We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Bell Craig Guest House

Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Show Prices
Management photos
Bell Craig Guest House
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

76 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Bell Craig Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 72: English reviews
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 22 October 2011

We stayed in several B & B's in Scotland, England and Spain and Bell Craig was not among the best. The rooms were clean, but cramped and we couldn't close the toilet/bathroom sliding door at all, which was embarrassing if someone came to the door of the room. Breakfast gave the impression that food was rationed, with very little laid...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cherylanne_11
ipeter1, Owner at Bell Craig Guest House, responded to this review

I am very sorry you were not happy with your stay at the Bellcraig I Have spoken with Hazel who was working when you were there.Sorry you felt the room was cramped but you must remember they are old houses snd they don't have huge rooms????? as for breakfast we always have four cereals,cheeses fresh and dried fruits.segments and prunes...

Edinburgh
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We found pros and cons with Bell Craig. The biggest pro was the location (good to visit St Andrews on foot). The room we were in was a bit cramped (room 7), with strange sliding doors - e.g. bathroom door that was sliding and didn't lock. The welcome pack was sparse - one page from the website and some contact...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave C
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Two night stay in order to visit our son. Location very good for the town, golf and beach. Staff friendly and very accommodating, food good and well presented, room clean and comfortable. Happy to recommend and hope to return.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Robert C
Fresno, California
Reviewed 30 September 2011

Great Location. Walking distance to everything in St. Andrews. Hazel allowed us to store my daughter's bags downstairs prior to her moving into her dorm. The room's are very nice and the beds very comfortable. Breakfast's are generous and tasty!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank cmplunkett
uk
Reviewed 29 August 2011

This was our second stay at the Bell Craig and even nicer than last year. Hazel organised early breakfast for us on the days we needed it , good choice on the menu. The larger of the family rooms is great although the bathroom is tiny but in this period of house I would not expect anything else. Fantastic location...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kollbers
Hexham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Stayed here to play golf at the Old Course, very convenient location, only 400 yards from the first tee, the room was very clean and the landlady was very helpful. Would definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hudders
Winona, Minnesota
Reviewed 10 July 2011

The Bell Craig House was perfect for the golf trip my son and I took to Scotland. Hazel, who keeps the home, was especially gracious, making sure we had a breakfast available to us, even though we had tee times before the regular breakfast time. The normal breakfast was always good -- and was served in an attractive room. The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mickey4567
Reviewed 8 July 2011

Helpful host. Room comfortable and well decorated. Wifi reception poor but able to connect. Breakfast average. Free parking available in nearby carpark. Walk to St Andrews.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sunlight21
Scotland
Reviewed 30 June 2011

We stayed for one night and had two rooms recently. The rooms were very small - as if the normal size bedrooms had been divided into two. We asked to move rooms as there was no hot water to wash/shower. Eventually were allowed to move and it was the same in the second room. Our hostess didn't seem happy we'd...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ronatmc
sheila40, Owner at Bell Craig Guest House, responded to this review

I am sorry you were not happy with your stay at BELLCRAIG Feed back i got from my assistant Hazel was that you had no hot water all our showers are electric so you get instant hot water Hazel changed your room for you she then had to go and service the first room you were in as you had...

Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 June 2011

Joan and I stayed at bell Craig for a full week. We enjoyed our stay and would not hesitate to recommend this establishment to anyone travelling in Fife/Scotland from anywhere in the world. The decor was fabulous. Hazel was an excellent 'host' and the other staff could not be more helpful and courteous. The breakfasts were delicious and filling.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BernardandJoan86

6 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
11/06/2017 12/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.4 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#6 of 17 in St Andrews
347 reviews
0.2 km away
Best Western Scores Hotel
Best Western Scores Hotel
#11 of 17 in St Andrews
659 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 17 in St Andrews
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#10 of 17 in St Andrews
302 reviews
0.1 km away
Montague Guest House
Montague Guest House
#14 of 72 in St Andrews
125 reviews
0.2 km away
Fairways of St Andrews
Fairways of St Andrews
#6 of 72 in St Andrews
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included

Additional Information about Bell Craig Guest House

Address: 8 Murray Park, St Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: RM219 - RM273 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Bell Craig Guest House St Andrews, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Bell Craig Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 3 extremely small”
N3259YKlindas, 8 Aug 2016 | Read review
“Do not send a wire transfer to reserve a room”
bsonjohn, 21 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Avoid the twin room on front first floor.”
Vivvy31, 10 Aug 2014 | Read review
“Be prepared to carry luggage up a few flights of stairs.”
657edr, 14 Jun 2014 | Read review
“Remember to close the window at night as the seagulls are extremely noisy!!!!!!!”
JRH2122, 10 Aug 2013 | Read review
5 of 5