We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Aviemore Youth Hostel

Save
Traveller (14)
Dining (4)
Room & Suite (2)
Overview
  • Excellent24%
  • Very good41%
  • Average23%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible4%
Travellers talk about
“communal areas”(8 reviews)
“drying room”(8 reviews)
“bed dorm”(4 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Parking
Wheelchair Access
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Pool
Restaurant
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (113)
Filter reviews
103 results
Traveller rating
27
40
22
10
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
27
40
22
10
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommunal areasdrying roombed dormkitchen facilitiescommon roomspacious loungewinter skills courseeasy accessgreat facilitiesgood sizetown centresinkstescoearplugsbeddingwalkerscairngorm
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 103 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

First time ever went to Aviemore McDonald resorts, can honestly say i loved it plenty to do Cairngorm funicular rail is awesome Inverness well worth seeing and Loch Ness Try the winking owl restaurant it’s very nice

Thank linda c
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

While I didn't like aviemore at all (it's a pretentious ski town), this hostel was quite nice. It's a bit out of town, like 10 mins walk down the main road. But worth it. It's a little secluded in this wooded area so feels like...More

Thank sheriboberry69
Response from SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Aviemore Youth HostelResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi sheriboberry69 Thanks for your kind review and its great to see you had a nice time. We hope to welcome you back soon. Regards Dan

Reviewed 7 June 2018 via mobile

This was the first time I had stayed in a youth hostel since 2004 and the first stay with the kids (aged 8 and 6). It was perfect! Location great, facilities top notch and staff extremely helpful and friendly (very tolerant of being referred to...More

Thank Morgi_1
Response from SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Aviemore Youth HostelResponded 13 June 2018

HI Morgi_1 Thanks for the great review and its good to see you had a nice time with the family, We hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan

Reviewed 10 May 2018 via mobile

Recently spent 4 nights here, with a large group of friends! The hostel has a fantastic location, close to the town centre and popular attractions in the area! The facilities were great, especially the large kitchens and common room! Certainly one of our best hostel...More

Thank Dean B
Response from SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Aviemore Youth HostelResponded 11 May 2018

HI Dean B Thanks for the great review and we hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan

Reviewed 9 May 2018

A short walk from the village although post code doesn't work on sat nav. A warm welcome and good dorm with just 4 inc two single beds. Facilities good with warm showers but WIFI doesn't work at end of corridors. Kitchens etc all good with...More

Thank MiddleEnglandMan
Response from SYHAHostelling, Guest Relations Manager at Aviemore Youth HostelResponded 11 May 2018

Hi MiddleEnglandMan Thanks for taking the time to review our hostel following your recent stay,Its good to see overall you had a nice time and we hope to welcome you back soon Regards Dan

View more reviews
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Wheelchair Access
Details
Price range
US$52 - US$245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Details
Price range
US$52 - US$245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (14)
Dining (4)
Room & Suite (2)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Marcus P
6 May 2016|
Answer
Response from HostellingScot | Property representative |
Hi, We provide Continental breakfast at £4.95 per person and packed lunches for £5.50,However we do have a fully equipped self catering kitchen where you can prepare your own food also the town is a few minutes walk away... More
0
Votes
AnimalGirl17979
4 August 2014|
Answer
Response from HostellingScot | Property representative |
Good Afternoon, Thank you for your query. Aviemore Youth Hostel does provide bedding for all guests as well as a refrigerator in the self-catering kitchen. There is no charge for either of these. Towels are provided free... More
1
Vote
Room Tips
"Twin or quadruple rooms add privacy for couples/small groups without adding much to the price. Bring ear..."
Read review
"winter time best Winter time easier to get twin rooms!!!"
Read review
"Remember you have to put the sheets on the bed."
Read review
"There are small 'dorms' which are private rooms for a small number"
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing