We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Show Prices
#36 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
View Map
{"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,161 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Glasgow
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,111: English reviews
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 November 2014

I stayed here one Sunday night in November. Normally I stay in town when visiting Glasgow but fancied a change and decided to try here, I have stayed once in the past. I booked the room online and noticed a few days before that the reservation had been modified and I had been upgraded to a club room. On the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris M
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am pleased that there were many positives from your stay in the hotel recently, I do however apologise for our team not advising you where you would find breakfast and the slight uncleanliness in your room I will be sure to ask our reception and housekeeping teams to rectify this. We also take on...

Paris, France
Reviewed 19 November 2014 via mobile

It took a while to check in because the only receptionist was explaining to a nice German businesswoman why she had to contact the Internet service provider herself to try and get the WiFi to work. Of course that wasn't going down too well. It also took a while for the said receptionist to check me in because their computers...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank i-live-for-lunch
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am sincerely sorry that your recent visit has fallen so short of your expectations. We value all guest feedback as it is the best way for us to review and improve our products and services. I will ensure that your comments are shared with the relevant managers for...

Reviewed 18 November 2014

We stayed in the Crowne Plaza Glasgow and I have to say it was an enjoyable stay. It's located near the exhibition centres so ideal if you seeing a show. It was easy to find and there was adequate parking at £6 a night. Check in was painless and being a platinum member we were upgraded to a Club Room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Craig B
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review. I am very pleased that you a good stay at the hotel recently, we look forward to seeing you again in the future. Kind Regards Dominic McVey General Manager

Livingston, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2014 via mobile

My wife and I booked the Crowne Plaza Hotel as we were seeing Paloma Faith next door. The hotel was lovely and check in waa quick and no waiting. The room was lovely and bright and clean. Only complaint about the room was chrome wasnt buffed and all stained and the high level dusting above tv was very dusty and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Allen S
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for leaving a review, I am pleased to read that overall you enjoyed your time in the hotel. However I must apologise for the cleanliness in your room, I have asked the housekeeping team to thoroughly check each room in future. I also apologise for the poor service in the bar area. I hope the issues you encountered...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2014

We had a friends overnight at Crowne Plaza, first impressions when you walk into the lobby are impressive, a night bright and airy space - so far so good.. Check in was a bit time consuming and I wonder why considering I am a platinum member of IHG and you have all my details on file, the biggest negativity was...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Scottex
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. I am happy that overall you enjoyed your recent stay with us but apologise for the slight delay at check in. With regards to the room I am pleased to inform you that we are currently planning the next stage of our refurbishment programme which will include the bedroom areas. I...

Campbeltown, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2014 via mobile

After a 5 hour drive with road closures & delays we arrive to our card being declined!which I know worked and proved! The receptionist was most unwelcoming or helpful to this, we phoned the bank who said no problem.after being asked if we had sufficient funds by said receptionist !! I never planned a weekend and drove in horrendous conditions...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Isla B
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and I am genuinely sorry for the disappointing experience you have had. I have shared your comments with our Front Office Manager in order that certain procedures can be reviewed and follow up training take place as appropriate. We constantly strive to deliver a high standard of customer care to...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 November 2014

we stayed here for one night. I chose it for its close proximity to the secc hydro. We were very impressed overall. The hotel was very clean and the staff generally friendly. However lots of the bar staff were not Scottish and they gave the impression they didn t care. The one Scottish bar maid we spoke to was so...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank annyb555
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am very pleased to read that you had a good stay with us recently and that you would recommend us to others, we look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay. Kind Regards Dominic McVey General Manager

Reviewed 15 November 2014

Typical Crowne Plaza hotel which is larger than others I have stayed at. Nicest bar and Restaurant setting I have seen at a Crowne Plaza. Staff are nice but could do with a few more native Scots working there. Hotel Rooms are looking a bit worn and I had a upgraded room...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Huw D
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am very happy that you enjoyed the bar and restaurant at the hotel, I hope we can see you again for another great stay. Kind Regards Dominic McVey General Manager

Glasgow
Reviewed 13 November 2014

This hotel whilst a wee bit away from the city is excellent for events at the Secc and the Hydro. The rooms are very comfortable (some have been refurbished) and have excellent views of the city. The restaurant serves really nice food but it can be difficult to get seated or to find a waiter. The staff are very friendly....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Macorrite
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am very pleased to read that you enjoyed your recent stay I am particularly pleased to read your comment regarding our staff members. We look forward to seeing you again. Kind Regards Dominic McVey General McVey

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 November 2014

The hotel is located next to SECC, Hydro and BBC Scotland which is very convenient. Standard rooms are very dated and bathrooms definitely need urgent upgrade - they standards remind more 3 stars hotel in nineties. The main room door doesn't provide much noise insulation which can be a major issue during weekend stay. Free wifi is very slow, the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Peter M
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am disappointed to read that we were not able to meet your expectations on this occasion, I am however pleased to tell you that we are currently planning the next stage of our refurbishment programme which will include the bedrooms. I hope you would consider us again in the future to see the results....

846 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (499)
Viewed
Room/Suite (112)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (68)
Viewed
View from Room (67)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
3:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (195)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (187)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Club King Room (17)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (30)
Viewed
Pool (1)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard King Room (16)
Viewed
Standard King Room New Style (23)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (160)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#60 of 95 in Glasgow
986 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#20 of 95 in Glasgow
2,226 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#28 of 95 in Glasgow
2,984 reviews
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#39 of 95 in Glasgow
1,763 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Glasgow. A modern and stylish hotel overlooking the River Clyde, with a covered walkway to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC), Crowne Plaza Glasgow is an excellent choice for the business and leisure traveller. With 283 air conditioned contemporary bedrooms and suites, all fully equipped with Smart televisions, trouser press, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and wireless internet access. The spacious Club Rooms boast Kingsized beds with stunning river views, Smart TVs and exclusive access to our Club Lounge, with complimentary refreshments to relax or hold informal meetings. The Leisure Club includes an indoor pool, equipped gym, sauna, spa and steam room. Alternatively, treat yourself to a massage or beauty treatment in Isis, our in-house Beauty Salon. There are 15 conference/functions suites, including a dedicated boardroom with plasma screen, to accommodate all types of events. Crowne Plaza Glasgow is located directly opposite the Glasgow Science Centre, the BBC and STV Headquarters and the nearby Transport Museum and Tall Ship visitor attraction. Easy access to shopping areas such as Braehead, Buchanan Galleries, St Enoch and Argyle Street make this a great leisure destination. The hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Address: 1 Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: RM428 - RM1,249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Glasgow UK
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#18 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Glasgow staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Glasgow staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room away from the lift door as it is noisy with guests coming in and out”
 of 5 bubbles l0uise24, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“ask for a high floor .. amazing views of the Clyde ...”
 of 5 bubbles 394evelyns, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Higher floor rooms with view”
 of 5 bubbles rohitb528, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Executive Club Rooms”
 of 5 bubbles charlie_ocs, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“High floor for a great view. Pay extra for Executive club acess.”
 of 5 bubbles alisonh872, 12 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay