We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Ardgowan Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
Panoramas (14)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

458 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Ardgowan Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 447: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2015

I am very happy with the Ardgowan. Nice clean room and very nice ensuite with a shower that worked and maintained its temp easily. Has a nice restaurant and bar with great selections and always seems to attract nice people staying there. I will stay there again if it's available.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank John M
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi there John, Thank you for taking the time to leave a great 5* review for us! We are so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you had a great meal in our restaurant, Playfair's. We are so lucky to have a fantastic restaurant with amazing chefs and staff! We hope that you are... More 

St Andrews, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2015

I was not impressed with my recent stay at this hotel; the hotel was severely overpriced, the bar area is boring and does not have a lot of choice. the bathroom was not clean and the tv did not work the whole time during our stay. For a hotel such as this with so many foreign visitors, you would think... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Cath885
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Cath885, I’m very disappointed to read your review, as I feel it does not adequately reflect your stay with us, and I would like to take the time to point out why for other readers. You commented that Playfair’s did not offer a lot of choices from our bar. We stock 8 draft beers, 30+ malt whiskies, 8 vodkas... More 

Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2015

Really no need to go all out for one of the so called top hotels in St. Andrews because this is the one to go for. Great value for money and extremely helpful staff. Right in the middle of the town too so no need to walk far, everything right on your door step.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank leesuds
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello leesuds, Thank you so much for leaving us a great review! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your time with us, and that we were the perfect location for you in St Andrews. We're so glad that we have your recommendation, and we hope that we are able to see you again soon! Kind Regards, Carmen Rowe More 

Connecticut
Level Contributor
40 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2015 via mobile

This is a great hotel for a three star hotel. It is in a great location; close to golf and the water and only a short walk to shops and restaurants. The room is spacious and comfy with a nice view of a small court yard behind the hotel. Very friendly and accommodating staff!

Helpful?
Thank Alexandra W
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Alexandra, Thank you for taking the time to leave a great review for us! We are so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us while you were visiting St Andrews. With everything from our perfect location close to everything and our comfortable rooms, who could ask for anything more? We hope you come back to see... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2015

I have stayed at the Ardgowan three times in the last two years and have never been disappointed. There is always a very warm welcome from reception staff who are also very helpful - Carmen, my most recent receptionist, made very light work of carrying my enormous suitcase up to my room on the third floor (there are no lifts).... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dominic P
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Dominic, Thank you so much for leaving a great review for us! We're glad to see that you've enjoyed your time with us each time you have stayed. I'm also glad to see that you enjoyed Room 38 while you were here. It is a great room and has lovely views from the top floor! While we understand that... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2015

This was my fourth visit to St Andrews and I continue to be awestruck by the history of the place. I'm not a keen golfer but I play a few times a year and it is impossible not to get excited by sights such as Swilcan Bridge, Seve's wall at the Roadhole and even the first tee on the Old... More 

Helpful?
Thank vonireland
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello vonireland, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us! We're so glad to see that you enjoyed your time again in St Andrews, and that you continue to come back and stay with us each time. We're glad to see that you enjoyed our friendly service, both at reception and in Playfair's Restaurant. We always... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 November 2015

I've stayed at Ardgowan three times before and would always book here if going to St Andrews. The staff on this occasion were very helpful and friendly - I asked for a softer pillow after the first night and it was waiting for me when I came back that evening. The room was comfortable and spacious. Restaurant is very good... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Grahame W
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Grahame, Thank you for taking the time to leave a review for us. We are so glad to see that you enjoyed your stay with us - yet again! We always love to welcome back returning groups, and yours is one we look forward to each year! We're glad to see we ticked all of your boxes while you... More 

N/A
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2015

Late arrival, they anticipated our needs. Got us settled being tourists. Internet was par for hotels but the only thing in an an otherwise wonderful stay. Recommended to others. If we come back to St. Andrews we will be there again.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Dale S
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Dale, Thank you for leaving us a great review! I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially the helpfulness and friendliness of our staff. As a family-owned business, we always feel like we are welcoming guests into our home when they come to stay, so we're glad that you felt taken car of while you... More 

Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2015

Wonderful location in town. Breakfast was wonderful- loved the smoked salmon and eggs. Convenient location to walk around town. Good sized rooms. Only negative was the shower was very small. Size of bathroom was big, but show was oddly small.

