We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Inverness Student Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Management photos
Inverness Student Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"name":"ibex_photo_carousel"},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Inverness Student Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 112: English reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

We arrived in the evening without a booking and were able to get beds in a dorm. Dorm rooms are big, but old - beds are low and bedding is old too. There was no convenient spot to charge our electronics, which was somewhat frustrating. The positives - Staff were nice and the beds were reasonably priced. The negatives -...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emily C
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. It definitely is an old building, no one can deny that. However, old doesn't always mean bad, and tired often gets mistaken with dirty. While we await the planned renovations inside and out, our staff ensure to keep a maximum level of cleanliness throughout the hostel. Thank you for your...

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2016

Really loved the Lincolnshire receptionist at this place, he was really friendly and helpful. Rooms were smallish but ok for our group, showers good and breakfast fine. Kitchen a bit small but didn't cook in there so was ok for our visit. Didn't stay in Inverness very long so can't comment on location!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GSullivan22
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for your review! I have passed the message along to our dear Yorkish receptionist, he was very pleased! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. The kitchen is quite small indeed, but we prefer intimate rather than small! We do our best to keep it clean and topped up at all times as to make up for the lack of...

Depok, Indonesia
Reviewed 1 February 2016

It was a bit difficult to find this hostel at first, but in the end we managed to find it anyway. It was a good and cozy hostel. The bunk bed was cozy, although there was no frontier on the upper side of the bunk bed. They also have wide kitchen that we can use and FREE HOT CHOCOLATE AND...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lian1808
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

We're happy you enjoyed our hostel, it is a cozy place for sure. Hopefully until next time!

Reviewed 19 October 2015 via mobile

It took me a couple of laps of the block to find it, but it has space for parking! Yes the place is a little dated but the friendly, outgoing staff make up for it. The rooms are clean and big enough. The living space is nice with the kitchen having all the necessities. I'd definitely stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gillo35
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. Great to know you liked our lounge, dorms and our lovely staff. The building it's quite old indeed but we love it's charm : ) You're more than welcome to stay with us !

Strasbourg, France
Reviewed 18 October 2015

A great youth hostel with a trully friendly welcome! I found everything I needed here, you can have a nice breakfast for only 2£. Coffee, tea and milk are free! Wifi is fast and you can chill in the huge sofas.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Quentin C
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

We are very happy to know you enjoyed the hostel that much : ) We hope to see you soon!

Mandal
Reviewed 3 October 2015

One has to take the pace as it is, slightly worn-out but on the other hand - what can one expect of a student home? However, we met only friendly people and staff and for people who not demand luxury and is happy with a roof over their head, this is the place. The rooms is with bunks and as...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Svein B
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review Svein. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay overall, we take pride in having helpful and friendly staff. Since you stayed in April we have made an effort to update many aspects of the hostel especially in the communal areas. I hope you will stay with us again if you are ever in Inverness.

Reviewed 29 August 2015 via mobile

Stayed here for one night of my tour around the Highlands. The staff were very helpful, around 1am he went through the first aid kit with me as someone in my room needed it. Very friendly atmosphere in the common room and £2 breakfast served every morning. Only disappointment was the beds as I could hardly sleep.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank xhelloeuphoria
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your review Dominique, We're really glad to know you enjoyed your time in the hostel with other guests.... we must say that lately atmosphere that all of you created it's been absolute magic! Also, sorry to hear you didn't have a good rest because of our beds, we'll keep it in mind for new changes...

Reviewed 28 August 2015 via mobile

Staff was really nice and always helpful. The rooms and beds were ok, though there definitely could've been more bathrooms on the lower floor and our dorm could've done with two beds less - it felt s bit cramped at times. Kitchen and lounge are quite small, thus crowded and also a bit dark - was hoping for a more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank OneHostelAtATime
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking your time to write a review : ) We are sorry to know you didn't enjoy much our common areas, it is true that they are a wee bit tight, but usually people are happy sharing time and space in it. Light it's a wee bit tricky in this country...sometimes it gets dark and no light...

The Dalles, Oregon
Reviewed 24 August 2015

I specifically broke up my trip between the Isle of Skye and the Edinburgh area in Inverness because it was a Saturday night and I knew I could find good live music. The hostel is a bit rough around the edges and the kitchen is really small, but it was clean and friendly and really well located. I'd stay there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hopefulist
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review : ) We know our kitchen is quite small, that's why we keep it very well equipped, with lots of seasoning and of course, clean. We are very happy to say that we're painting it this winter! so a new face will help to make it look better. We're glad you enjoyed the atmosphere in...

North Carolina
Reviewed 16 August 2015

I was surprised to find that the unisex shower room on my floor did not have any space for disrobing/dressing. You had to try to navigate everything within the wet shower stall or strip naked in front of any other occupants. But what was really upsetting is that no one was at the front desk when I needed to check...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
manager088, Manager at Inverness Student Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review; we always appreciate our guests feedback. First, I would deeply like to apologize about the reception being closed when you wanted to check out; we do open at 7am but that day the person on shift didn't make it on time. We've been trying to post you your deposit back but sadly, in the note...

51 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (38)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.5 km away
Premier Inn Inverness Centre (River Ness) Hotel
0.1 km away
Glen Mhor Hotel & Apartments
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Inverness Palace Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 km away
Holiday Inn Express Inverness
0.6 km away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#24 of 33 in Inverness
994 reviews
1.1 km away
Inverness Youth Hostel
Inverness Youth Hostel
#15 of 35 in Inverness
144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Room types
  • Kitchenette
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Inverness Student Hotel has a terrific outlook over the river and the city to the hills beyond. It's a cute building with real character and a fun and relaxed atmosphere. Our comfortable dormitory rooms have between 5 and 10 beds in each room that come complete with full bedding and 2 comfy pillows! We have a spacious common room with big Victorian style windows that offer stunning views over the River Ness. It is a great place to meet like minded travelers, whilst enjoying all the free tea, coffee and hot chocolate you can drink! You can also relax in front of our beautiful real fire and take advantage of our FREE WiFi. The Student Hotel staff are always very friendly and approachable. We can help you book your tours, recommend places to visit and most importantly we know the hidden gems of the city to ensure you a memorable time in Inverness. We can arrange bike rental and will send you on your way with free maps to help you discover the magnificent beauty that is....Loch Ness! If you do see Nessie, don't forget to mention that you're staying with us when you talk to the press!Also, if you are completing the Great Glen Way and need a bed to rest your weary legs then you are in luck as we are only 100m metres away from the finish line. Hurrah!! We are also only 10 minutes walk from the Train and Bus Station and a quick 5 minutes walk into the town centre. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Inverness Student Hotel

Address: 8 Culduthel Road, Inverness IV2 4AB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Price Range: RM85 - RM196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Inverness Student Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inverness Student Hotel Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Inverness Student Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Would not recommend 10 person room if you have a choice. Too many people in one place to get a good night's sleep.”
 of 5 bubbles sarahbA5695VH, 15 Aug 2015 | Read review
“For young people on a budget.”
 of 5 bubbles patriciahJ3636GJ, 14 Jun 2015 | Read review
“Just ask for a bed near the wall socket if you have to charge your mobile constantly. ;Dd”
 of 5 bubbles mayal2015, 4 Jan 2015 | Read review
“I chose a "mixed dorm" and was a little worried about winding up alone in a room with a weirdo, but the staff were excellent about allocating people to different rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Travel-Girl-Ange, 26 Mar 2014 | Read review
“Choose one downturn street.”
  • room
  • shower 2
  • shower
 of 5 bubbles ZaraBinx, 18 Mar 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay