We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Show Prices
#35 of 95 Hotels in Glasgow
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Professional photos
Crowne Plaza Glasgow
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,125 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Crowne Plaza Glasgow
See the most recent reviews
Showing 2,076: English reviews
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
346 reviews
188 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2014

This is better than many Crowne Plazas, and does all the things you would generally expect from a decent international chain. The swimming pool was pleasanty warm (they aren't always). Staff were helpful on the desk. Breakfast was good so long as you remember this is Scotland so hot breakfast food is on the heavy side of oily. The hotel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank OnwardTraveller
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad to read that you enjoyed your recent stay and we hope we can see you back in the future. Kind Regards Dominic McVey General Manager More 

Here
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2014

I have to admit that I was pleasantly surprised by how good this hotel was. The staff are extremely polite and helpful and helped make our stay very pleasant. The Hotel is located adjacent to the SECC and Hydro and as such is an ideal place to stay for those attending concerts or events at these venues. In addition the... More 

Helpful?
Thank MarcusDante
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. I am very happy to read that overall you enjoyed your stay in the hotel, I am especially pleased that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet selection. With regards to the Wi-Fi, this is available on a complimentary basis to all members of our IHG Reward scheme. I am very sorry that... More 

gllasgow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2014

stayed there with my wee boy last night 10 th oct ...its our 5 visit .....was at still game got checked in earlier than expected with no fuss used the swimming pool before the show and after breakfast in the morning ...very nice helpfull staff ...wish i had stayed in hotel for the 2 dine for 34.99 ...as went up... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank evelyn9cook
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am delighted read you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would be looking to stay with us in future. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind Regards Dominic McVey General Manager More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2014 via mobile

Have enjoyed this hotel before. It is perfectly situated for various concert venues such as the Hydro, SECC and Armadillo. Very helpful and pleasant staff. Stayed in a Club class room on the 15th floor which had a dedicated lounge which had various amenities and provides a cold breakfast facility in the morning. cooked breakfast is served in the main... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Adventurebeforedemen
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am very happy to read to you had a good stay recently and I am very pleased to read you would recommend us to others. Kind Regards Dominic McVey General Manager More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a recent party conference and the room and its facilities were absolutely fine, with a great view of the Clyde. Similarly, I've no complaints at all with the staff who were all helpful, nor with breakfast. I hated the evening meal I had - so much it's stuck in my mind as something I never want... More 

Helpful?
Thank Brumtravel
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback following your stay during the Liberal Democrat conference. I am happy that you enjoyed the use of our facilities on your recent visit, however I must apologise for your experience in the restaurant and bar area of the hotel. We take great pride in the quality of the food served in the hotel and therefore... More 

Aberdeen
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night as we were at the Hydro for Still Game. The hotel is pleasant with plenty nice touches. It was very clean and everything you needed was available. The service was polite and efficient and we felt welcome in the hotel. The bar staff at night were also patient, no mean feat when you threw in... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Ally M
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. I am happy that overall you enjoyed your stay but I am also disappointed that you found some areas of the hotel to be a little run down, however please be aware that we currently planning the next stage of our refurbishment which will take in many of these areas. We look forward to seeing... More 

somerset
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2014

Stayed for Party Conference. Great service from every member of staff despite lots of people all asking for different things. Staff always had a smile and went out of their way to make life as easy as possible. Good food as well!

Helpful?
2 Thank jq002
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am happy to read you enjoyed your time at the hotel and we hope to see you again in the future. Kind Regards Dominic McVey General Manager More 

Kilwinning, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous contemporary hotel with awesome 360• views from the higher bedrooms. Rooms very nice Staff very good Food is awesome ! Breakfast was a very high standard Unfortunately the room wifi is an outside contract with a protracted system to log your devices into it and it was faulty throughout our stay. Wifi in the public areas had a non-existent... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Ros F
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad that overall you enjoyed your stay with us recently. With regards to the Wifi in the hotel, we have just increased our bandwidth in an effort to address this issue which we will monitor over the next few months. I do hope we can welcome you back to see the results. Kind... More 

Cape Town
Level Contributor
57 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2014

I was accommodated in the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Glasgow during the recent Ryder Cup at Gleneagles. To be fair I was not expecting anything great after reading some of the reviews but let me say that i was very pleasantly surprised. The check-in staff were courteous upon arrival and we were soon organised and settled in our standard rooms.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank WilsonGD
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. I am very pleased to read that you had an excellent stay with us recently and I will of course pass on your comments to the member of the concierge team you mentioned, I hope we can see you back at the hotel in future for another great stay. Kind Regards... More 

London
Level Contributor
153 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2014

Just to be clear, I did not stay at the hotel, merely used the bar, restaurant and event services as part of a conference. My review is based on that experience. In short, appalling. Yes, there was a big conference on and it was busy - but it's not as though a coach party unexpectedly turned up and caught them... More 

Helpful?
Thank liberaceLondon
QMHManager, General Manager at Crowne Plaza Glasgow, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. I am very sorry about your recent experience in the hotel. I am particularly concerned with your comments regarding our staff members, I will be taking action to ensure staff in the restaurant and bar areas are aware of their service and attitude towards hotel guests and visitors. I am... More 

835 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (488)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (66)
Viewed
View from Room (66)
Viewed
Dining (21)
Viewed
Room/Suite (111)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
3:10
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (188)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (187)
Viewed
Amenities (35)
Viewed
Club King Room (17)
Viewed
One Bedroom Suite (30)
Viewed
Pool (1)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Standard King Room (16)
Viewed
Standard King Room New Style (23)
Viewed
Standard Twin Room (7)
Viewed
The Hotel (43)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (160)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (37)
Viewed
Dining (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (46)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (22)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Anderston
Hilton Garden Inn Glasgow City Centre
Anderston
Campanile Glasgow
Campanile Glasgow
#61 of 95 in Glasgow
963 reviews
South Side
Premier Inn Glasgow Pacific Quay (SECC) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Side
Village Hotel Glasgow
Village Hotel Glasgow
#19 of 95 in Glasgow
2,002 reviews
Anderston
Hilton Glasgow
Hilton Glasgow
#27 of 95 in Glasgow
2,916 reviews
Anderston
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
Glasgow Marriott Hotel
#39 of 95 in Glasgow
1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Spa
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Crowne Plaza Glasgow. A modern and stylish hotel overlooking the River Clyde, with a covered walkway to the Scottish Exhibition & Conference Centre (SECC), Crowne Plaza Glasgow is an excellent choice for the business and leisure traveller. With 283 air conditioned contemporary bedrooms and suites, all fully equipped with Smart televisions, trouser press, hairdryer, iron and ironing board, tea/coffee making facilities and wireless internet access. The spacious Club Rooms boast Kingsized beds with stunning river views, Smart TVs and exclusive access to our Club Lounge, with complimentary refreshments to relax or hold informal meetings. The Leisure Club includes an indoor pool, equipped gym, sauna, spa and steam room. Alternatively, treat yourself to a massage or beauty treatment in Isis, our in-house Beauty Salon. There are 15 conference/functions suites, including a dedicated boardroom with plasma screen, to accommodate all types of events. Crowne Plaza Glasgow is located directly opposite the Glasgow Science Centre, the BBC and STV Headquarters and the nearby Transport Museum and Tall Ship visitor attraction. Easy access to shopping areas such as Braehead, Buchanan Galleries, St Enoch and Argyle Street make this a great leisure destination. The hotel is non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Glasgow

Address: Congress Road | Strathclyde, Glasgow G3 8QT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: RM353 - RM1,201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Glasgow 4*
Number of rooms: 283
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, IHG, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Crowne Plaza Glasgow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza Glasgow Hotel Glasgow
Glasgow Crowne Plaza
Crowne Plaza Glasgow UK
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Glasgow
#17 Luxury Hotel in Glasgow
#24 Business Hotel in Glasgow
#28 Romantic Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Crowne Plaza Glasgow staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Crowne Plaza Glasgow staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Standard rooms are very basic”
 of 5 bubbles MazCarlisle, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask the staff on the desk, they are very helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles 60ninan, 22 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Floor 12 all the way!”
 of 5 bubbles GillMCreevey, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The higher the floor the better for the view and the noise”
 of 5 bubbles Ishbel62, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The views from higher floors are excellent. Go as high as you can.”
 of 5 bubbles JackandIzzy, 15 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay