We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aviemore
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

94 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Showing 94: English reviews
Start your review of Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
 Click to rate
Melton Mowbray, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Had a fantastic 2 night midweek stay here with my husband and 2 year old daughter. Lodges are well equipped with loads of space and lovely big, hotel quality bedrooms all with en suite bathrooms. Flat screen tv in lounge and all bedrooms, lovely dining area, basic but well equipped kitchen with a dishwasher as who wants to do dishes...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank HappyDazeScotland
General M, Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'HappyDazeScotland' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us over the two nights you were visiting. Your comments about the lodge, it's rooms, kitchen and facilites are extremely pleasing, and I am glad that you appreciated them as much as...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

Very comfortable lodges with plenty of space and all bedrooms ensuite. Kitchen was small but perfectly adequate but lack of an oven does seem a bit strange for self catering property. Loved wood burning stove which made the place lovely and cost. Very reasonably priced with the itison voucher which included a cinema pass. The resort has everything you would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cairolass_12
General M, Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Cairolass_12' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor I am glad you found our lodges to be comfortable, with plenty of space and that the kitchen was adequate for your needs. It is great you were able to take advantage of the Itison deal and visit the resort to enjoy our facilities, and...

Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Visited for two nights with my husband and my daughter and her husband and three young children. We had a lovely stay. The lodge was roomy enough for the children to run around in, yes the kitchen is small, but plenty big enough to make breakfast and snacks. With so many restaurants to sit in and take away chip shops...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz A
General M, Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Liz A' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor I am delighted to see that you had such a lovely visit to the resort, and thoroughly enjoyed taking advantage of the great Lodges that we have on site. Your kind comments regarding how well equipped the lodges are, and their size to suit...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
7 reviews
2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a lovely 2 night stay in the lodges. There is so much on the doorstop, great walks and bike rides with beautiful scenery. The lodge kitchen is equipped for basic cooking. There is no oven but we were able to make a curry using the hob and microwave. We also ate out at a local Italian restaurant which...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
General M, Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor It is wonderful to read that you had such a pleasant stay with us here at the resort and that you thoroughly enjoyed the lodges that we have on offer. I will be sure to pass your comments regarding the furniture in the lodges on to our...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We and 2 other couples rented a woodland lodge here 3rd-5th of march.The lodge was very clean and nice and warm.It had 3 good sized bedrooms two with en suite showers and one comprising of a shower and a bath.Their was a log burning stove complete with kindling and logs.Aviemore has great walks and good restaurants/bars.In the resort is a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pbpetersmail28
General M, Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'pbpetersmail28' Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor. We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay in one of our lodges and that you and your family had a good time on our resort. Please be assured that we are taking your feedback on board regarding the size of the kitchen...

Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Spent 3nights here. Lovely lodge. Log burner. Kitchen a bit small but we got one with an oven which is rare apparently. Used our cinema pass & went to see Lion. Also went for a swim. Pool lovely & clean and not too busy. Bedrooms lovely,comfy with good big showers. Would recommend this if you get a good deal like...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Suzy10267
General M, Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Suzy10267' Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay in our lodges and that you had a chance to make use of our entertainment and leisure facilities on site and also that you liked the lodge you have stayed in. We are looking...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Paid £585.00 for 5 nights in one of the lodges and on our arrival were asked to put £50.00 on my card for "electricity charges"! The lodge is classed as being able to sleep 4 adults, but the second bedroom has a single bed and tiny pull out bed which cannot accommodate a 6'3" adult! This meant two of our...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank E4671EFrobertl
General M, Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'E4671EFrobertl' Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on our TripAdvisor page. With regards to the electricity charges, would you mind sending us an email to guestservices.aviemore@macdonald-hotels.co.uk and let us know which resort you stayed at exactly as the Aviemore Resort does not raise charges for electricity in the lodges. If you could let us know...

Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 January 2017

I spent 5 days in a lodge with work and really couldn't wait to review as this resort deserves a massive thumbs up from me! Having stayed in many hotels over the years I genuinely cannot understand how someone could complain about this resort. I stayed in the only two bed lodge. I think there are around 18 in total...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank superskier87
General M, Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'superskier87' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor It is fantastic to read that you had such a pleasant stay with us whilst you were working in the area. I am very grateful for your kind comments regarding our lodges, their location and what we provide within the lodge to make your stay as...

East Lothian, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 January 2017

Nicely set up accommodation. Three ensuite bedrooms, two with showers, one with a bath & shower. One of the bedrooms is upstairs. Accommodation was lovely and warm when we arrived which was great as it was cold and wet outside. There was a log burner which was set up ready to light. Lots of logs and kindling provided and despite...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Elmac66
General M, Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Elmac66' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review on TripAdvisor It is with great pleasure that I read your review, your kind comments regarding the layout of our lodges, the log burning stove in the living room, and the kitchen facilities provided. It is great to see that you appreciated our lodges to a great extent....

Bonnyrigg
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

We stayed in one of the lodges. It was in an unacceptable level of disrepair. The lodges aren't the cheapest and I expect a good standard. I do not expect to have to report a catalogue of faults which should have been reported by the house keeping staff. Radiators hanging off walls, one did fall off in dinning area. Mirrored...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fracas0404
General M, Manager at Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Fracas0404' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor Following on from our conversations on site, please be assured the we have raised these issues with our maintenance team. They are now working to ensure that our lodges and leisure area are up to standard after our busy festive period. I am pleased that...

44 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (44)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (24)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
10.6 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
8.4 km away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
13.4 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
692 reviews
14.3 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,206 reviews
0.0 km away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Kitchenette
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: | Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Hotel Class:4 star — Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Luxury Woodland Lodges At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort staff and other travellers.
9 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (9)

Questions? Get answers from Luxury Woodland Lodges at Macdonald Aviemore Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all the lodges are roughly the same with parking places of up to three cars and similar views”
 of 5 bubbles pbpetersmail28, 5 Mar 2017 | Read review
“2 bed lodge amazing!”
  • 2 bed lodge bedroom
  • 2 bed lodge
  • 2 bed lodge living room
  • 2 bed lodge bathroom
  • 2 bed lodge
  • 2 bed lodge bedroom
 of 5 bubbles superskier87, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Some of the lodges are being done up and include an oven - might be worth asking whe. You book.”
 of 5 bubbles Elmac66, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We stayed in lodge 7 and it was perfect”
 of 5 bubbles 64LindaB, 16 Nov 2016 | Read review
“We requested a lodge nearer the road to provide easier access for my parents - which worked well.”
 of 5 bubbles SusanS388, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5