Rufflets Hotel

Rufflets Hotel

Strathkinness Low Rd, St. Andrews KY16 9TX Scotland
Shower
Traveller (545)
Panorama of the Classic Double Room at the Rufflets Country House Hotel
360
Panoramas (15)
Room 14
Room & Suite (230)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all

About

4.5
#2 of 16 hotels in St. Andrews
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.8 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.7 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Value
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.
This luxury family hotel, situated in 10 acres of secluded gardens, has been under the same family ownership for over 70 years. Located a few minutes' drive from the centre of town, golf courses and beaches, the hotel is popular with couples and families. Rufflets is surrounded by mature gardens which supply the fine dining restaurant. Free parking and WiFi.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Bicycle rental
Hiking
Babysitting
Highchairs available
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Parking
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Outdoor dining area
Special diet menus
Wine / champagne
Patio
Walking tours
Board games / puzzles
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Gift shop
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Picnic area
Sun terrace
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Private check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Room features
Allergy-free room
Bathrobes
Desk
Fireplace
Housekeeping
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Complimentary toiletries
Room service
Seating area
Telephone
Wardrobe / wardrobe
Bottled water
Iron
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to TheAA: The Automobile Association.
4.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Classic
Languages Spoken
English
2,055Reviews9Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 1,568
  • 324
  • 113
  • 35
  • 17
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
DunEdinAG wrote a review Mar 2020
Culbokie, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We were given a voucher for a one-night dinner bed & breakfast stay. Our experience of many hotels and restaurants that take such vouchers has been disappointing so we arrived with more than a little trepidation.

However, from the moment we arrived to the moment we left, every aspect of our stay was faultless and a refreshing example that many hotels in Scotland could learn from.

Rufflets is a beautiful country house property with lovely grounds to walk around. Our welcome was friendly, personal and sincere as was service throughout, the ambiance in the hotel was consistently relaxed and welcoming, our superior room (33) was very spacious with a similarly large en-suite, dinner in Seasons Restaurant was exceptional, and breakfast next day was delicious.

Top marks all round, thank you! Highly recommended.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Room Tip: Room 33, a Superior, has a great separate seating area for watching TV
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel
Responded 5 Mar 2020
Delighted to be able to read that the gift went down so very well - and glad that we managed to make sure that it was so very far from disappointing. It does look as if you have experienced the great hotel and wonderful Scottish hospitality that we work hard to provide, and thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. With my best wishes, Stephen Owen General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
ianadam wrote a review Jan 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent a wonderful two nights at Rufflets and really enjoyed our stay. From the moment we arrived the staff were brilliant the girl who checked us in then took us to our upgraded room and offered to help with our bags. All of the room facilities were explained to us. A nice touch in the room was the homemade shortbread which was topped up each day also nice to see bottles of water in the room. The breakfast served was great with a good choice for all and local produce used the Loch Fine Kippers were excellent. Loved the turn down service and the offer of a filled hot water bottle. The bar staff were excellent and we had a great chat with one of the bar men as we had both visited Japan at the same time in 2019. All in our stay was excellent. The hotel is a 10 min drive to the centre of St Andrews but we knew this when we booked and it did not distract from our stay
Read more
Date of stay: January 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from StephenOwen, General Manager at Rufflets Hotel
Responded 26 Jan 2020
Many thanks for the kind feedback - it is always reassuring to be able to read that we can provide such great Scottish hospitality across the board, and makes all the hard work worthwhile. With my best regards, Stephen Owen General Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jackieandgrace wrote a review Jun 2021
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We love everything about Rufflets from the rooms, to the gardens, to the staff, to the food!
During a time when everyone is still feeling a bit vulnerable as we venture out of lockdown during a pandemic we felt remarkably safe as all necessary measures were in place to ensure guest and staff safety.
This was the first time we had stayed out with the main house as we had our dog with us on this visit. We were in the Gatehouse Superior room which is disabled friendly and were especially impressed by the bathroom which, although a wet room, also has a double ended bath. The fixtures are so tastefully fitted and not at all utilitarian which meant that it wasn’t obviously a wet room as the bars and other aids just blended into the room.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: June 2021
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
murray o wrote a review Sept 2021
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
My wife and I had a week's holiday staying 2 nights in 3 different hotels. We were foolish enough to treat ourselves to a so called suite at Rufflets at a cost of £450 per night for dinner b&b. The [Gilroy] suite consisted of a compact sitting room with totally outdated decor leading through to an equally compact bedroom. There were none of the accoutrements you might expect of a suite such as bathrobes etc. Unlike the other 2 hotels at which we stayed Rufflets did not make up the room for the second day and appeared horrified at the idea the housekeeper could be asked to enter the room. The other hotels, for which we were paying less than half the cost of Rufflets, simply asked us to leave open the window and the rooms were beautifully made up.
Dinner was a huge disappointment with too many things being charged as extras. There was no bread basket and we were told we would have to order artisan bread off the menu. We did so and when it finally arrived it was simply bulky slices of breakfast toast burnt to the point it was inedible. They apologised and replaced it with doughy white buns. You couldn't make it up! The table next to us had a lentil salad. When it arrived the diner said 'I can see the lentils, but where's the salad]? The waitress uncovered a salad leaf and when the gentleman burst out laughing she apologised and brought back a plate of salad. At another table a couple wanted to share biscuits & cheese and asked if they would add one or two biscuits. They were told they would have to charge for them. Bearing in mind the cost of the dinner they felt it was ridiculous.
Overall, for a hotel of this standing the dinner menu was poor and the food and service were substandard.
We will not be going back and we certainly do not recommend it!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
3.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pippa Wallace, Guest Services / Front Office at Rufflets Hotel
Responded 17 Sept 2021
Your recent stay with us was not a positive one and, as discussed on your departure day, we do appreciate all feedback as this as an essential tool to help us get better at what we do. Our first priority is the health and well-being of our guests, our team, our community and partners now more than ever which is why our Covid-19 protocols are in place. Information regarding these protocols are sent to guests prior to arrival and in the welcome packs in each bedroom. Items such as bath robes can be requested and provided in the rooms and servicing is also available upon request. We were sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your dining experience and your comments regarding dinner were passed onto the kitchen and restaurant team directly. Should you consider us in the future I would ask that you contact me directly so that I can personally look after your booking. With kind rgeards, Pippa Wallace Rooms Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
jonesM7338UK wrote a review Sept 2020
Kippen, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Hotel made us feel relaxed and comfortable and we were very happy with all the methods they had in place for sanitising and cleaning. This was our first trip anywhere since March but we enjoyed our visit to Rufflets. Staff were efficient and friendly.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: September 2020
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Sue C. wrote a review Jun 2020
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This is a beautiful property with lots of flowers and grounds to explore. It is not too far from the town of St. Andrews but you do need a car. We stayed in one of the smaller rooms because it was chosen by the Nordic Visitor Tour person. We will definitely go back but will stay in a larger room.
Our room on the 2nd floor was quite lovely with lots of art work and antiques. The bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was very small and only had a shower but the water pressure was good.
Breakfast is included and everything was prepared perfectly. We stayed for 2 nights and had dinner both evenings. The menu changes daily. Our meals were excellent. We also had lunch at the bar when we first arrived which was also excellent.
The photos that I am sharing shows the quality of the food and the beautiful property along with our room
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mrs J R wrote a review Apr 2022
Glasgow
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Our first short hotel stay with our young dog. Rufflets gave us a warm welcome, the dog treats & dog towel a nice touch. Dog friendly rooms are in the wee gatehouse 1 min from the main building which was great for noise seperation and a bit of added seclusion. Our room was modern in decor and large with a sitting area and plenty of storage and dressing table. Huge bathroom with deep bath for soaking, large walk in rain shower and gorgeous molten brown products. We appreciated the enormous fluffy bath towels, tea/coffee/water and delicious shortbread. For breakfast you preorder the night before which was fine as there was lots on the menu to suit most appetites. We opted to get it delivered to our room so we could stay with our pup. All requests accommodated without question. A pleasure getting the food brought to us, made it extra relaxing. The food arrived hot and was really tasty. The sausage and haggis were particularly delicous.
For dinner we were able to have the restaurant menu in the bar with the dog. This was very welcomed as the food was first class and we were delighted at having that option without being forced to eat bar food like some hotels. Great wine selection. Particular highlights were the lamb, duck and sweetcorn & garlic veloute.
The staff were all exceptional. Very friendly, knowledgeable and accommodating. The housekeeping was excellent and we felt very well cared for throughout.
The hotel and gardens are so beautiful and it's clear Rufflets is well loved and long may it continue. We look forward to a repeat visit possibly in one of the lodges.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
CatB88 wrote a review Nov 2021
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed for my friend's wedding in one of the lodges on site, and whereas it was a beautiful day and we enjoyed the wedding very much, I do not feel the accommodation and service was up to par for a hotel marketing itself as luxury and "up market".

The lodge (Kinness) was tired, with worn carpets and tired couches. The glassware and crockery was all standard IKEA and whereas in an Airbnb I would think that was totally fine, it's little touches like some nice wine glasses and plates that for me take it to that next level and for the price tag (£1,000 for one weekend) I had expected more.

The pillows were like rocks and not very comfortable, the bedrooms also only had single glazing which meant you needed the heating on 24/7 to stay warm. The sky tv box didn't work either and there were just no nice touches to make it feel special.

The staff I also felt were a bit lacking. I asked for a cot and high chair to be in the lodge and informed them of my arrival time (around 2 hours in advance) and they had yet to put it into the lodge when I arrived (having forgotten). The bar tender on the Friday night in the hotel bar was not around a lot and so we had to wait a bit whenever we wanted to order some new drinks. When we were getting ready in the bride's room the breakfast was late, they forgot the extra tea and had to be reminded twice about it. There was also just a lot of waiting around when we were checking in and checking out, it didn't seem very efficient.

All in all, it was a lovely day for my friends getting married, but I shan't be returning to stay again, which is a shame.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
2.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Pippa Wallace, Guest Services / Front Office at Rufflets Hotel
Responded 22 Nov 2021
Dear Cat, Thank you for your valued feedback - we have taken on board your comments with regards to the service provided throughout your stay and followed up with the departments concerned. With regards to Kinness Lodge this has been taken offline this month so that we can carry out a comprehensive programme of refurbishment. We hope that you will consider returning to Rufflets and experiencing the new lodge in the future. Kind regards, Pippa Wallace Rooms Manager
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Sasdax wrote a review Aug 2020
Inverurie, United Kingdom
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
We spent 3 nights here, the accommodation in the Gatehouse Superior was first class and the garden setting very elegant. Given the current situation the staff took necessary precautions of hand sanitisers and social distancing but this was carried out in a manner that didn’t interfere with our stay.
The service was excellent, the staff attentive, friendly and helpful. Breakfast came in the form of a frittata rather than the traditional full Scottish but was enjoyable, burgers in the evening were tasty.
Our dog enjoyed his stay and walks around the garden, the hotel is very dog friendly which is a rare find.
Definitely a hotel to make a return trip.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Yvonne B wrote a review Oct 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Staff were very helpful except no-one there to greet you when you arrive. Breakfast was good with a wide choice and long time slot. Unfortunately, for the price of the rooms at this hotel, I was not enamoured; the room was small, bathroom was small and very tight, bed was too short (my feet hung off the bottom and I'm only 5.5!), there was a droning noise when neighbouring shower on and the furniture and decor was quite antiquated .

The grounds are lovely, but definitely not as big as I was led to believe by pictures. Overall, I don't think I would stay here again and believe you could get so much more for your money elsewhere in the beautiful town of St Andrews.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: Basic room were extremely basic.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Answer from Safari18817210312
Hi I was talking about the bar menu not the food menu
Answer from Stephen Owen
Crail, United Kingdom85 contributions87 helpful votes
Thanks for the message. If you email our reservations team to say you are interested in the Open 2021 week. We will be finalising prices in the next week and once done will be able to quote.
Answer from Stephen Owen
Crail, United Kingdom85 contributions87 helpful votes
Hi David I am afraid that dogs aren’t allowed into any area of the main house. We do have 4 rooms in external buildings that we allow dogs into. Regards Stephen
Answer from Stephen Owen
Crail, United Kingdom85 contributions87 helpful votes
Dear Judith, Thank you for the message - and sorry if the descriptors are not clear, we will loom at this. All of our rooms have showers, although some do not have bath as well. If you give us a call on 01334 472594, or email our reservations team, we can discuss this in more detail. We do have decent availability for the 28th, but less for the 29th (not sure if you are looking for both nights). Regards Stephen
saishaw asked a question Mar 2017
22 contributions13 helpful votes
do you have spa facilities?
Answer from Stephen Owen
Crail, United Kingdom85 contributions87 helpful votes
Sorry no we don't but out guests can use the spa at Fairmont by prior arrangement.
DMSChicagoILUSA wrote a tip May 2024
Chicago IL USA16 contributions7 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"We were there in May, gardens must be glorious in summer. "
Read full review
Golligosh123 wrote a tip Mar 2024
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom276 contributions149 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Electric car charger would be helpful "
Read full review
Eastgait wrote a tip Feb 2024
St. Andrews, United Kingdom3 contributions4 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Best to make a booking."
Read full review
Joseph S wrote a tip Oct 2023
Washington DC, District of Columbia24 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Driving distance to St Andrews ten minutes. Very quite "
Read full review
Brian W wrote a tip Oct 2023
Calgary, Canada15 contributions3 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Try to plan a Saturday and Sunday night as you can walk the old course at St. Andrews on Sunday’s"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the St. Andrews area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 1,352 - RM 1,988 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
rufflets country house hotel st. andrews, rufflets country hotel, rufflets country st andrews
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Rufflets Country House Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandFifeSt. Andrews
NUMBER OF ROOMS
23
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

RUFFLETS HOTEL (R̶M̶ ̶1̶,̶9̶8̶7̶) RM 1,737: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 759 Photos (St Andrews, Scotland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Rufflets Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Rufflets Hotel?
Nearby attractions include The Scottish Clay Shooting Centre (7.8 km), St Andrews Links (2.5 km), and The Swilcan Bridge (2.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Rufflets Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
Which room amenities are available at Rufflets Hotel?
Top room amenities include a flat screen TV, a desk, and a fireplace.
What food & drink options are available at Rufflets Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Rufflets Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Rufflets Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Grange Inn, The Cheesy Toast Shack, and The Tavern at Strathkinness.
Are any cleaning services offered at Rufflets Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Rufflets Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Rufflets Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Rufflets Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Andrews Links (2.5 km), St Andrews Cathedral (3.2 km), and Martyrs' Monument (2.8 km).
Does Rufflets Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.
All St. Andrews HotelsSt. Andrews Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in St. AndrewsHotels near Rufflets Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire