We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Kelvin Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Kelvin Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

270 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 248: English reviews
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

This is a reasonably priced hotel (feels more like a guest house) in a good location if you have a big night out in Glasgow's West End. It's not a modern hotel but our room was spacious (a twin room with two double beds) and there was plenty of storage and power sockets. The bathroom seemed to have been built...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine D
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Old British house settled close to the Botanic gardens and the fantastic University of Glasgow. Good Subway connections. Breakfast is really tasteful and great. People are very friendly and welcoming. Rooms are very big and comfortables. I would repeat, no doubt.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gorka Y
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Lovely hotel. Very friendly and welcoming atmosphere. Stayed at full occupancy and there was no noise pollution. I was worried about the communal bathrooms but they where absolutely spotless. Breakfast was great, good selection.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
Sisteron, France
Reviewed 1 November 2016

Clean, warm and comfortable - obliging staff - very nice breakfast: early breakfast provided on departure :) :) ideal location for Glasgow's West End. Excellent value, we will certainly come back. Thank you again!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 547mitchf
Manchester, UK
Reviewed 27 October 2016

This was a good location for us in the West End and the hotel is fine and functional. It is absolutely nothing special. The decor is a bit tired, our room was okay if a bit stuffy. Bathroom tiny and had a really noisy fan. Had requested non-dairy milk for breakfast when booking but on the morning and told none...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JanieOH
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 24 October 2016

Myself and my partner stayed in the Kelvin Hotel recently. Neither of us knew Glasgow very well but we were lucky to choose this hotel and location. It is right beside the Botanic Gardens, near to the kelvin Gallery and Museum and in an area with a wide variety of nice coffee shops, restaurants, etc. The hotel was very warm...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Niamh S
Wellington, New Zealand
Reviewed 17 October 2016

A tidy basic room that suited what I needed. Both the toilet and bathroom were clean. The hotel is located next to a busy road, so if you may want to pack ear plugs if you're a light sleeper Breakfast was good. A full breakfast was available, as well as tea, coffee/tea, juice, cereal etc. Location was close to the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlisterNZ
Arun R, General Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this review

We are glad you enjoyed your stay. Being a family hotel we strive to make your stay as comfortable as possible and look forward to your next visit. Reservations

Reviewed 29 September 2016

A classic building on a classy terrace in the West End of Glasgow with friendly staff. Sounds great doesn't it? Just beware of the basement rooms though - it is a tad cruddy in the lower reaches. Narrow fire doors, tired fittings and small rooms. Upstairs seems fine and the dining room has dazzling plasterwork,thick carpets and large windows. There's...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Alan S
Arun R, Guest Relations Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this review

We hope you enjoyed your stay. We are glad you enjoyed the location surrounded with the botanic gardens. Surrounded with Byres Road,lovely bars and coffee shops. The West End is at the end of the street.

Dumfries and Galloway, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 September 2016

A friend of mine booked a small double room for me and my wife for £50. The rooms are nothing like the photos on the website. Not only the room was small which was expected but the bed was a little bigger than a single, the room was on the lower ground and smelt terrible, my wife who is pregnant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank nourozen
Arun R, Public Relations Manager at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry you did not enjoy your room and should you have made reception aware I am sure they would have re-located you as we have many categories of rooms to suit all budgets.

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 September 2016

Such friendly staff and easy location to find. Good choice for West End Glasgow and near to the Oran Mor pub which is worth a visit. Only had one nights stay but very comfortable and felt well restted.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ianhamglen
Arun R, Director of Sales at Kelvin Hotel, responded to this review

We try to give you a reasonably priced hotel with warmth and good service. We set high standards of cleanliness and quality products

314 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (258)
Viewed
Amenities (10)
Viewed
Family Room (64)
Viewed
Dining (31)
Viewed
Single Room (31)
Viewed
The Hotel (122)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glasgow hotels
West End
Clifton Hotel
Clifton Hotel
#72 of 95 in Glasgow
239 reviews
West End
The Heritage Hotel
The Heritage Hotel
#59 of 95 in Glasgow
283 reviews
West End
The Alfred
The Alfred
#73 of 95 in Glasgow
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Belhaven Hotel
#51 of 95 in Glasgow
398 reviews
West End
Argyll Hotel
Argyll Hotel
#25 of 95 in Glasgow
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Kelvin is a bed and breakfast in the heart of the vibrant West End of Glasgow. Parking can be reserved and free Wi-Fi is available. Bedrooms at The Kelvin are light and airy and are tastefully decorated in soft pastels. Some guest bedrooms have en-suite facilities, and all have a TV and vanity units with shaving points. A fully fitted, communal kitchen, equipped with kitchenware and utensils, is available to guests.The grand Victorian townhouse also offers free Wi-Fi in the guest lounge and in most bedrooms. The dining room boasts floor-to-ceiling windows and looks out onto the tree-lined Great Western Road. There are many shops located opposite the hotel and many bars and restaurants in the area.Glasgow International Airport is a 15-minute drive from the Kelvin, and the hotel is located just 2 miles from Glasgow Central Railway Station & 10miles from Glasgow airport. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kelvin Hotel

Address: 15 Buckingham Terrace | Great Western Road, Glasgow G12 8EB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Glasgow > West End
Price Range: RM195 - RM395 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kelvin Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Kelvin Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelvin Hotel Glasgow
Kelvin Hotel UK/Glasgow
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Glasgow
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Kelvin Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Springfield Center, New York
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Kelvin Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Do avoid the basement.”
 of 5 bubbles alansY3210KI, 29 Sep 2016 | Read review
“The small double rooms are below ground level, the beds are too small for 2 people.”
 of 5 bubbles nourozen, 23 Sep 2016 | Read review
“get a higher floor”
 of 5 bubbles shinysheffs, 28 Jul 2016 | Read review
“I had a room at the front of the hotel and even though the GWR is so close, it was still very quiet, would love to stay here again.”
 of 5 bubbles chastity-floozie, 23 Apr 2016 | Read review
“Any queries - phone hotel direct - very helpful.”
 of 5 bubbles jcaro64, 14 Apr 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay