We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,660 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,596: English reviews
Start your review of Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
 Click to rate
grangemouth
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The Aviemore Hotel just provided me with a nights sleep in the most comfortable bed I have ever known. Bed linen was spotless. Pillows were huge and bouncy. Duvet was light but warm. But the bed was the star! 6 feet wide and so comfortable I was sorry to leave. Its in room 3336 by the way! Dont worry about...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda S
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This was our first visit to the hotel. We had arrived early, we enquired if we could check in, but our room wasn't going to be ready until 4pm, their absolute earliest check in time. The hotel could do with being a little more flexible. There wasn't anywhere to safely leave our luggage other than leaving it under the stairs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Victoria F
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Victoria F' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor I am sorry that you did not feel our resort was value for money, and that the check in time is slightly later than you expected. I am glad that your bedroom was comfortable and that you found our staff to be helpful during...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Overnight stay booked directly through the hotel which cost a little more than with many booking sites, but we had a much nicer room and a £10 voucher to spend anywhere in the complex. I've stayed here before and booked via booking company on line and the room was not so good. Plus breakfast was really good - wish I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lovesunshine A
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'lovesunshine A' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay here at the resort, with kind comments regarding the room and breakfast facilities. I am sorry that the wifi was not working in your room as our wifi should cover all rooms within each hotel....

United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I think the hotel room was ok for our family size, but I believe the cost is a bit high for what we got. I also think the hotel needs more maintenance and repainting. The restaurant offers very good quality food, the steakhouse restaurant dinner meals are just perfect!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ali H
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'AloulouTunisia' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor I am glad that you found your hotel room to be satisfactory, even if you thought the price was too high. I can assure you we are constantly working to improve our hotels with maintenance and repainting being a priority here. Great to see that...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Cramped rooms, corridors like a prison, no atmosphere, staff with poor English which are very difficult to understand. Has a tv speaker in the toilet, why? Plenty of car parking which makes the site appear desolate. Very poor restaurants with exceptionally poor service on site one of which forgot our order and that we were there. On plus side, nice...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Catherine M' Thank you for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor I am sincerely sorry that your stay did not live up to your expectations of the resort, all of your comments regarding our hotels, staff and restaurants will be passed on to our team in order for us to improve moving forwards. I am...

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Friendly greetings throughout the stay.room was lovely and an extremely comfortable bed.tried out the pool but were disappointed to find it a public pool and rather small to accommodate all the hotels as well as the local area.bar area downstairs was lovely and relaxing-though rather over priced at £40 for 2 whiskeys!!meal in evening nice.breakfast impeccable. Serving and bar staff...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank littlecoffeypot
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'littlecoffeypot' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor It is great to see that you received such friendly greetings throughout your stay, and that the room and bed were to your liking. I am sorry you did not enjoy our leisure facilities as much as possible and that you felt that the whiskey...

Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 March 2017

The bedroom was clean, warm and comfortable on 2nd floor. We had dinner and wine. Not much chat with the staff as most were foreign. We felt that reception could have given us more information about the hotel. Good selection at breakfast. The facilities are good including cinema and swimming pool. The staff at reception in swimming pool were much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pammac4
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Pammac4' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor It is great to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that your room was up to the high standards that we aim to provide. I will be sure to pass on your comment regarding the amount of information given at reception to...

Stonehaven, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

Popped into see 'Logan' whilst on a short break recently. Cinema is based in what looks to be an auditorium for conferences. Although movie was enjoyable and the sound was good, it was not a very comfortable 2 plus hours sitting in those chairs. Felt a bit let down really as price does not really reflect this clinical environment.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim_ShonaBeam
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Jim_ShonaBeam' Many thanks for taking the time to leave a review here on TripAdvisor It is great to see that you were able to use our cinema whilst staying with us, and that you enjoyed the film. I am sorry that the seating was uncomfortable, as this is an issue we are aware of and are currently working towards...

Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Stayed at hotel from 3rd March to 5th March celebrating mine and my husbands 50th birthday. Hotel was fine a bit dated but in all good facilties to use. Very close to the main street. Lots of restaurants to choose from very reasonable Would return again PS thanks to the house keeper who left us a birthday card nice touch

 Report
Helpful?
Thank magsdunn
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'magsdunn' Thank you very much for leaving us a review on TripAdvisor and a belated Happy Birthday! I am glad to read that you and your husband had a good time at our resort and that you are taking good memories of your 50th birthday with you and I shall make sure that I will pass on your comments...

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 March 2017

Stayed here with an online voucher deal giving us two nights bed and breakfast in an executive room with dinner on the first night. The value for money with this deal was excellent and we chose to eat off the main menu and both had excellent steaks. The hotel facilites are really good, although the decor in the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Scott E
General M, Manager at Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear 'Scott E' Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review on TripAdvisor. Thank you for your comments regarding your room, housekeeping and breaksfast being in anothr hotel. Please be assured that your feedback has been passed on to the relevant managers and that it will be taken on board. Despite the issues you have encountered, we...

243 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (173)
Viewed
Room/Suite (32)
Viewed
Bathroom (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (28)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (79)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Dining (14)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (10)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
2.3 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
0.3 km away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
10.6 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
709 reviews
8.0 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,216 reviews
0.3 km away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The hotels of our Macdonald Aviemore Resort are situated at the very heart of the Cairngorms National Park in the Scottish Highlands - a magical location. Stay amidst ancient Caledonian pine forests at one of our four distinctive hotels or our luxury woodland lodge accommodation. You'll find the perfect room for your stay in one of our luxurious Scottish Highlands hotels at Aviemore. Our Highlands Hotel offer four-star luxury for all the family along with our newly refurbished Morlich and Aviemore Hotels which are due to open Spring 2015. Choose one of our Luxury Woodland lodges for a stunning escape in the forest surrounding our resort. You'll find everything you need and more at Macdonald Aviemore Resort - luxury brand shopping, 3D cinema viewing, top-class restaurants, our brand new, state-of-the-art Aviemore Activity Centre, family activities, swimming pool - and for golfers, the Spey Valley Championship Golf Course. Recently voted one of the best in Scotland, this course boasts some of the most breathtaking views in the world. Designed by Dave Thomas, former Ryder Cup player, it features the longest hole in Scotland - a par 5 measuring 635 yards. Are you up for the challenge? ... more   less 

Additional Information about Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Price Range: RM553 - RM1,202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 404
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, LateRooms, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald Aviemore Highland Hotel Aviemore
Macdonald Aviemore Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Macdonald Aviemore Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Can only comment on our room 3336 which was great for a couple or would also suit a small family.”
scotlinda, 23 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Only go if super bargain”
Virtualbahia15, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“all rooms seem fab”
wine1961, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you have kids best to choose a room with bunk beds as no room if they try and squeeze 2 singles beds into a normal double room.”
tamara3445, 6 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Several hotel blocks on site but all seemed of a good standard. The Lagan bar was best.”
Scotlandtravels1, 11 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5