Helpful?
Thank Vicki C
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Vicki, Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review for us for your stay during the 2015 Open Championship last July. We're so glad that you loved our perfect location in St Andrews, and our delicious Scottish breakfasts. I'm sorry to hear that you found your walk-in shower to be too small. We do have rooms with... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2015

I stayed for 1 night for business purposes and thought the hotel was lovely. The staff were really nice and chatty and the breakfast offered was fantastic. My friend who also stayed had the full Scottish breakfast and I opted for some porridge, although I admit the full Scottish did look much better! The hotel is in a great location... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paul M
PlayfairHotelsLtd, Reservations and Marketing Manager at Ardgowan Hotel, responded to this review

Hello Paul, Thank you so much for taking the time to leave your review for us! We are so glad that you were able to stay with us on your business trip, and that we ticked all of your boxes while you were here - even with a great shower and amazing breakfast in Playfair's Restaurant. (Next time, you can... More 

251 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (20)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (184)
Viewed
Classic Standard Double Room (16)
Viewed
Classic Standard Twin Room (13)
Viewed
Deluxe Double Room (17)
Viewed
Deluxe Triple Room (19)
Viewed
Junior Double Room (13)
Viewed
Junior Twin Room (15)
Viewed
Pilmour Double Room (16)
Viewed
Pilmour Twin Room (14)
Viewed
Dining (28)
Viewed
The Hotel (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#7 of 19 in St Andrews
354 reviews
0.2 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#5 of 19 in St Andrews
1,140 reviews
1.2 km away
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
Premier Inn St Andrews Hotel
#4 of 19 in St Andrews
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#13 of 19 in St Andrews
629 reviews
4.9 km away
Fairmont St Andrews
Fairmont St Andrews
#3 of 19 in St Andrews
2,774 reviews
0.5 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#9 of 19 in St Andrews
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Situated 200 yards from the 18th green of the world famous Old Course, and still only 5 minutes from the centre of town The Ardgowan Hotel offers the ideal location whatever the reason for you visit to St Andrews. Our comfortable en suite bedrooms are decorated in a modern Scottish style, perfect for relaxing after a long day’s golfing or sightseeing. Located below the main hotel, our restaurant, Playfair’s, is ever popular with local people as well as with our guests. We serve a wide range of dishes prepared with the fresh local ingredients wherever possible. The Ardgowan hotel does not have its own lift, but staff will be more than happy to assist you with your bags. Free on-street car parking is available close to the hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ardgowan Hotel

Address: 2 Playfair Terrace | North Street, St Andrews KY16 9HX, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Price Range: RM348 - RM668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ardgowan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ardgowan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ardgowan Hotel St Andrews, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in St Andrews
#7 Romantic Hotel in St Andrews
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ardgowan Hotel staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
over a year ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Ardgowan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“we had no problem, very quiet and located near golf and the local pedestrian streets!”
 of 5 bubbles Deb1028, 21 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Not all rooms have baths so if you prefer a bath to a shower (as we do) just ask when booking.”
 of 5 bubbles petem4, 12 Oct 2016 | Read review
“Room 35 has a Sea View! I would definitely have no hesitation in booking this room or this Hotel again. ”
 of 5 bubbles georginam910, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“T'ry to get one in the main hotel rather than the annex.”
 of 5 bubbles GlennL329, 20 Sep 2016 | Read review
“No elevator to higher rooms, so if mobility is an issue ask for a room lower down.”
 of 5 bubbles RainedOnInRedmond, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay