We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,499 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,452: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

This staff are very friendly and helpful. We had an Eden room which was very comfortable. The bed was huge! The shower in the room is nice and powerful. The staff are good at bringing you anything you need eg we ran out of milk in the room on a couple of occasions and they were very quick to bring...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kitty8704
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently, and for leaving such lovely comments. I was pleased that you enjoyed the wonderful view from our 4th floor. It really is special on clear days. Thank you also for your comment about the cost of our in-room snacks. This is the first time we have had comment from...

glasgow
Reviewed 18 October 2015

nice enough hotel but this was given to us as the Fairmount hotel double booked us and placed us here instead, great location for the town centre , room was nice but was placed above some sort of generator of something that constantly went on all night never slept a wink .

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank scobbydo
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

“great location” 3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW nice enough hotel but this was given to us as the Fairmount hotel double booked us and placed us here instead, great location for the town centre , room was nice but was placed above some sort of generator of something that constantly went on all night never slept...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2015 via mobile

My partner and I spent a night at this hotel as a treat. We had dinner in The Sands and had treatments at the Kohler Spa. The staff were very pleasant and helpful and the food was excellent. It isn't a cheap place to visit but if you're looking for opulence without too much pomp and circumstance then it's the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pamela L
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, THANK YOU for leaving such positive feedback further to staying with us. I was particularly appreciative of your comments on the quality of the food, our helpful team and also the treatments in the Kohler Waters Spa. I hope you can come this way again soon and join us for another night. With best wishes, David Scott Director...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2015 via mobile

This was our second day at the hotel and we enjoyed this just as much if not more than the last. From the valet parking to the prosecco at check in the staff can't do enough for you. The room is impeccable and the spa is truly five star. Amazing grounds and one of the best breakfasts you can imagine!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart D
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, First of all, thank you leaving feedback further to your visit, and secondly for joining us again at the resort. I was delighted to read our team looked after you so well, and that you enjoyed the breakfast so much. I hope when travelling east again, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back. With best wishes,...

Reviewed 15 October 2015 via mobile

Fantastic afternoon tea, great food, good service, excellent choice of teas and lovely pink champagne! Gluten free and veggie catered for too! Relaxing atmosphere in the restaurant! Well recommend this venue.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Brenda W
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for leaving feedback further to your recent visit with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your Afternoon Tea experience. We have a dedicated team who really do try their best to look after guests and so I am pleased they did all they could for you. We look forward to having you with...

Glasgow
Reviewed 15 October 2015

From the moment you arrive at The Old Course Hotel you feel special. Wonderful welcome and beautiful room with the most amazing bath. Relaxed in the spa. We also hired bikes and cycled along the beach . Just a perfect weekend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joy020905
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I was delighted to read your feedback further to your recent stay with us and that you enjoyed our facilities and had a cycle along the beautiful West Sands. I hope when travelling east again, you find the time to stay with us once more. With my best wishes, David Scott Director of Operations

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2015

A fantastic hotel with a setting second to none. The staff could not do enough to help and were extremely friendly. Whilst not cheap, you certainly get what you pay for and everything about the hotel is superb.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AGW43444
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for choosing to stay with us recently. I was delighted to read your positive feedback and especially noting that our team looked after you so well. I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back on your next visit to StAndrews. With best wishes, David Scott Director of Operations

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 11 October 2015

Stayed for a night with a friend of mine who was visiting me. Booked a room during the sale and was hoping it would be an improvement on my last stay. Room was well appointed with stunning views over the golf course to the sea. Had booked spa treatments that were excellent. The problem started at the the Road Hole...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jandjDubai
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your constructive feedback on your recent stay with us, and also for choosing to stay with us again. I was most alarmed at the level of service you experienced in the Road Hole Restaurant. We typically get excellent feedback and so your experience was completely out of character. At your convenience, please get in touch...

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2015

My wife and wife spent 5 days at The Old Course Hotel in early September. We were lucky enough to stay here through Porsche UK who hosted the national golf competetion. The hotel and resort are exceptional in their service and attention to detail. Unfortunately my iPad screen broke when I left my luggage with reception whilst they prepared our...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Anoop S
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your great feedback. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and experienced our heathland course, The Duke's. Due to Porsche taking almost all the hotel, some non-golf course facing rooms were allocated and so I was sorry that you did not wake up to views of the course and West...

Reviewed 5 October 2015

I treated my husband to dinner and a night in the Old Course for our anniversary and it was first class.From the complimentary glass of Prosecco at check-in everything was perfect! Very comfortable large room,luxurious bathroom,fabulous spa with a roof-top hot tub,very nice dinner in the Sands Grill and a superb breakfast in the 4th floor dining room where we,luckily,got...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lyn W
OldCourseHotel, General Manager at Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you so much for sharing your review of your time with us. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your meal and our team looked after you well. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. With best wishes, David Scott Director of Operations

474 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (431)
Viewed
Room/Suite (99)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (74)
Viewed
View from Room (38)
Viewed
Bathroom (24)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (163)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
5.7 km away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
2,899 reviews
0.5 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 18 in St Andrews
1,203 reviews
0.8 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#1 of 18 in St Andrews
1,075 reviews
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
642 reviews
1.5 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Jigger Inn
The Jigger Inn
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub, Scottish
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Hot Tub
  • Golf Course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Shuttle Bus Service
  • Room Service
  • Airport Transportation
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Bordering the renowned 17th ‘Road Hole’ of the Old Course in the Home of Golf, the Old Course Hotel enjoys a spectacular location overlooking the famous links courses, the West Sands beach and the beautiful Scottish coastline. Discover the historic university town of St Andrews, just a short stroll from the resort, and explore the surrounding countryside of the ancient Kingdom of Fife. With a combination of classically elegant and contemporary interiors, the hotel offers quietly confident service, luxurious facilities and a warm welcome in the finest traditions of Scottish hospitality. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa

Address: Old Station Road, St Andrews KY16 9SP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: RM1,366 - RM2,600 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 144
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Course Hotel, Golf Hotel St. Andrews
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort And Spa
Old Course Resort
Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa St Andrews, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#1 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#2 Luxury Hotel in St Andrews
#6 Family Hotel in St Andrews
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Old Course Hotel, Golf Resort & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid rooms over the entrance area.”
 of 5 bubbles Jervaulx, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
“It is worth paying extra for room facing the golf course/sea and the suites are wonderful.”
 of 5 bubbles Moirad, 10 Jan 2017 | Read review
“View of golf course and sea is a must.”
 of 5 bubbles Rowy123456, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Save money in winter by not going for the golf course view as the 4th floor bar has the best views anyway!”
 of 5 bubbles 915simond, 3 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Pay for a non-course view as you have plenty of opportunity to see this view from other parts of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Dora007, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5