We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Rusacks Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,231 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,201: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 May 2016

We went up for a two day trip to St. Andrews and we could not have picked a better hotel. The location was absolutely perfect. Right next to the golf course with view over the course, the beach and the sea. Just on top of the Eden Mill shop, where we were offered a free gin tasting. And directly in...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Raubmaus
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of the hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kristian Campbell

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 May 2016 via mobile

The macdonald rusacks hotel has a perfect location situated overlooking the 18 th green of the old course St Andrews. It's in the city centre within walking distance of everywhere in the city. The beach is just a short stroll away. Our room was lovely ! We were offered a complimentary Gin tasting upon arrival which was great !! staff...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank christopher d
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review! We are very pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and all the facilities which we have to offer. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kristian Campbell

Longniddry
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Fantastic setting on The Links and excellent views from the Tom Morris snr. suite. Really enjoyable stay and staff were very helpful. The hotel has a great selection of bars and places to eat. Would certainly visit again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank D5267WRwilliamk
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star review! We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and were pleased with the service and facilities provided. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kristian Campbell

Reviewed 20 May 2016

It tries, it really does but it doesn't doesn't quite reach the standard I'd expect of hotel with its reputation and location. The reception staff were welcoming and helpful, more so than most hotels. The rooms are clean and well presented, but the Nespresso machine lurks at the back of the wardrobe, with just three different capsules, fine if you're...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Iain D
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a detailed review. I am glad you found the reception staff welcoming and the rooms clean and well presented. I am sorry you feel that the breakfast let us down on this occasion. I will share your feedback on breakfast with our Chef and F&B Manager. Thank you again. Kristian Campbell

Dallas, Texas
Reviewed 19 May 2016 via mobile

This hotel is situated off of the 18th fairway of the Old Course. It is very golfer friendly. Each room is named after a historic St Andrews golfer. Only reason it does not get 5 stars is that even in May the hotel room was entirely too hot. I am aware that air conditioning is not the norm over here...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank alr08a
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review! We are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kristian Campbell

Aberdeen, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2016

A very comfortable hotel - very friendly service. Only complaint was the cooked breakfast. I think the bacon was cooked at 6.30 am and served at 9.30 am The full breakfast price is 17.99 pounds and should be way better for this price.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Normanic
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review! We are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and were pleased with the service provided. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kristian Campbell.

McKinney, Texas
Reviewed 16 May 2016

Just got home after spending a week at the Rusacks. The trip was a surprise retirement gift from my wonderful wife. Two of my good friends and I arrived in the early afternoon last Sunday. We were late due to a flight delay and were anxious to get to our first round of golf at Kingsbarns. The front desk staff...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank lreeves2015
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your 5 star response! We are very pleased to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kristian Campbell

The Villages, Florida
Reviewed 14 May 2016 via mobile

Just spent the past 7 nights here with my Son on a golfing vacation from Florida. The hotel is right on the road next to the 18th fairway. We were in room 318, great views of the course, the R and A Clubhouse and the North Sea . When we arrived last Saturday morning , after an all night flight...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Villagesre
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you Villagesre for your 5 star review! I so glad we got your clubs and you enjoyed your trip to St Andrews so much. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kristian Campbell

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 May 2016

The hotel is set in a perfect situation in the beautiful town of St Andrews overlooking the Old Course. Unfortunately our stay was far from relaxing and we left feeling we had become serial complainers and very obvious around the staff and management. I booked 2 nights in the hotel to hopefully relax after several difficult months and noticed that...

Review collected in partnership with Amoma.com
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Iain k
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for offering such detailed feedback on your stay. It is disappointing that after we spoke at length you still felt this way. If you would like to discuss your stay further please do get in touch direct at the hotel. Kristian Campbell

Linlithgow
Reviewed 9 May 2016

Excellent stay the staff were extremely attentive they could not have done more to make our stay comfortable. Food esp. Breakfast was excellent. The room was spacious and comfortable. All in all an excellent short break.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank A4182DQalexanderm
Kristian C, General Manager at Macdonald Rusacks Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you A4182DQalexanderm for your 5 star review! it looks like you really enjoyed all aspects of the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kristian Campbell

340 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (291)
Viewed
Dining (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (49)
Viewed
Room/Suite (69)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
View from Room (24)
Viewed
Other (104)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (49)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Other (13)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
5.2 km away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
2,979 reviews
0.3 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
450 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#10 of 18 in St Andrews
654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St Andrews
1,099 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
281 reviews
0.7 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 18 in St Andrews
327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel in St Andrews is a golfers paradise. Overlooking the world famous Old Course, you can indulge in a round or simply watch others tee'ing off from our comfortable R Bar. Our award-winning Rocca Bar & Grill serves the finest and freshest food against the backdrop of the Old Course's 18th hole. Our luxurious bedrooms are the perfect place to rest your head after a day exploring this beautiful seaside town. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Rusacks Hotel

Address: Pilmour Links, St Andrews KY16 9JQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: RM955 - RM2,913 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Rusacks Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 68
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Rusacks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Rusacks St Andrews
Hotel Macdonald Rusacks
Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel St Andrews, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Rusacks Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Rusacks Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we did not stay the night”
craigluscar, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Local laundry service was not returned on time”
496davidn, 16 Apr 2017 | Read review
“2nd floor and upwards is best”
321NEILM, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Try to get a room overlooking the 18th hole of the Old course.”
tcorleone4, 30 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on the shore side are the only ones with a view. Do not accept room at the traffic lights on first floor.”
oliviaScotland, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5