right... ..Er, no, the decision was made not to be straight with us at the time allowing no chance of... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2016

Stayed there for one night wish it had been longer , really nice and clean room ,big bed .staff friendly and helpful .breakfast was first class .and it's only walking distance to the old golf course ,golf museum and aquarium .

Helpful?
Thank Brenda R
Alex M, Owner at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Hello Brenda, Thanks for your feedback, glad we could be of service... see you next time,, only for longer. yes.. All the best Alex More 

Beaver, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2016

We stayed one night at The Golf Inn and wished we could've stayed longer. We checked in and the manager showed us up to our room for the evening. They were more than accommodating and held our bags for us the next day while we went and toured the Old Course and walked around town. We never did eat in... More 

Helpful?
Thank Haley N
Alex M, Owner at The Golf Inn, responded to this review

Thanks for your "lovely" feedback Haley... glad we could look after you and you managed to enjoy some of our vino and black gold. See you next time maybe.. Alex More 

14 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.2 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#7 of 19 in St Andrews
354 reviews
0.2 km away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#9 of 19 in St Andrews
282 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#12 of 19 in St Andrews
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#10 of 19 in St Andrews
267 reviews
0.1 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Andrews
1,140 reviews
0.1 km away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#6 of 19 in St Andrews
458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
WELCOME TO THE GOLF INN, previously known as 1 Golf Place, which has been bought over and had a fairly big makeover throughout. The property is located conveniently just across the road from the Old Course 18th hole and within walking distance of all the main attractions that St Andrews has to offer.Comprising 6 Double / Twin rooms, all en-suite, 1 Golf Place boasts crisp clean and comfortable rooms all complete with the following facilities: WiFi, Tea/Coffee, toiletries, high quality linen and towels, seating area iron facility as a small Inn we pride ourselves on our first class friendly customer service. Should you require anything during your stay please do not hesitate to ask us - we have staff available 24 hours a day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Golf Inn

Address: 1 Golf Place, St Andrews KY16 9JA, Scotland (Formerly 1 Golf Place)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: RM464 - RM826 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Golf Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your The Golf Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Golf Place Hotel St. Andrews
The Golf Inn St Andrews, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Golf Inn staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from The Golf Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room tips for views: 8&9; 5&6.”
 of 5 bubbles Daytripper882015, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“room 7, over kitchen noisy because of extractor fan, it did go off when kitchen closed, started up again around 7a.m.”
 of 5 bubbles 294elainem294, 12 Nov 2016 | Read review
“2nd floor if you have trouble with stairs”
 of 5 bubbles Colonel_Butler, 17 Oct 2016 | Read review
“room at the very top has the best window view of the beach further down the road”
 of 5 bubbles scottie333, 22 Jul 2016 | Read review
4 of 4
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay