We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Nethan Guest House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in St Andrews
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 186: English reviews
Start your review of Nethan Guest House
 Click to rate
Cricklade, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Jumbo stayed here 5 years ago , so i knew it would be good , but not how good it was . We arrived a bit early but it didn't seem to put Brian out . He looked as though he could tear your limbs off and eat them with his Neeps and Tatties ! But underneath he's a Pussy...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank greggo772
bry140t, Owner at Nethan Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review! It was great having you guys back again, thoroughly enjoyed your company, nothing was ever any trouble, such a laugh at Breakfast. Hope you enjoyed your golf, lucky with the weather See you all next year! Bryan

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Perfect spot which is central in St. Andrews, The room was fine, but the bed was not so comfortable and it had over stuffed cushions That were impossible to use as just hard. Poor room refreshment facilities & im sorry but the breakfast was not fresh but heated from frozen mushrooms which I left as they tasted stale. Our stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lovesunshine A
bry140t, Owner at Nethan Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review Its a shame you chose to post a review on Trip Advisor rather than raise any issues when you stayed, even at check-out you stated that everything was fine. All our cushions in the bedrooms were replaced 3 months ago, as they do tend to go flat after a certain time (Usually guests would mention...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 December 2016

We were made very welcome by Brian and Linzi and this remained so throughout the visit. Linzi is a very good cook and the breakfast was very high quality. The location is good and convenient for St Andrews. We were in room 7 at a slightly higher price(+£10/n) than other double room offers from B&B in Murray Park. The room...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PrinceAyla
bry140t, Owner at Nethan Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Shame you did not mention your concerns regarding your room during your stay, and for the record you actually stayed 3 nights not 2! For your information the room size actually far exceeds Visit Scotlands requirements for a Double room, I'm sure you will find that many rooms in the Murray Park area are smaller...

Midlands
Reviewed 31 October 2016

I emailed several B & B`s on Monday 24th, looking for a single room for 3 days and immediately received a response from Nethan House, advising me that they had a room, which, although not a single room they would do single occupancy rate. I also received responses quite quickly after theirs, but, after reading Nethan House`s Trip advisor reviews...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wanderingstarlet
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2016

Brian and Linzi run the best guest house in St Andrews. Both offer a warm, friendly welcome, clean, beautifully appointed rooms, complete with a small fridge containing a bottle of water. Linzi cooks superb breakfasts, her home made potato scones are delicious, and her lemon curd is the best I've ever tasted!! The location is perfect. Quiet, yet convenient, within...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Maggie0201
Reviewed 12 October 2016

On my arrival I was greeted with a friendly welcome by Brian , I felt at home instantly . my single room was very clean and had every facility that a guest would need . The breakfasts were excellent with such a variety of choice . and the staff were very nice . Nethan House is situated in a location...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank John C
Golftraveler50
Reviewed 6 October 2016 via mobile

We were 8 golfers in our 60s staying for 3 nights. We occupied 7 of their 8 rooms. The Nethan Guest House was a perfect place for us. Outstanding location, comfortable rooms, delicious breakfasts and Brian and Linzi were great hosts. I have stayed in many guest houses throughout Scotland and Nethan is among the best. The other 7 guys...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Golftraveler50
Montreal, Canada
Reviewed 30 September 2016

A very nice B&B. It's best assets are the amazing breakfasts and its location down near the beach , the Old Course and walking distance to the major historical sites. Our room was adequate but a bit small and furnished in a mish mash way. I suspect the front rooms are much better. The owners are extremely friendly and helpful....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank petbach
Brussels, Belgium
Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

We were here to visit and this guest house is superbly located. The welcome was warm and we had very peaceful night rest. The breakfast was just excellent: little buffet, special menu made on request and some extras that could be ordered. Bryan, your pancakes were delicious! The room was neat and clean and very convenient: little fridge with complimentary...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Geert1984
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2016

This Guest house is amazing truly feels like you are at home but with the luxury of being a guest someone else looking after you, its truly a hidden gem in St Andrews, location is perfect for walking or if your touring perfect as you can park right in front of guest house, it was an absolute pleasure staying no...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kirsty W

23 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (23)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these St Andrews hotels
0.1 km away
Hotel Du Vin
Hotel Du Vin
#5 of 18 in St Andrews
423 reviews
0.4 km away
Albany Hotel
Albany Hotel
#7 of 18 in St Andrews
309 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
BEST WESTERN Scores Hotel
#11 of 18 in St Andrews
652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
Macdonald Rusacks Hotel
#8 of 18 in St Andrews
1,218 reviews
0.1 km away
Greyfriars Hotel
Greyfriars Hotel
#10 of 18 in St Andrews
297 reviews
0.2 km away
Ardgowan Hotel
Ardgowan Hotel
#6 of 18 in St Andrews
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Laundry Service

Additional Information about Nethan Guest House

Address: 17 Murray Park, St Andrews KY16 9AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Fife > St Andrews
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Nethan Guest House Hotel St. Andrews
Nethan Guest House St Andrews, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Nethan Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Nethan Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“It could have been so much better with a little attention to detail & cooking care.”
 of 5 bubbles lovesunshineA, 12 Mar 2017 | Read review
“I was in a single room and it was perfect room 8 quiet and catered to my needs as a lone traveller”
 of 5 bubbles 513kirstyw, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Great location near the Old Course.”
 of 5 bubbles _cowtown2010, 14 Aug 2016 | Read review
“2 flights of stairs but if you advise early they will accommodate a lower floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Johnston948, 21 Aug 2015 | Read review
“Room 4 is a large family room - available with 4 singles. The owners were able to convert two of the twins into a "superking double". Room 2 offers a double and a single bed, but is a bit cosy. All other twins / doubles are perfectly comfortable for 2 adults.”
 of 5 bubbles cstuartnm, 26 Aug 2014 | Read review
5 of 5