We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Ardgowan Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

462 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ardgowan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 451: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 26 January 2016

I recently enjoyed a one-night visit with friends to The Ardgowan in an attempt to chase away the January Blues. A warm welcome and an even warmer room awaited. Our room was particularly spacious, offering plenty of room for three adults to not feel the obligatory urge to immediately drop bags on arrival and escape the cramped surroundings. Further nice...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank EllaBella78
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello EllaBella78, Thank you for leaving a review for your stay with us! We're so glad that we were able to help you chase away those January Blues :) We appreciate your kind comments on our amenities, and are especially thankful for your suggestions. We take every guest comment seriously and are constantly reevaluating what we have to offer our...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 January 2016

Myself and 2 friends decided on a night away to st Andrews. We were keen to stay in one room and the Ardgowan offered a triple room which was ideal and reasonably priced. We received a very warm welcome and our room (number 12 which was situated at the front of the hotel on the ground floor) exceeded expectations. It...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank tkirke_239658
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Tkirke_239658, Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review for us! We are so glad that you enjoyed everything about your stay with us, from your fantastic room to our delicious breakfasts in Playfair's. I'm sorry to hear that you were unhappy with our breakfast times. We try to set a time that will accommodate all...

Boston, Massachusetts
Reviewed 6 December 2015

My first experience with the staff at the Ardgowan resulted in a 30 pound parking ticket: I inquired whether I was safe to leave my rental car across the street, indicating where it was, and Ailsa told me it was just fine. I came out an hour later to discover the aforementioned parking ticket for parking near yellow lines. Coming...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnneK0610
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Anne, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. i'm glad that we were the perfect location for you while you were visiting your daughter at University. I am sorry, however, to see that your visit to St Andrews was overshadowed by a parking ticket. Like most hotels in St Andrews, we rely on free...

Greenock, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 November 2015 via mobile

Had a great 3 day stay at this hotel warm and friendly hotel staff very pleasant and helpful.Great ala carte breakfast service and very pleasant rooms and comfortable beds. Great value for money l will definitely go back for another stay.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DavidYoung2112
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello David, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us! We are so glad to see that you enjoyed your time with us, and that our staff made a great impression on you! You're absolutely right - we offer great value for money, and we hope that we are able to welcome you back again soon!...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2015

I am very happy with the Ardgowan. Nice clean room and very nice ensuite with a shower that worked and maintained its temp easily. Has a nice restaurant and bar with great selections and always seems to attract nice people staying there. I will stay there again if it's available.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John M
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there John, Thank you for taking the time to leave a great 5* review for us! We are so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you had a great meal in our restaurant, Playfair's. We are so lucky to have a fantastic restaurant with amazing chefs and staff! We hope that you are...

St Andrews, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2015

I was not impressed with my recent stay at this hotel; the hotel was severely overpriced, the bar area is boring and does not have a lot of choice. the bathroom was not clean and the tv did not work the whole time during our stay. For a hotel such as this with so many foreign visitors, you would think...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Cath885
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Cath885, I’m very disappointed to read your review, as I feel it does not adequately reflect your stay with us, and I would like to take the time to point out why for other readers. You commented that Playfair’s did not offer a lot of choices from our bar. We stock 8 draft beers, 30+ malt whiskies, 8 vodkas...

Reviewed 16 November 2015

Really no need to go all out for one of the so called top hotels in St. Andrews because this is the one to go for. Great value for money and extremely helpful staff. Right in the middle of the town too so no need to walk far, everything right on your door step.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank leesuds
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello leesuds, Thank you so much for leaving us a great review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us, and that we were the perfect location for you in St Andrews. We're so glad that we have your recommendation, and we hope that we are able to see you again soon! Kind Regards, Carmen Rowe

Connecticut
Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

This is a great hotel for a three star hotel. It is in a great location; close to golf and the water and only a short walk to shops and restaurants. The room is spacious and comfy with a nice view of a small court yard behind the hotel. Very friendly and accommodating staff!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra W
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Alexandra, Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review for us! We are so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us while you were visiting St Andrews. With everything from our perfect location close to everything and our comfortable rooms, who could ask for anything more? We hope you come back to see...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2015

I have stayed at the Ardgowan three times in the last two years and have never been disappointed. There is always a very warm welcome from reception staff who are also very helpful - Carmen, my most recent receptionist, made very light work of carrying my enormous suitcase up to my room on the third floor (there are no lifts)....

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dominic P
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Dominic, Thank you so much for leaving a great review for us! We're glad to see that you've enjoyed your time with us each time you have stayed. I'm also glad to see that you enjoyed Room 38 while you were here. It is a great room and has lovely views from the top floor! While we understand that...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 12 November 2015

This was my fourth visit to St Andrews and I continue to be awestruck by the history of the place. I'm not a keen golfer but I play a few times a year and it is impossible not to get excited by sights such as Swilcan Bridge, Seve's wall at the Roadhole and even the first tee on the Old...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank vonireland
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello vonireland, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us! We're so glad to see that you enjoyed your time again in St Andrews, and that you continue to come back and stay with us each time. We're glad to see that you enjoyed our friendly service, both at reception and in Playfair's Restaurant. We always...

250 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (184)
Viewed
Classic Standard Double Room (16)
Viewed
Classic Standard Twin Room (13)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (17)
Viewed
Deluxe Triple Room (19)
Viewed
Junior Double Room (13)
Viewed
Junior Twin Room (15)
Viewed
Pilmour Double Room (16)
Viewed
Pilmour Twin Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
375 reviews
0.2 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#7 of 18 in St Andrews
1,175 reviews
0.5 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#3 of 18 in St Andrews
219 reviews
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
632 reviews
4.9 km away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#4 of 18 in St Andrews
2,838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated 200 yards from the 18th green of the world famous Old Course, and still only 5 minutes from the centre of town The Ardgowan Hotel offers the ideal location whatever the reason for you visit to St Andrews. Our comfortable en suite bedrooms are decorated in a modern Scottish style, perfect for relaxing after a long day’s golfing or sightseeing. Located below the main hotel, our restaurant, Playfair’s, is ever popular with local people as well as with our guests. We serve a wide range of dishes prepared with the fresh local ingredients wherever possible. The Ardgowan hotel does not have its own lift, but staff will be more than happy to assist you with your bags. Free on-street car parking is available close to the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ardgowan Hotel

Address: 2 Playfair Terrace | North Street, St Andrews KY16 9HX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: RM343 - RM729 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardgowan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ardgowan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardgowan Hotel St Andrews, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
#7 Business Hotel in St Andrews
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ardgowan Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ardgowan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top floor corner...”
 of 5 bubbles pansymclean, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“we had no problem, very quiet and located near golf and the local pedestrian streets!”
 of 5 bubbles Deb1028, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not all rooms have baths so if you prefer a bath to a shower (as we do) just ask when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles petem4, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 35 has a Sea View! I would definitely have no hesitation in booking this room or this Hotel again. ”
 of 5 bubbles georginam910, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“T'ry to get one in the main hotel rather than the annex.”
 of 5 bubbles GlennL329, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay