We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Acorn Hotel

Show Prices
#37 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Acorn Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

359 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Acorn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 345: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2016

This place is ideally located between the west end (and close to "up and coming" Finniston) and city centre, is comfortable and peaceful and does a fantastic breakfast. I've stayed 4 times now. Highly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank PeterJoseph
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was a pleasure to welcome you back to the Acorn hotel and we have passed on your great comments to all of the team. Hope to see you again very soon. Best Regards Robert More 

Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Fantastic location near Glasgow Uni, restaurants, shopping, clubs etc. very friendly and helpful staff; clean, fresh rooms and bathrooms. Reasonable prices - great value for your money. Only drawback is that there is no elevator so if stairs are a problem, as for a room on the bottom floor. Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank pixtracy
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for you kind comments about your recent stay at the Acorn. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. If you plan to come back, please don't hesitate to request a specific room or floor as we always try our best to accommodate & fulfil any requests to make your stay with us more comfortable. Kind Reagrds... More 

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
129 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

This is a thoroughly upgraded, modernized hotel, but only rates 3 star because: the single room is so small, there's no room to open a suitcase or store things; the single bed is a cheap wooden box frame with a hard mattress, resulting in creaks; the walls are so thin you can hear the conversations next door; the quilt /... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank susanaquerida
robertmcq, Manager at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Acorn Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, including our excellent location. All of our single rooms have bedside cabinets, full length wardrobes and dressing tables with drawers. Our 3 star rating is awarded by Visit Scotland who have strict... More 

South Wales
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Saved myself a fair bit of cash staying here & I felt I had the the upper hand regarding the location. The area was quiet compared with deeper in to the city as was to be expected, yet the hotel was not too far away for a nice walk into the city. I stayed one night & my motorbike was... More 

Helpful?
Thank justletmesignin
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and have passed on your lovely comments to Roz. Thank you and hope to see you again very soon. Best Regards Robert More 

Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2016

Looking for a comfortable, clean, pleasant hotel with friendly staff? The Acorn Hotel will not disappoint you. If you are looking for 5-star luxury then this is not for you but the Acorn has much to commend it. The shower, toilet and wash basin are of modern design. I was impressed by the roomy walk-in shower rather than being compressed... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Graham D
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Graham, Many thanks for all your kind comments about the Acorn. We pride ourselves on making our guests comfortable during their stay. We are Glad you chose the Acorn for a base whilst in Glasgow and enjoyed all the attractions surrounding the hotel. It was a pleasure hosting you and would like to welcome you back if you return... More 

Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
238 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2016 via mobile

There's much to recommend this small hotel - quiet location, spotless, very pleasant staff and a wonderful freshly cooked breakfast served to you - eat your heart out you big corporate hotels! This place has a cozy ambience and is very welcoming. To say I was pleasantly surprised would be an understatement. My single room was small but perfectly appointed.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Coz_11
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for your kind comments, we will pass them on to the Acorn Team who will all be delighted. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards Robert More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

Impeccably clean room and public areas. Looks like the hotel has been refurbished relatively recently. Room was quite spacious and comfortable, nicely decorated. Bathroom pristine. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very quiet and in a lovely part of the city, within walking distance to Kelvingrove Park, city centre and plenty of restaurants/pubs/cafes. Free wifi throughout hotel.

Helpful?
Thank Corinna G
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your wonderful comments about The Acorn, all the team work hard to maintain our standards. I will be sure to pass them on. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind Regards Robert More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2016

Stayed at the Acorn for 4 nights, excellent service from booking in until checking out , Allen & Roz are definitely an asset to the owners of this hotel nothing seemed to be a chore for them & were most welcoming , We were fortunate to have room 10 which was lovely & never had any trouble with noise from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dawn W
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Dawn & Des, We are glad you enjoyed your Birthday stay at the Acorn!! Alan & Roz are delighted that you enjoyed the stay so much and I will certainly pass on your kind words to them. We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Glasgow. Kind Regards Robert More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2016 via mobile

Second visit this year Highly recommended Spotless rooms and great location for Hydro or Sauchiehall St bars n restaurants Helpfull friendly staff Worth a visit Our room was on second floor and was spacious and modernly furnished Large clean bathroom with shower Will be back

Helpful?
Thank geoff f
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind words. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and found the Acorn to be in such a perfect location for your visit. We will pass on your comments to the Acorn team who look forward to welcoming you back. Many Thanks Robert More 

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2016 via mobile

We arrived early in the morning, with hopes of dropping our bags for storage until check-in. Roz greeted us with the warmest welcome and immediately sent us up to a room that was available. The room was wonderful. In the morning, Roz cooks up the hot breakfast and treated us like old friends. We would go back to this hotel... More 

Helpful?
Thank AMHolz
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and have passed on your lovely comments to Roz. Thank you and hope to see you again very soon. Best Regards Robert More 

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Kelvingrove Hotel
#59 of 95 in Glasgow
546 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#45 of 95 in Glasgow
175 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#25 of 95 in Glasgow
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albion Hotel
#66 of 95 in Glasgow
232 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#57 of 95 in Glasgow
228 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#64 of 95 in Glasgow
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Acorn Hotel

Address: 140 Elderslie Street, Glasgow G3 7AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: RM250 - RM491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Acorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Hotel Glasgow
Acorn Boutique Hotel Glasgow
Acorn Hotel UK/Glasgow
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Acorn Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Acorn Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top rooms are beautifully quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles BrownEyedGirl17, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just ask for a quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles V8548CVnancyw, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book a room that is not above the bar belonging to the adjacent restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles sandalsinthesand, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Upper floor better imho.”
 of 5 bubbles justletmesignin, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms are shielded from noise. We enjoyed Room 13 which was fine.”
  • Acorn Hotel - view from Enderslie Street
 of 5 bubbles 239grahamd, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay