We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Kelvingrove Hotel

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Kelvingrove Hotel
View Map
{"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}}}
Add Photo Write a Review

553 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 534: English reviews
Start your review of Kelvingrove Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 2 days ago NEWvia mobile

Comfortable and clean double room with en suite bathroom. Shower was a bit rubbish and lukewarm but it did the job. Only a short walk into town and parking outside the hotel was reasonable. Reception staff were friendly. Good place to stay if you don't want to spend loads on a comfortable room.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mich_edmonds
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay and for your kind comments. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel if you visit Glasgow again

Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I just wanted a place to lay my head for one night, and I knew I would be sharing a bathroom and toilet so I have no issue with that. If you are claustrophobic,don't book a single room, the saying 'no room to swing a cat' could have been invented for this room, it was literally less than 6 feet...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael M
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

As you quite correctly said 'you get what you pay for'. This is the only standard room in the hotel with the bathroom 8ft away, all our other rooms have en suite facilities. This room is only used for those who want to book on a budget as we only charge half the normal price for this single room. As...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

This hotel is in a great location right next to kelvingrove museum and park . It is let down by standard room with quite a dated en suite. The staff were very polite and accommodating , it was cosy and warm in a cold winters day however my room with views of the bins and noise from students was not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stacylee78
robertmcq, Manager at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

thank you for taking time to review your recent stay here, we are glad you enjoyed the many good things about the hotel and area. we are currently in the process of upgrading many bathrooms within the hotel as I'm sure you would have saw first hand when you checked in, as for the noise from the flats - we...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Stayed here for one night on a recent trip to Glasgow to see a show at the Hydro. Our daughter had booked it for us and it was easy to find and in a good location. On checking in Ian on the desk was great telling us what was round and about and marking things on a map for us....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IAN B
robertmcq, Manager at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel, your kind comments are greatly appreciated.

Reviewed 10 January 2017 via mobile

This hotel was round the corner from my son's flat and he'd stayed there in the summer. However, he had the room which is shown on the website - reasonably spacious and not bad. I got a tiny, dirty room and had to ask the manager to clean the wash basin which was covered in black dirt. She was very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl A
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

I will address the points made individually. I apologise for the marks on the wash basin which were dealt with immediately as stated. The room you were allocated is a standard double room with a king size bed at the rear of the building and we believe that £60 is a reasonable price for a city centre three star hotel....

Dundee, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 January 2017

Great wee place to stay near the city centre. Only about 5-10 min drive from George square. Receptionist (think it's Ian) was super friendly and very helpful. Would definitely stay here again. Rooms are average size. Only bad thing I would say is the noise of the plumbing when you use the toilet and sink. Shower pressure was pretty bad....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Stuart K
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to review your recent stay, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and all your kind comments shall be passed onto the staff. Glad you found the location suited your needs and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2016

Well situated for public transport, short walk to Kelvingrove Art Gallery, well placed for restaurants and bars. We had a ground floor room which was only yards away from the heavy traffic of Sachiehall Street and the double glazing wasn't very efficient so extremely noisy up until midnight. Didn't keep us awake but traffic started early in the morning again....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rosalita387
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We are glad you found the rooms to be clean and comfortable. The saniflow plumbing system by nature does make a noise when water passes through the macerator but this noise only lasts for a few seconds .To clarify a point, our sister hotels are not on the same street...

Reviewed 29 November 2016 via mobile

Stayed Here For one Night. Lovely wee Hotel with Friendly staff. Room was nice And Clean. Would Return Again And Would Recommend A Visit To Anyone looking For a Budget Hotel At A good Price. Only 15 min Walk to city centre.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank fullar
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking time to review your recent stay with us. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the many positive comments we received. We will pass your comments onto Gil and the staff and we hope to see you again in the future

Livorno, Italy
Reviewed 25 November 2016

We booked 1 night there and everything was so nice and comfy. Iain, the Hotel manager is a fantastic person, he helped us a lot with advice, places to go in one day and he booked a taxy for us for the Airport too, so kind and helpful. The Hotel is comfy, quiet and very very close to almost everything,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MartaLenzi11
robertmcq, Owner at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

thank you very much for taking time too review your recent stay with us. Your kind comments will be passed onto Iain and the staff, all our managers are here too help in any way they can, we are really pleased you enjoyed the many aspects of your stay and what Glasgow has too offer and we hope to welcome...

Leuchars, United Kingdom
Reviewed 22 November 2016

My sister and I stay at this lovely hotel twice a year. The staff are great and friendly and the hotel is always clean and our rooms immaculate and a very tasty breakfast too. On this stay we got an upgrade and Iain was a star and carried our luggage. A great find and always a pleasure.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank joycelittle1
robertmcq, General Manager at Kelvingrove Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us, all your comments will be passed onto the staff and we are always happy to do what we can for our guests, we look forward to seeing you again early in the new year

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (45)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Other (13)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
Sandyford Lodge Hotel
#48 of 96 in Glasgow
182 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#27 of 96 in Glasgow
710 reviews
West End
The Sandyford Hotel
The Sandyford Hotel
#61 of 96 in Glasgow
545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Albion Hotel
#63 of 96 in Glasgow
236 reviews
Anderston
Lorne Hotel
Lorne Hotel
#52 of 96 in Glasgow
830 reviews
West End
Kelvin Hotel
Kelvin Hotel
#72 of 96 in Glasgow
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kelvingrove Hotel, located in Glasgow's Sauchiehall Street, is a three star guest house offering exceptional service and excellent accommodation. The hotel is run by three generations of the same family, all of whom have a wealth of experience in the hospitality industry, so you can always be sure of a warm welcome at the Kelvingrove. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kelvingrove Hotel

Address: 944 Sauchiehall Street, Glasgow G3 7TH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow
Price Range: RM267 - RM469 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelvingrove Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Kelvingrove Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvingrove Hotel Glasgow
Kelvingrove Hotel UK/Glasgow
Hotel Style:
#37 Business Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kelvingrove Hotel staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
6 months ago
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Kelvingrove Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Don't choose a single room if you don't like tight spaces”
 of 5 bubbles michaelmX2039CS, 23 Feb 2017 | Read review
“we were downstairs at the back and heard nothing at all”
 of 5 bubbles saintmorag, 1 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Try the breakfast, great for a packed day ahead”
 of 5 bubbles Anjienkenny, 13 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Rooms at back are quieter. Some ground floor rooms I think if a few stairs are an issue.”
 of 5 bubbles spencer139, 25 Aug 2016 | Read review
“20 or 21 right at the back.”
 of 5 bubbles LeicesterNizza, 25 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5