We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ardgowan Hotel

555 reviews
Save
Traveller (46)
Room & Suite (157)
Dining (31)
Overview
  • Excellent46%
  • Very good38%
  • Average13%
  • Poor2%
  • Terrible1%
Travellers talk about
Free Wifi
Breakfast Buffet
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Laundry Service
Free Parking
3.0 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (555)Write a Review
There are newer reviews for Ardgowan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveller rating
244
206
70
12
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
244
206
70
12
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsflights of stairsno lifthotel is in a great locationtop floorroom was clean and comfortablegolf triphotel restaurantgolf coursetown centrebreakfast was includedthird floorblack puddingnice stayshort staytrip to st andrewsnight staycooked breakfast
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
101 - 105 of 542 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2016

We had booked for ourselves and three other couples for a birthday celebration for three of the 'girls'. The boys were to do golf and the girls the Spa at the Old Course Hotel. We all loved our rooms, we loved the breakfast and were...More

Thank Hollie211
Response from PlayfairHotelsLtd, Director at Ardgowan HotelResponded 30 November 2016

Dear Hollie211, Thank you for leaving us this very kind review! It’s a pleasure to hear that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and I will pass on your lovely comments to the staff. We are a family run hotel and try our...More

Reviewed 21 November 2016

Breakfast was a cattle market I ordered porridge which was on the menu and waited at least 10 to 15 mins and when it came you could have built a house it was awful , there was 4 of us and we were disappointed that...More

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dorothy L
Response from PlayfairHotelsLtd, Director at Ardgowan HotelResponded 28 November 2016

Dear Dorothy L, Thank you for your feedback from your stay with us last week. I’m sorry that you felt breakfast to be too busy. Unfortunately, on Sunday mornings most guests choose to come down nearer the end of breakfast which does mean there is...More

Reviewed 14 November 2016 via mobile

Spent 2 nights visiting my daughter at St Andrews. I picked the Ardgowan because the rooms looked attractive, its well located close to town and there was a good offer on - free dinner if you stayed the Sunday night. The hotel doesn't have much...More

1  Thank Amanda C
Response from PlayfairHotelsLtd, Manager at Ardgowan HotelResponded 15 November 2016

Hello Amanda, We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us while you were visiting your daughter, and we're especially glad that you enjoyed our £99.00 Dinner Bed and Breakfast offer for Sunday night! With cosy bedrooms and a delicious meal in Playfair's for a...More

Reviewed 13 November 2016 via mobile

We had a great time in St Andrews which was set of nicely with the stay at the Ardgowan hotel. The reception was so easy and friendly, the room was great facility's were great , lovely t.v. To watch while chilling out.and a lovely kettle...More

Thank donaldwoodmore
Response from PlayfairHotelsLtd, Manager at Ardgowan HotelResponded 14 November 2016

Hi Donald, Thank you for leaving us a great 5* review! We're so glad to see that you enjoyed everything about your stay with us, from your well-equipped room, to our amazing breakfasts in Playfair's Restaurant! We're glad we ticked all of your boxes, and...More

Reviewed 21 October 2016

Only a golf balls throw from the Great St. Andrews Golf Course! Rooms were clean and bright, and breakfast (Downstairs) was a great start to the day. The building was a beautiful architectural built and designed by the Scottish Architect " George Rae". The chef...More

Thank Deb1028
Response from PlayfairHotelsLtd, Manager at Ardgowan HotelResponded 24 October 2016

Hello Deb, Thanks for your great review! We're so glad you enjoyed your time with us and being so close to the Old Course. As a historic building, we're always looking for ways to upgrade and modernise while also keeping the charm of the original...More

View more reviews
PreviousNext
11920212223109
About
Awards & Recognition
Certificate of Excellence
Amenities
Top amenities
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Amenities
Laundry Service
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
US$101 - US$228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#7 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$101 - US$228 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Hotel Style
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#7 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (46)
Room & Suite (157)
Dining (31)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
MM106
6 February 2018|
Answer
Response from PlayfairHotelsLtd | Property representative |
We guarantee our rooms from 2pm, however for a fee of £20, we can guarantee a 12pm early check in. Our breakfast is served between 7.15am - 9.15am.
0
Votes
Carole A
11 January 2018|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from IANTT2012 | Reviewed this property |
Lots round about the hotel there is parking advice on hotel web site
1
Vote
donaldduck53
10 July 2015|
Answer
Response from Roweyourboat |
Hello P. Brown, We are located in St Andrews, Scotland, just around the corner from the Old Course. I believe Maidstone is in the south of England, and it's far away from our hotel! Kind Regards, Carmen
0
Votes
PreviousNext
12
Room Tips
"Top floor for views, lower floor if stairs are a problem. Deluxe triple on top floor has triple aspect views."
Read review
"Room just too arm"
Read review
"Our room was gorgeous, spotless, very comfortable extra large bed, great shower, and we even had a love seat..."
Read review
"On the Main Street side of hotel the student revellers were quite noisy outside. Possibly a one off."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing