We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Albany Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Albany Hotel
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 309: English reviews
Start your review of Albany Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I really enjoyed my stay at the Albany hotel in St Andrews recently. Stayed for one night, and found the faciiities and service to be excellent. The room was very comfortable, and the breakfast was very good.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gillianpopplewell
Beaverton, Oregon
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Convenient location on North Street (a main Street next to the university, castle, and restaurants and shops. Walkable with clubs to Old Course. Very friendly and helpful staff. Delicious breakfast with made to order choices. My wife and I found it to be a good place to stay in St. Andrews. After we found a good parking spot near the...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank tomO6697WK
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Staff are excellent - very friendly and helpful when required, unobtrusive otherwise. Can't praise them enough. Tastefully decorated hotel in very central location. Good breakfasts. Rooms very comfortable.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaneCCB
Lynne H, Duty M,anager at Albany Hotel, responded to this review

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay her with us. I will pass on all of your wonderful comments to our staff. Thank you for reviewing our hotel and we would love to see you again soon!

BELFAST
Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location in the heart of St Andrews. The rooms was comfortable, clean and warm. Very comfortable bed. Slept really well. The staff were very helpful, pleasant and professional, nothing was too much trouble. Great breakfast too. I would definitely recommend the hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank BRENDA K
Lynne H, Duty Manager at Albany Hotel, responded to this review

It gives me great pleasure to read such wonderful reviews of our hotel. I am delighted to hear so many aspects of your stay were so good. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we would love to see you again soon.

Dunfermline
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for one night while playing golf with friends. Rooms are small but comfortable and clean. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good breakfast. Within easy walking distance of most of St Andrews, 1st tee of the Old Course is 10-15 minutes walk away, another 5 gets you to the links clubhouse. No car park but there's street parking

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alistair W
Lynne H, Duty Manager at Albany Hotel, responded to this review

The staff here do their very best to make everyone feel welcome and are always happy to help. We do a great breakfast and I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thank you for reviewing the Albany Hotel and we would love to welcome you back next time you stay in St Andrews.

Wharton, Texas
Reviewed 1 week ago

Playing golf in St Andrews with 5 great friends. The Albany was the perfect hotel for us. The service was great. Everybody was friendly and helpful. The breakfast to start each morning was the perfect start to a day of golfing. The bar/ parlor was where we relived each round.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank David T
Lynne H, Duty Manager at Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for the fantastic feedback. I am delighted that you had such a wonderful stay with us. It was fantastic to have all of you here with us and we would love to welcome you all back in the future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

The Albany is a pleasant hotel well situated in the heart of beautiful St Andrews. Rooms are comfortable and quiet but terrible shower facilities. Very poor pressure and water ranging from freezing to scalding. Breakfasts are nice and plentiful and service is always courteous although not always the warmest. Small bar in a nice lounge although a lot fire would...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Frankie T
Lynne H, Duty Manager at Albany Hotel, responded to this review

We recently had the log burner installed and it is on in the lounge on most evenings, however during the day the hotel does get rather we warm so we took the decision to not have it on in the daytime. I am also sorry to hear that you had problems with the shower, had you reported the issue to...

Ashburnham, Massachusetts
Reviewed 1 week ago

I was in town for two nights for a friend's wedding. The Albany was lovely. The location was excellent and the staff was friendly and helpful. If I ever make it back to St. Andrews--and I hope I do!--I'll definitely book with them again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amy O
Lynne H, Duty Manager at Albany Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for reviewing the Albany Hotel. We try our very best here to make all of our guests feel welcome and we are very lucky to have such friendly helpful staff. We hope you had a wonderful time at the wedding and we would love to welcome you back if you make it back to St Andrews.

Falkirk District, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely stay, again, at this little gem of a hotel. Room was clean & comfy. Breakfast was an absolute feast! Staff polite, friendly & attentive. Very reasonably priced. Would definately recommend and will go back.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank JMFothers
Lynne H, Duty Manager at Albany Hotel, responded to this review

I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed another stay here at the Albany. Your comments about the staff, breakfast and rooms are exactly what we are aim for and its wonderful to hear that we are doing a good job. We very much look forward to seeing you again in the future.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We were in St. Andrews for a 3 day golf breaK and had 3 nights at the Albany. The hotel is in great location so once wed arrived we,went everywhere on foot. The room was great, good size and the bathroom was modern and spotless. The breakfast was good and filled us for the day. All the staff were really...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon R
Lynne H, Duty Manager at Albany Hotel, responded to this review

I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room and breakfast here at the Albany Hotel. Our chef does cook a wonderful breakfast and I'm pleased to hear that you will be returning. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we would love to welcome you back soon!

74 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
450 reviews
0.6 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
654 reviews
1.3 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 km away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
2,981 reviews
0.7 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
1,231 reviews
3.0 km away
Rufflets Hotel
Rufflets Hotel
#2 of 18 in St Andrews
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
We are a small, friendly, informal 3 star hotel. The first in St Andrews to be awarded the prestigious title 'Townhouse Hotel' by the Scottish Tourist Board. The quaint old building has a warm personality all of its own. You will love the craftsmanship of the many original features. Built from 1764, the hotel consists of two Georgian terraced houses, both exactly the same layout, built for two brothers by their father, Mr Thomas Low. With only 22 rooms (all en-suite), we are able to maintain very high standards in accommodation and service without losing our warm and caring attitude towards our guests. Special, great value seasonal, weekend and golf breaks are often available, so contact the hotel for details. The hotel will also be delighted to help arrange golf, sightseeing tours and visits to places of interest. We look forward to you spending some time with us at The Albany Hotel and getting a real flavour for everything St Andrews has to offer. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Albany Hotel

Address: 56 North Street, St Andrews KY16 9AH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: RM605 - RM1,687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albany Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albany Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albany Hotel St Andrews, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in St Andrews
#5 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Albany Hotel staff and other travellers.
6 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (6)

Questions? Get answers from Albany Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Spend a little extra and get a bigger room”
tomO6697WK, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you're not good on stairs, then ask for a ground floor room.”
JaneCCB, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“There were some stairs up to our room which was on the top floor. Not a problem forums but might need to check this if you have any issues with stairs. ”
brendak608, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Ask for a middle or lower floor room to avoid the seagull noise”
JonR556, 15 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Very comfortable beds!”
teresaa413, 11 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5