We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Highland Backpackers Inverness

Booking.comUS$9
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$35*
US$9*
Great Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Highland Backpackers Inverness
See the most recent reviews
Columbus, Ohio
Reviewed 22 September 2015

Pros: there was a bed, 3 toilets with a sink, and 3 shower rooms on my floor. No signs directing you where to park, staff had a "whatever" attitude, 2 out of 3 toilets used were difficult to flush after going #1, toilet rooms and shower room VERY dirty with black mildew/mold. Kitchen was crowded, dark, and dirty. Holes in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank middlechildsyndr0me
InvernessHostel, Receptionist at Highland Backpackers Inverness, responded to this review

Dear guest, You see me very sorry to hear that you had your worst experience at our hostel. Thank you for your review, we take all of them very seriously as we are a new team in the process of improving many things here. As a matter of fact, a lot has changed in the last week. We got new...

Reviewed 2 September 2015

My group of four had booked a private four-bed room far in advance and when we showed up they said they didn't have it and we'd be put into the staff bedroom. The staff bedroom did not have a key and different people (staff members and friends of staff members) were constantly in and out of the room and sleeping...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Liz J
Oviedo, Spain
Reviewed 26 August 2015 via mobile

The fire alarm set off at 5 am and a man, supposedly the manager although he failed to mention that, decided to get into our room to check something that he didn't even bother to explain, he tried to put the blame on us and then he said it was a false alarm and didn't apologise. There were just two...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rubostio
Reviewed 9 July 2015 via mobile

yuk! Disgusting doesn't even begin to describe this hostel! To begin with, the halls have a strange smell but thankfully the room did not have such a strong smell. When we got into our room we almost cried of how disgustingly dirty it looked. The comforter and mattress has so many brown stains that I barely wanted to touch them!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrea A
InvernessHostel, Manager at Highland Backpackers Inverness, responded to this review

Hi, If you had a problem with the room we would happily have given you a refund or at least tried to move you. However, why you felt the need to remove all the bedclothes from the bed to try and give the impression of uncleanliness is quite extreme. We replace our mattresses as much as any other hostel does....

Reviewed 1 July 2015 via mobile

Do not make the same mistake I did and stay here! This hostel was the low point of my trip! It was disgusting. I was scared to touch anything. THEY DO NOT CHANGE THE SHEETS BETWEEN EACH GUEST!! They will likely comment on this and say they do but from my experience they don't! I know because I checked to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Travellinginmy20s
InvernessHostel, Manager at Highland Backpackers Inverness, responded to this review

Your two reviews are very worrying, though it seems that you are trying beyond normal circumstances to try and stop people from visiting with several extreme reviews. We DO change bed sheets and clean rooms every morning. I know because we get a laundry bill every two days for the laundry that we send them to be cleaned. Most people...

Lucerne, Switzerland
Reviewed 18 June 2015 via mobile

Right after me and my friend checked in and went to see our room we decided to not stay there for any longer. The room was just disgusting. There was hair on the pillow and the bed, dust on the floor and the lockers didn't work either. At least we got our money back. What struck us most was the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gina B
InvernessHostel, Manager at Highland Backpackers Inverness, responded to this review

First, we apologise for your experience at the hostel- we find that most people do enjoy their stay. We very rarely have cleanliness problems with the beds and will look into the matter with our laundry company. As for the room itself, most guests find it acceptable, however whatever problems there are we will be renovating as soon as we...

Munich, Germany
Reviewed 17 June 2015

I will only say that I loved it! I loved the place since it's pretty affordable for the great location directly beside the bus station. From there you only have to walk about 5 minutes into the city centre. The staff were great and I had an great time

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bastian S
Reviewed 31 May 2015 via mobile

Great spot very helpful and friendly staff comfy beds the area and scenery were beautiful great lakes and happy times all round.clean and would very much like to return . Top notch thanks guys ;-) ★★★★★

 Report
Helpful?
Thank yrred
Reviewed 19 May 2015

I've extended my stay at Inverness tourist hostel staff were all very welcoming and happy to advise on local pubs and restaurants,very clean and spacious rooms with comfortable beds big TV lounge and kitchen would highly recommend it great rates in friendly surroundings

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Michael k
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 May 2015

The hostel is clean and the staff are helpful. Unfortunately, it is also small, cramped and crowded. The rooms and beds are tiny; the kitchen has queues for facility use and even seating. It's located centrally in Inverness, which is good, but there is nowhere secure to store bicycles.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laurence F

31 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Inverness hotels
0.1 km away
pentahotel Inverness
pentahotel Inverness
#22 of 34 in Inverness
1,164 reviews
0.9 km away
Inverness Youth Hostel
Inverness Youth Hostel
#16 of 43 in Inverness
148 reviews
0.2 km away
No photo provided
Black Isle Rooms
#29 of 43 in Inverness
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Inverness Hostel
Inverness Hostel
#37 of 43 in Inverness
64 reviews
14.9 km away
Camping Pod Heaven
Camping Pod Heaven
#2 of 4 in Abriachan
37 reviews
0.2 km away
King's Highway
King's Highway
#32 of 229 in Inverness
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Being THE closest to the train and bus stations (check the map if you don’t believe us!), only 5 mins walk from the heart of Inverness and next to a free overnight parking, we offer by far the best location. With a fully equipped kitchen offering free tea/coffee/milk/sugar and storage room for food, a spacious and comfy lounge with a guitar and a piano for your use, free wifi, a complete daily cleaning, freshly cleaned sheets, informations about the area’s points of interest, weekly activities such as movie nights and pub crawls and one of the cheapest nightly rate in town, you can be sure that you’ll get most out of your money. You’ll find adaptors, hair dryer, iron, DVDs and video games at the front desk. Our best asset is our team; you will get to know the passionate live-in young backpackers who love this place like their own home. Our team even counts a Scottish tour guide, offering low cost day trips to the Isle of Skye or Loch Ness on his time off. If you’re looking for a laugh and a friendly atmosphere, don’t look any further! Inverness provides an excellent base to explore the Highlands and Islands of Scotland. The city has many attractions, including the museum and art gallery, Inverness castle (with the Castle Garrison Encounter Exhibition) and of course the legendary Loch Ness Monster around the corner! Inverness is also home to some of the best award winning live music bars in Scotland and also restaurants providing amazing food and value.For all you Outlander fans, Culloden Battlefield and the Clava Cairns (inspiration for Craigh na Dun) are a short bus ride away. There are also many tours offered by various companies that explore Inverness, Loch Ness, Glen Affric and many other places of interest. Find more informations at reception. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Highland Backpackers Inverness

Address: 24 Rose Street, Inverness IV1 1NQ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Inverness
Price Range: RM68 - RM225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Highland Backpackers Inverness 2*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Agoda so you can book your Highland Backpackers Inverness reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Highland Backpackers Inverness Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Highland Backpackers Inverness staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Kitchener, Canada

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Highland Backpackers Inverness staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“there's nowhere to go, every room will be noise.”
Rafa_Guetti, 20 Jan 2016 | Read review
“Not sure if a lower floor would be any quieter, but worth a shot. Seagulls on the roof are so noisy”
862rebeccam862, 11 Jan 2016 | Read review
“in the 10 beds dorm I slept in, top beds had no access at all to plugs - and the ones in the room are very few.”
dandilion_fra, 27 Jan 2015 | Read review
“Don't annoy the angry English girl at reception!”
113StevenJ, 7 Apr 2014 | Read review
“Remember the code to get in afterhours ...”
CaptUnmeshD, 15 Dec 2013 | Read review
5 of 5
Booking.com
US$9* /night
View Deal
Travelocity
Priceline
Hostelworld.comUS$35
View all 8 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates