The Scores Hotel

The Scores Hotel

Traveller (219)
Room & Suite (32)
Scores dinning room.
Dining (17)

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

4.0
#11 of 16 hotels in St. Andrews
4.9 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.4 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.3 of 5 bubbles
Service
4.1 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Scores Hotel is the closest hotel to the 1st tee of the world famous Old Course and the Royal and Ancient Clubhouse. With spectacular views over West Sands beach and out to sea, it is in an iconic location in the beautiful historic town of St Andrews. A 5 minute walk will take you to many of the towns attractions including the ancient castle and cathedral ruins, the 600 year old university and the historic town centre. The hotel occupies two traditional Victorian town houses dating back to 1864 and 1880 and retains many of the large former drawing rooms as junior suites. 36 rooms in total, many of which have stunning views views over the West Sands beach whilst others enjoy an outlook over the landscaped garden and terraces.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Bar / lounge
Beach
Bicycle rental
Car hire
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Parking
Wifi
Restaurant
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary Instant Coffee
Special diet menus
Taxi service
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Ironing service
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Bay View
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

76 The Scores, St. Andrews KY16 9BB Scotland
Getting there
Great for walkers
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 95 out of 100
95
Turnhouse Airport
Dundee Airport
17.7 km
See all flights
864Reviews12Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 386
  • 281
  • 107
  • 49
  • 41
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Sandra G wrote a review Sept 2020
Edinburgh, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
My daughter and I booked a table in the Champions Grill for dinner. Firstly the views from our window table were beautiful. We were greeted by a cheerful member of staff (Jack) who served and looked after us throughout our meal. We ate from The Specials menu, the food was presented well and the steak cooked to perfection (compliments to the chef) not forgetting the hand-cut chips which were the best I have ever tasted. The service was attentive but not intrusive by Jack (and also Gemma). I will definitely recommend the Champions Grill to friends and family and will return to dine again. P.s. Hygiene and infection control measures were also in place to protect the customer's during our visit and helped to make the dinning experience enjoyable and free from anxieties virus related.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Molly Beattie, General Manager at The Scores Hotel
Responded 24 Sept 2020
Many, many thanks for your lovely review. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to the Grill and look forward to welcoming you again soon. Your kind comments have been passed onto our team who are delighted you took the time to thank them. Look forward to your next visit kind regards Molly
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachel M wrote a review Jul 2020
Dechmont, United Kingdom4 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Had a day trip to St. Andrews and had saw that this hotel had a beer garden open for food & welcomes children so we thought we’d give it a try — very impressed.

The staff were so welcoming, walking us round to the more sheltered back garden tables, all well prepared with hygiene measures and signage. You could see the staff doing they’re best to keep it all moving & the dundonian waitress had us laughing and the food was delicious! A pub lunch well worth the wait & very reasonable.

Highly recommend and hope as everyone emerges they support this place.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Molly Beattie, General Manager at The Scores Hotel
Responded 21 Jul 2020
Thank you for your lovely review. the garden is just the ideal setting for a bar lunch and we are delighted that you and your family enjoyed it. That was our first week reopening since March and the precautions for Covid 19 were all new, as indeed they still are so I am pleased that you felt our staff were welcoming and friendly in what has been a difficult time for everyone. Hope to see you all again soon kind regards Molly
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Littlelawchick wrote a review Jul 2021
Belfast, United Kingdom32 contributions46 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
I was concerned after reading recent reviews however need not have worried and listed the positives and negatives below:

The hotel is in a fantastic location in the heart of st andrews. The view from the brealfast room was stunning and is attatched. The rooms were extremely clean and the covid measures were really good with the staff being extremely friendly and helpul. There was even a fan provided in the room which was a lifesaver given the heatwave.

Although the rooms were very clean, they were dated and could use a refurbishment, the bathroom was excellent and looked as though it had been recently done. Also felt the bed was a little small but that simply may be because we have a kingsize at home and the room is advertised as a double. The price may have been a little high for the quality of the hotel room however i felt that it is justified by the location, service and fantastic breakfast. As mentiond in previous review all the pictures have been removed but again felt this made the hotel more covid secure and didnt impact my stay.

All in all we had a brillant stay however feel the hotel will greatly benefit from the refurishment and would happily stay again in future.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Molly Beattie, General Manager at The Scores Hotel
Responded 27 Jul 2021
Thank you so much for your positive review. I have passed your comments on to our team who appreciate your support.. The hotel looks forward to welcoming you back after the refurbishment. Glad you enjoyed your stay, it's nice to be able to go somewhere different for change! kind regards Molly
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
LC1 wrote a review Aug 2020
3 contributions
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We arrived for a one night stay at around 12pm, a little early for check in, we were told that check in would be available at 2pm, we were happy to wait, we had some drinks in the scores bar where we were met by a really friendly man who spoke with an English accent, he was very welcoming and he knew we were waiting for check in so he gave us complimentary coffees which was so kind and needed after a long drive.

We went to check in at 2pm, I think when we booked it was one of the last rooms available, all measures in place for processes regarding Covid and temperature taken, plenty hand sanitiser and signs everywhere. However we were advised that they were just doing last minute checks on the room before we could go up to the room and we could wait in the bar area, now usually this wouldn’t have been a problem but due to the current pandemic, we were required to book reservations at pubs and restaurants that we had planned for the day and our first reservation was 2:45pm and we just wanted to get in the room to freshen up and get changed before we headed out, I asked at 2:15, still doing checks, 2:30 still doing checks but would give us complimentary drinks while we waited, I advised that we have a reservation at 2:45 so we really needed in the room, I had to call my reservation and luckily they managed to hold our table for 15 mins. 2:40 I went out again still not ready but another couple were checking in and I heard the lady in the couple, we will tell you what room we want and off they went up to their room!

Finally at 2:45 the room was ready. Within the 45 mins we had to wait for our room, at least 4 families checked in after us and none of them had to wait!! They all went straight to their room.

In the room there were no towels which I had to ask for and a green liquid stain on the shower curtain and the last guests phone charger still plugged in, somehow I don’t believe they were doing “last minute checks”.

I feel that this set the day from an easy relaxing day to one that felt rushed and we didn’t have time to explore as planned, we had to dump our bags and back out to get our reservation, if they were short staffed I wish they would have been honest from the beginning, they knew we were waiting for 2 hours before check in

I’d really like to finish off on a positive, the view is beautiful and the location is central, the breakfast was fine (except the coffee) and the hotel has a small car park to the rear which we were lucky to get a space. The bar is cosy and welcoming and a decent selection of drinks

Due to the overall experience I don’t think I would return which is a shame
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Molly Beattie, General Manager at The Scores Hotel
Responded 3 Aug 2020
We certainly got your check in wrong and for that I sincerely apologise. To the defence of our management team on duty that day there were serious staff shortages with a few members of staff calling in sick hours before their shift. Ideally that is not a problem that should impact on our guests but it did have a big factor on staffing levels and the team perhaps didn't organise things properly which is something we will review. Our normal service would be to prioritise rooms where we know we have guests waiting for check in and to also double check the cleaning standard because when rushed it is human nature to miss things that would otherwise be perfect. This would have avoided you having to watch other guests checking into their rooms without a hold up which must have been infuriating. I have the advantage of hindsight however and I know the team will have done their very best, I will ensure that everyone is aware of how to try and avoid these issues in the future. My sincere apologies again that we did not meet our usual standards and for the impact it had on your stay kind regards Molly
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
S ferguson wrote a review Mar 2020
Tempo, United Kingdom19 contributions39 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Stayed one night here, nice room facing the beach, clean, good size bathroom however very small double bed but comfortable just the same. Hotel very traditional decor with golf predominant. Had evening meal here however would not recommend, fish and chips, fish ok but suspect it was frozen and chips cremated beyond belief, chef obviously can’t control the fat fryer! If you want a decent meal walk into town. Breakfast ok, good variety but don’t know where they get the sausage but they need to STOP buying it, every plate we seen sent back uneaten sausage, they were disgusting! Staff very pleasant and helpful would use hotel again due to location but never eat there
Read more
Date of stay: March 2020
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from bwscoresstandrews, Manager at The Scores Hotel
Responded 9 Mar 2020
Many thanks for your detailed review. It is always good to receive feed back , and whilst we are pleased you enjoyed most of your stay it is disappointing to learn about your issues regarding your meals. It comes as a bit of a surprise because we have only been getting positive comments from our diners since our new head chef took up his position, also based as we are, right on the sea, it is our policy to use only fresh local produce, especially our fish. We have taken your comments on board and will look into why we didn't meet our usual high standards during your visit. We hope we see you again soon kind regards Molly
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
GixxaJase wrote a review Nov 2020
Blackburn, United Kingdom205 contributions137 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Staying here for a week while we work on the Army base. On entering the Reception we were warmly greeted by the attentive and helpful staff, and given room upgrades.The rooms were very spacious and well appointed,mine (100) even had a large balcony with fantastic views of the beach and the old course at St Andrews.
The location couldn't be better,with all the bars,restaurants and shops in short walking distance and the beach is a stones throw away.
My colleagues will be back for sure.
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Molly Beattie, General Manager at The Scores Hotel
Responded 29 Nov 2020
Many thanks for your lovely review, it was a pleasure to have you and your two colleagues staying with us, especially just now! Glad you liked the rooms, hopefully we will see you again when you are next in the area Have a lovely Christmas Molly and all the team at the Scores
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
kevin W wrote a review Jun 2021
2 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
Unfortunately the hotel reception was low lighting and very faded, not welcoming at all. Room 311 - very small, Telephone didn't work, no towels or toiletries in bathroom, found empty water bottle down side of bed, room very dusty, only one bedside table for double bed, flat sheet on mattress was a single, didn't fit, pillows old and lumpy, curtains were hanging off rail. We never saw any housekeeping staff during our stay. Breakfast like Fawlty Towers, we were told to find a table for ourselves, unfortunately all empty tables were full of dirty dishes. Staff don't seem to be trained. We paid £200 per night for room, breakfast was £13.95 each extra, feel cheated on what should have been a pleasant stay. A let-down for the lovely town of St Andrews
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
Room Tip: No a/c in room 311, room with garden view quieter.
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Molly Beattie, General Manager at The Scores Hotel
Responded 10 Jun 2021
Dear Mr Williams As i replied to you on another review site I am truly sorry you did not enjoy your stay. We are always disappointed when our service has not reached it's usual standards and we will most certainly be taking your comments seriously with the aim of improving where we went wrong. regards Molly
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
MartynC77 wrote a review Jul 2021
Chorley, United Kingdom32 contributions8 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Be very careful when booking this hotel in the coming months. All is not as it seems. The hotel "allegedly....as told by many staff to guests all the time" has been sold and is closing in October for a full refurbishment. Very much the topic of conversation around the hotel !! Temporary staff in most areas who are trying their best, pictures taken from bedrooms and most areas of the hotel. Stale and musky odours around the hotel and especially in our Junior suite. Staff are trying their very best but are no where near reaching what's acceptable for such a price you're paying ...ie DB&B £200 a night. During Dinner & Breakfast experiences what you don't want to hear time after time after time is "So sorry for your wait" on most if not every visit to the 10 tables set up in the dining room for each item being delivered !! BW should be explaining the current situation before bookings are taken but that wont matter after mid October.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Molly Beattie, General Manager at The Scores Hotel
Responded 27 Jul 2021
I am very sorry that you encountered the problems listed above during your stay. Staff shortages and all the staff redundancies in October should not have impacted on your stay and I apologise for this. We are working very hard on recruiting more staff but like every other establishment in the UK there is a surplus of positions versus people available. I would point out , to be fair to BW, every hotel is independently owned and BW have no jurisdiction whatsoever on how each hotel is staffed, I can assure you that everyone is trying to resolve the staffing issue. These are excuses and all things which should not be apparent to any of our guests during their stay, we will take your comments onboard and work harder at trying to make our guests stay more enjoyable. kind regards Molly
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
lindaM1911RZ wrote a review Aug 2020
North Lanarkshire, United Kingdom6 contributions5 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
This hotel is lovely. It is very clean and welcoming. All measures are in place to deal with COVID-19, which is essential at this difficult time. It is ideally situated for exploring anywhere in St Andrews, especially the beach and golf course, which are extremely close. We had booked a garden view room and were delighted to find out we had been upgraded to a sea view room as an Anniversary gift. That’s not all - we then received a bottle of Prosecco delivered to our room - also courtesy of the hotel! Above and beyond we would say. The breakfast was delicious and there are ample choices. All the staff were very friendly and extremely helpful. We would recommend this hotel and will definitely be returning for another enjoyable break away.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Molly Beattie, General Manager at The Scores Hotel
Responded 11 Aug 2020
Thank you, we truly appreciate your lovely review and were delighted you chose to spend your anniversary with us at St Andrews. Hopefully you won't leave it for another year before you return. Thanks again for your kind words, the team will be thrilled kind regards Molly
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Cath M wrote a review May 2021
United Kingdom5 contributions1 helpful vote
1.0 of 5 bubbles
We have stayed in this hotel several times in the past and been satisfied. It is now NOT as advertised. The rooms and common areas have been plundered of decorative items such as pictures, ornaments etc and it looks abandoned. The room we were allocated was very shabby and the roof leaked. The amenities were below (covid required) basics. It appears to remain popular with corporate bookings who are unlikely to be paying the inflated price of £245 per night B&B (reduced by £32 on complaint). The hotel is understaffed, the quality of produce poor. Independent travellers beware, you will be stung if you book here.
Read more
Date of stay: May 2021
1.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
1.0 of 5 bubblesService
1.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Molly Beattie, General Manager at The Scores Hotel
Responded 28 May 2021
I am sorry you did not enjoy your recent stay though puzzled by the criticism of being 'stung' The price was agreed at time of booking made by yourself and although we were unable to provide the free upgrade or free sea view you requested, something we would have tried to accommodate if the hotel had not been busy during your stay, you did know the rate prior to booking. There are also quite a few assumptions made, corporate bookings, understaffed, amenities below Covid 19 regulations, I don't know how you can assess whether our other guests were 'corporate' and without knowing the room occupancy levels cannot judge if an hotel was understaffed , we also follow the Quality Care guidelines strictly in all matters regarding Covid 19 regulations and make no apologies for this, we equip our rooms to their recommendations for the safety of all our guests. All items are still available and we are more than happy to provide them on request. if you had made your request for tissues known we would have been happy to provide them. . Our local suppliers will be disappointed to hear your opinions on their produce which is sourced locally for freshness and quality. However it still remains disappointing to all our team that you did not enjoy your stay. We always want our guests to have the best possible visit and are sorry this did not happen on this occasion. kind regards Molly
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Karin Z asked a question Jul 2018
Goodyear, Arizona88 contributions9 helpful votes
The hotel says free parking. We are driving and wonder where it is located?
Answer from bwscoresstandrews
StAndrews United Kingdom2 contributions
The hotel has a small car park at the rear of the hotel. It is accessed through the archway on the right hand side as you enter Golf Place towards West Sands beach. Sorry for the delay in replying, your question was only passed onto us today
Answer from Robert R
Dallas, Texas225 contributions148 helpful votes
No they do not have a shuttle. We arranged a private transfer from Edinburgh and took a cab back to the city a few days later. Other options included shared vans/shuttles or public transportation, although I'm not sure how near the train leaves you to the center of St. Andrews.
Answer from bwscoresstandrews
StAndrews United Kingdom2 contributions
Good Afternoon All of our rooms have an iron and ironing board located within the wardrobe King regards
Answer from bwscoresstandrews
StAndrews United Kingdom2 contributions
Good afternoon We can organise for your laundry locally and this is usually returned the next day
Michael S asked a question Apr 2015
San Antonio, Texas, United States19 contributions1 helpful vote
Hello! Will the lift be repaired for the British Open in July?
Sheenite wrote a tip Oct 2022
London, United Kingdom63 contributions60 helpful votes
4.0 of 5 bubbles
"Has sea view and garden view rooms"
Read full review
Mulacaboo wrote a tip Sept 2022
Glasgow, United Kingdom7 contributions8 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"Avoid this place"
Read full review
Jacob S wrote a tip Sept 2022
9 contributions2 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"108/109 is a two bedroom suite"
Read full review
Connor C wrote a tip Sept 2022
Stirling, United Kingdom3 contributions
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Parking to the rear of hotel in a private carpark or I'd your super lucky parking in the street right outside the front door."
Read full review
Sxaman wrote a tip Sept 2022
Welburn, United Kingdom12 contributions2 helpful votes
1.0 of 5 bubbles
"There is no car parking at this hotel and 30 steps to the entrance"
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the St. Andrews area.
ALSO KNOWN AS
best western st andrews, scores hotel st andrews, st. andrews best western
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
Best Western Scores Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandFifeSt. Andrews
NUMBER OF ROOMS
36
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

THE SCORES HOTEL: See 843 Reviews and 222 Photos (St Andrews, Scotland)

Frequently Asked Questions about The Scores Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Scores Hotel?
Nearby attractions include St Andrews Links (0.08 km), The Swilcan Bridge (0.3 km), and University of St Andrews (0.4 km).
What are some of the property amenities at The Scores Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Scores Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at The Scores Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Scores Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include The Seafood Ristorante, Haar Restaurant, and The Keys Bar.
Is The Scores Hotel located near the city centre?
Yes, it is 0.9 km away from the centre of St. Andrews.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Scores Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Scores Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, guests have access to meeting rooms and a banquet room during their stay.
Are there any historical sites close to The Scores Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting St Andrews Links (0.08 km), St Andrews Cathedral (0.9 km), and Martyrs' Monument (0.5 km).
Does The Scores Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the bay view available here.
Is The Scores Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All St. Andrews HotelsSt. Andrews Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in St. AndrewsHotels near The Scores Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire