We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Acorn Guest House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Acorn Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

139 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 109: English reviews
Start your review of Acorn Guest House
 Click to rate
Scotland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Have stayed here more than once. Always made to feel very welcome. It is within walking distance of the city centre, the river or Eden Court Theatre, about 10 minutes. The rooms are lovely, clean and beds are comfortable. Breakfast is always very nice. Will be back again some time.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PaulaScot
Dugie C, Owner at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Paula, thank you for your response you know that you will always get a warm welcome here at Acorn House fro m Fiona and I and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Reviewed 28 December 2016

My husband and I stayed at the Acorn Guest House for two nights this past November and absolutely LOVED our stay. As we were there for our honeymoon, Dugie and Fiona surprised us with a bottle of champagne for us to enjoy during our stay. Everything was clean, comfortable, and convenient while we were there and the breakfast was delicious!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth D
Dugie C, Owner at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review

Fiona AND I ARE GLAD YOU ENJOYED YOUR STAY WITH US, AND WE LOOK FORWARD TO WELCOMING YOU BACK TO Acorn House where you are assured of a very pleasant stay with us, Wishing you many happy years together

Carlisle, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 October 2016

A most enjoyable stay. This was not our first stay at Acorn House and it will not be our last. It has a very homely atmosphere and nothing is too much trouble to the hosts Dougie & Fiona. The rooms are a good size and extremely clean. There are lots of little extras included which you don't normally find in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
Dugie C, Owner at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review

we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us at Acorn House and we look forward to welcoming you back.

Poulsbo, Washington
Reviewed 19 October 2016

We enjoyed the homey hospitality and the ability to walk from the Acorn Guest House to town. We also enjoyed Dugie's help in setting us up in a neighboring Guest House when we couldn't stay at the Acorn Guest House at the beginning of our North Coast journey.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank huckleberryhans
Dugie C, Owner at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind comments, we were glad to be of assistance in making your stay in Inverness an enjoyable one.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 1 October 2016

We stayed here at the recommendation of a friend, and were not disappointed. The house is owned by proud Scots as shown in the decoration scheme which is tartan. The breakfast room is spacious with some tables overlooking the drive way and garden. Breakfast is generous and cooked to your specification. The bedrooms are upstairs and all are ensuite, ours...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank karamarr
Dugie C, Owner at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay here at Acorn House and we look forward to welcoming yourselves and of course any of your friends as you know the welcome here is always a pleasant one. We do hope that you had a great Holiday. All Our Best wishes Dugie

Gaildorf, Germany
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Just one night, but a wonderful one ! The room excellent with all you need, the bathroom was ok, only the shower was a bit weak. It is not far to walk into the city centre, but calm. The breakfast was rich and very good. The breakfast room was traditional and very fine to look at. The hosts were very...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank wallace1813
Dugie C, Owner at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Acorn House, and we look forward to welcoming you back, each year we update and improve the rooms etc, Please tell your friends about Acorn House. Many Thanks Dugie

Therwil
Reviewed 8 September 2016

The Acorn Guest House is situated in a central but quiet location in Inverness (5 min on foot to pedestrian zone, major shopping areas, and the river Ness). Extremely friendly hosts make you feel welcome from the start and show you to your luxurious rooms. The rooms are equipped with everything you could dream of, including very nice beds, wardrobes,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melittasp
Benicia, California
Reviewed 8 September 2016

Loved this BB, The Hosts were lovely. Bruce made us laugh a lot. The room was very spacious. The house had a lovely living room. Breakfast was wonderful. The location was so close to town we could walk. Lovely property.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank pjsbarb
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 August 2016

I agree totally with a previous review. I would class this as good and would give it 3.5 out of 5. I have had friendlier welcomes. The room we stayed in was fine - no complaints. The breakfast was traditional and was made to order. This was the best part. Personally, I wouldn't stay here again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mark N
wolverhampton
Reviewed 21 May 2016

If I could I'd give 3.5 stars rather than 4, as 'Average / 3' seems unfair, but I wouldn't really say 'Very good' - 'Good' would be better. There's nothing really wrong, but it could also do better. The good points - check in from noon is appreciated, although as we'd had a days walking we didn't get there until...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank fillyk
acorn-house, Owner at Acorn Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Fillyk, Thank you for your review, I agree that we are unable to keep 100% of our clients happy 100% of the time and that your mention of décor is not to your taste However every room in Acorn House is different and we as you say take dogs. You mention Kippers well they can smell the house out...

40 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (19)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.4 km away
Eskdale Guest House
Eskdale Guest House
#46 of 246 in Inverness
103 reviews
0.4 km away
Abermar Guest House
Abermar Guest House
#36 of 246 in Inverness
160 reviews
0.1 km away
Craignay Guest House
Craignay Guest House
#70 of 246 in Inverness
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Corran Guest House
Corran Guest House
#9 of 246 in Inverness
235 reviews
0.8 km away
Avalon Guest House
Avalon Guest House
#22 of 246 in Inverness
771 reviews
0.3 km away
Glasdair House
Glasdair House
#42 of 246 in Inverness
61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Acorn House is the family home of Dugie and Fiona Cameron. It is known for its highland hospitality. The ambiance throughout is of a Scottish theme. There are six en-suite rooms some have four poster beds and are all equipped with hospitality trays, TV and we have just installed "wireless" so our guests can be online for business or pleasure. There is a residents' private lounge and private of street car parking. We also have a hot tub and steam room for which there is an additional charge ... more   less 

Additional Information about Acorn Guest House

Address: 2A Bruce Gardens, Inverness IV3 5EN, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range: RM364 - RM448 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Acorn Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Acorn Guest House Inverness, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Acorn Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all rooms on one floor”
pjsbarb, 7 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Could not say”
MarkN257, 15 Aug 2016 | Read review
“used most of them over the years all good”
Inverdoll, 19 Mar 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are on the first floor.”
Harpur9, 9 Nov 2015 | Read review
“All rooms in this guest house appear to be on the second floor, therefore it would not be suitable to guests who cannot handle stairs.”
Wonkyknees, 29 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5