We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

187 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 186: English reviews
Moray, Scotland
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed in a lodge and it left a lot to be desired. The floor tiles in the conservatory were sinking and most doors were difficult to open or close. We had a problem with the oven which was sorted for us within a few hours of reporting it. The swimming pool, changing rooms, jacuzzi, steam room and sauna were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TheFeb
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We arrived on the 12th Nov and checked in. As this was our free week this was the last goodbye so to speak and having not been for many years i asked the parents if i could have it...We were allocated our keys to Patio 15 and from the front door my heart sank...the smell of wet dog hit us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mattbristo
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

For some reason this place has got rid of all of the staff who were its greatest asset. They have been replaced by people who have been imported from the South, who have no idea how to run a Club, and indeed have little knowledge of golf..! We spoke with some local Members who say that they are not likely...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Brian M
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed the warm and comfortable chalet on the golf course. The river provides an interesting walk as does the nearby brewery. Well stocked shops are a short drive away. Staff are competent. Remember you will have to pay extra for electricity.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Donovan S
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I've been here before and i really enjoyed it! We stayed as a couple with our 2 labradors, so we were put into a Craigellachie Chalet. It was still light when we checked in just after 5pm. I did notice a few people who's chalets/accommodation weren't ready either, a bit of a let down after a long drive! Anyhow, we...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Lisa F
Reviewed 27 October 2016

We have been 'members' of this resort since 1982 and over the years it has served us and our family well due mainly to the location, not necessarily the quality of the resort. Over the past 4 years, our family members have used it but we had not. The staff were very friendly and accommodating and the check-in system went...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barstooler
Buckie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 October 2016

When we arrived we were very disappointed in the cleanliness we found. We filled in the form in the pack we received and handed it into reception. Items listed No shower curtain Kitchen floor dirty Apartment not hoovered Flip top bin in kitchen filthy - top and inside Various areas not dusted Bathroom not properly cleaned - bath panel, door,...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Golfer177
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 October 2016

We went here on our first night in our Aviemore break. The pool/pool table area was nice and relaxing and wasn't overly busy. We went into the restaurant and even the though the food was ok, the service was pretty crap. Took them ages to serve us and in the large restaurant, they had a grand total of 3 tables...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sars40
Leslie, Michigan
Reviewed 24 September 2016

We stayed here for 1 night because we waited too late to find a hotel for the night. VERY expensive!! The breakfast was as expected ( a buffet ). Again, nothing special. Rooms in several buildings. Only chose this because nothing else was available.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank howery2016
gm_speyvalley, General Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear howery2016 Thank you for your feedback, I am unsure if it is meant for Spey Valley Golf & Country Club as you mention breakfast (a buffet) which is something we don't currently offer here at Spey Valley golf & Country Club. Also your description of rooms doesn't fit with the resort as we don't have rooms but self catering...

Kissimmee, Florida
Reviewed 19 September 2016

There is something for everyone - young families, families with dogs & loads of energy, and great views & local woodland walks for the more senior citizens like us. A small golf course is freely available for the solo or relaxed golf player whilst the nearby Champion golf course offers a greater challenge. The indoor pool was very popular. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Marion L
gm_speyvalley, General Manager at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club, responded to this review

Dear Marion L Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at the Spey Valley Golf & Country Club. As you state something for everyone, the leisure facilities prove to be very popular with all our guests. It is always a pleasure to read that someone has enjoyed their time with us. We do hope to see you back...

158 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (146)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (12)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Other (44)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aviemore
2.7 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
1.5 km away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
12.2 km away
Nethybridge Hotel
Nethybridge Hotel
#1 of 2 in Nethy Bridge
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
657 reviews
9.6 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
207 reviews
6.8 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Golf Course
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Shuttle Bus Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Spey Valley Golf & Country Club borders the famous River Spey with spectacular views of the surrounding Spey Valley and Cairngorm Mountains. The Resort is close to the lively village of Aviemore.Spey Valley Golf & Country Club offers luxury lodges, spacious apartments and cosy Scandinavian style chalets scattered around a nine hole, par 3 golf course. The reception area, swimming pool, sports hall and other leisure facilities, along with an excellent restaurant and relaxing bar are all located in the Clubhouse.Whether you are here to enjoy an exciting activity holiday or a break in glorious scenery, you're sure to find what you are looking for at Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club. We wish you an enjoyable stay! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club

Address: Dalfaber Drive | PH22 1ST, Aviemore, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Price Range: RM543 - RM881 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Dalfaber Golf & Country Club Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Dalfaber Golf And Country Club
Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club Aviemore, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club staff and other travellers.
7 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (7)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Spey Valley Golf & Country Club staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Chalets overlooking the golf course looked best... chalet 6”
 of 5 bubbles 619lisaf, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“There is a variety of lodges & chalets so the choice is personal based on requirements”
 of 5 bubbles Barstooler, 27 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The Timeshare Chalet was great but a little basic More suitable for a couple than the 4 adults and 2 children that it was advertised for.”
 of 5 bubbles 304MarionL304, 19 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Go for a different hotel chain or even a bnb would be much better”
 of 5 bubbles 895hb, 24 Jul 2016 | Read review
“Self catering accommodation”
 of 5 bubbles mymu2016, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay