We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
No availability for your dates from these sites
Compare best prices from top travel sites
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

146 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
See the most recent reviews
Showing 134: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Just had a friends reunion at this hotel. Although beds very comfortable and bathrooms obviously just up-graded, overall this hotel looks sad and tired. Our bedroom had a stale smell and the television only worked on occasions. Drinks at the bar were really expensive. Had a coffee in Costa bar in the centre this morning. Waited about 10 minutes to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eileen W
General M, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to hear that you were left feeling dissapointed with you stay. We always aim for the highest possible guest service and take it seriously when guests find this not to be the case. I am sorry that you were dissapointed with the room you stayed...

Hastings Point, Australia
Reviewed 22 October 2013

This is an older style motel although our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The dinners were very good and there was a variety of breakfast foods to choose from. The staff were friendly and helpful and we were told that winter snow skiing was only half an hour away making this hotel a popular base for snow skiers.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SusieB1946
General M, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor. I am happy to hear that you had a good stay in the resort and enjoyed the dining offered. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back again over the winter time if you do come up to do some skiing. Best regards, The General Manager

Sydney
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed here 2 nights on a 16 day tour. This was by far the worst hotel we stayed at. Lifts - were always very slow Wifi - is available in another building 5 mins from the room Pool - is available across 2 roads Dining room - had 3 buckets on floor to catch water dripping from ceiling Toilet -...

 Report
Helpful?
5Thank Louisa57
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for the time taking to write a review. We always strive for the best possible guest service and I am sorry your did not feel that this was the case during your stay. As the hotel is part of a resort we do not operate as a stand alone hotel – which is why the pool...

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Very basic room. Old fashioned tv set. Shower - fluctuated between full and a trickle, possibly depending on how many other guests were using theirs at the time. Drinks expensive. Lift only took 4 people at any one time. Many long corridors to find room. The windows in our room were so dirty we didn't really need to close the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JaxtaNottm
MacdonaldAviemore, General Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor – we always appreciate all guest feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the room that you stayed in. It is unfortunate that you didn’t inform us of your concerns during your stay in order to find you a room that would...

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The hotel is quite old and has seen refurbishments over the years but it is a comfy enough hotel, the rooms are average sized with basic furnishings TV etc. The bathroom is clean and tidy with guest toiletry products provided, however the shower was subject to pressure fluctuations, sometimes the water disappeared altogether. There are two small lifts which claim...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hillcrestroad
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear hillcrestroad Thank you for the time taken to write a review. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and found the hotel accommodating for your needs. Thank you for your feedback on our staff – I am delighted to hear that they were professional and made you feel welcome. Please note that your comments regarding the...

Adelaide, Australia
Reviewed 13 August 2013

I was with a Trafalgar Tour and stayed here in July for 2 nights. Should have realised this was going to be a nightmare hotel from the first instance. The lift only takes 4 people max. My room was down the end of a passage that you had to go through several doors to get to. After going through the...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Susan M
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Susan M Thank you for taking the time to write a review as we always appreciate all guest feedback. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay and had an unpleasant experience. I do wish you would have spoken with us during your stay in order for us to rectify the issue right away and...

sydney
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We were warned before alighting from the tour bus, that this wasn't your "Four Seasons' but it would definitely be clean and warm. These would definitely be our trip director's 'famous last words'. The room was dreadful...threadbare carpets, scratched and damaged furniture, threadbare and holey blankets, 1 chair for a 2 person room, sink not fully attached to wall, leaking...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank chrismSydney
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear chrismSydney Thank you for taking time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay at our Four Seasons Hotel. We always strive to offer the best service available for out guests, so I am sad to hear that you did not feel this was the case during your...

Markham, Canada
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Rooms are very small and need upgrading. The staff we dealt with were very good, but witnessed some rude behaviour towards other guests in the main building. There was a group of poorly behaved and poorly supervised students there, so maybe they were stressed. The pool was not the best, as it had a low water level. Not sure if...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MaxjudyStanford
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear MaxjudyStanford Thank you for the time taken to write a review as we always appreciate guest feedback. I am happy to hear that the staff you encountered was welcoming and that you enjoyed the location and breakfast provided. Please be assured that your comments regarding the room have been taken on board and passed on to the relevant department....

Brisbane, Australia
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I first thought that someone had made a mistake,the car park was deserted,the reception,public bar area looked like it had been shut down for years.The very aging lift could only take 4 people.Oh My the room,you know that smell you get when something has'nt been aired for a long time,not to mention the worn carpet with holes everywhere. I could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bmac705
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Services at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear bmac705 Thank you for taking time to write a review on Trip Advisor. I am sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the hotel during your stay – an ongoing investment in the resort will ensure that the we will be able to offer to best possible guest service. Please be assured that all of your comments have...

Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 February 2013

Just want to say the staff here are fantastic place is so clean food is great we travelled in group of 6 we all ate well we had a ball drinks are reasonable priced also leisure facilies are great so clean also

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tracey L
MacdonaldAviemore, Guest Relations Manager at Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort, responded to this review

Dear Tracey L Thank you for your feedback – it is always a pleasure to read such positive comments about the resort and the staff. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort in the near future. Gina Macpherson Guest Services Manager

70 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (70)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (38)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Aviemore hotels
3.3 km away
Hilton Coylumbridge Hotel
1.2 km away
Highlands Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
1.3 km away
Cairngorm Hotel
Cairngorm Hotel
#2 of 11 in Aviemore
721 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
Macdonald Morlich Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort
9.5 km away
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
Dalrachney Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Carrbridge
230 reviews
7.3 km away
The Boat Hotel
The Boat Hotel
#1 of 1 in Boat of Garten
1,230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Golf Course
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service

Additional Information about Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort

Address: Macdonald Aviemore Resort, Aviemore PH22 1PN, Scotland (Formerly Macdonald Four Seasons Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Badenoch and Strathspey > Aviemore
Price Range: RM681 - RM1,562 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Macdonald 4 Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel Aviemore
Four Seasons Aviemore
Aviemore Four Seasons
Strathspey Hotel At Macdonald Aviemore Resort Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort staff and other travellers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Strathspey Hotel at Macdonald Aviemore Resort staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Best views, front and rear”
bikerbishopscastle, 16 May 2017 | Read review
“I wouldn't return however if forced to would ask for a room facing the mountains.”
jimmM8068ZY, 26 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Stay in another hotel in the Aviemore Resort - it will be worth the extra”
BronwenD77, 22 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Stay away.”
alexadamsa, 23 Dec 2015 | Read review
“The rooms on the back side have a stunning view of the mountain landscape.”
  • Morning haze
  • Stunning morning
  • Room view
canuckshutterbug, 9 Nov 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Check these sites for availability
Orbitz.com
Travelocity
HotelQuickly
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates