We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Acorn Hotel

Show Prices
#41 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Acorn Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

362 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Acorn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 348: English reviews
Wiltshire
Reviewed 11 August 2016

This is a well run b&b with very nice helpful staff. There's several shops nearby and also restaurants and cafes (the hotel has no restaurant it just does a very good cooked breakfast. If you think the area will suit your plans then definitely give it a chance. Btw I left my iPad in the room and they called me...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BumpkinWiltshire
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for your great comments after your recent stay at the Acorn Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed our excellent location and have passed your comments onto all of our staff. We hope to welcome you back very soon. Best Regards Robert

Clemson, South Carolina
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

Room was small. Owner was very accommodating. My wife was sick when we arrived and he got us whatever we needed. We very much enjoyed our stay and we're grateful for everything that was done to help us.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rett T
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Acorn Hotel and thank you for your lovely comments. We are so happy we were able to assist and make your stay more comfortable although your wife was ill. Hope that we will see you again in the not too distant future. Best Regards Robert

Reviewed 1 August 2016

We stayed at the Acorn Hotel in January 2016 as we were in Glasgow to watch a show at the SECC. It was easy enough to walk there - maybe about 15 minutes away. The hotel was well located to reach the shops and restaurants in Glasgow. The room was a good base for us to explore the city from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xlilithx
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at the Acorn Hotel and thank you for your lovely comments. Hope that we will see you again in the not too distant future. Best Regards Robert

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 August 2016

This place is ideally located between the west end (and close to "up and coming" Finniston) and city centre, is comfortable and peaceful and does a fantastic breakfast. I've stayed 4 times now. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PeterJoseph
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, It was a pleasure to welcome you back to the Acorn hotel and we have passed on your great comments to all of the team. Hope to see you again very soon. Best Regards Robert

Stockholm, Sweden
Reviewed 4 July 2016 via mobile

Fantastic location near Glasgow Uni, restaurants, shopping, clubs etc. very friendly and helpful staff; clean, fresh rooms and bathrooms. Reasonable prices - great value for your money. Only drawback is that there is no elevator so if stairs are a problem, as for a room on the bottom floor. Highly recommended!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pixtracy
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for you kind comments about your recent stay at the Acorn. We are glad you enjoyed your stay. If you plan to come back, please don't hesitate to request a specific room or floor as we always try our best to accommodate & fulfil any requests to make your stay with us more comfortable. Kind Reagrds...

Vancouver, Canada
Reviewed 2 July 2016 via mobile

This is a thoroughly upgraded, modernized hotel, but only rates 3 star because: the single room is so small, there's no room to open a suitcase or store things; the single bed is a cheap wooden box frame with a hard mattress, resulting in creaks; the walls are so thin you can hear the conversations next door; the quilt /...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank susanaquerida
robertmcq, Manager at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Acorn Hotel. We are delighted that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, including our excellent location. All of our single rooms have bedside cabinets, full length wardrobes and dressing tables with drawers. Our 3 star rating is awarded by Visit Scotland who have strict...

South Wales
Reviewed 30 June 2016

Saved myself a fair bit of cash staying here & I felt I had the the upper hand regarding the location. The area was quiet compared with deeper in to the city as was to be expected, yet the hotel was not too far away for a nice walk into the city. I stayed one night & my motorbike was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank justletmesignin
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and have passed on your lovely comments to Roz. Thank you and hope to see you again very soon. Best Regards Robert

Reviewed 24 June 2016

Looking for a comfortable, clean, pleasant hotel with friendly staff? The Acorn Hotel will not disappoint you. If you are looking for 5-star luxury then this is not for you but the Acorn has much to commend it. The shower, toilet and wash basin are of modern design. I was impressed by the roomy walk-in shower rather than being compressed...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Graham D
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Graham, Many thanks for all your kind comments about the Acorn. We pride ourselves on making our guests comfortable during their stay. We are Glad you chose the Acorn for a base whilst in Glasgow and enjoyed all the attractions surrounding the hotel. It was a pleasure hosting you and would like to welcome you back if you return...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 June 2016

There's much to recommend this small hotel - quiet location, spotless, very pleasant staff and a wonderful freshly cooked breakfast served to you - eat your heart out you big corporate hotels! This place has a cozy ambience and is very welcoming. To say I was pleasantly surprised would be an understatement. My single room was small but perfectly appointed....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Coz_11
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay and thank you for your kind comments, we will pass them on to the Acorn Team who will all be delighted. We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Best Regards Robert

Reviewed 23 June 2016 via mobile

Impeccably clean room and public areas. Looks like the hotel has been refurbished relatively recently. Room was quite spacious and comfortable, nicely decorated. Bathroom pristine. Staff very friendly and helpful. Very quiet and in a lovely part of the city, within walking distance to Kelvingrove Park, city centre and plenty of restaurants/pubs/cafes. Free wifi throughout hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Corinna G
robertmcq, Owner at Acorn Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your wonderful comments about The Acorn, all the team work hard to maintain our standards. I will be sure to pass them on. We look forward to welcoming you again. Kind Regards Robert

67 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (14)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Kelvingrove Hotel
#64 of 95 in Glasgow
549 reviews
Ambassador Hotel
#57 of 95 in Glasgow
235 reviews
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#47 of 95 in Glasgow
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#26 of 95 in Glasgow
692 reviews
Albion Hotel
#66 of 95 in Glasgow
232 reviews
The Z Hotel Glasgow
#16 of 95 in Glasgow
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi

Additional Information about Acorn Hotel

Address: 140 Elderslie Street, Glasgow G3 7AW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: RM250 - RM459 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Acorn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Acorn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Hotel Glasgow
Acorn Boutique Hotel Glasgow
Acorn Hotel UK/Glasgow
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#35 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Acorn Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Acorn Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Top rooms are beautifully quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles BrownEyedGirl17, 10 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Just ask for a quiet room”
 of 5 bubbles V8548CVnancyw, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Book a room that is not above the bar belonging to the adjacent restaurant.”
 of 5 bubbles sandalsinthesand, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Upper floor better imho.”
 of 5 bubbles justletmesignin, 30 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Most rooms are shielded from noise. We enjoyed Room 13 which was fine.”
  • Acorn Hotel - view from Enderslie Street
 of 5 bubbles 239grahamd, 24 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay