We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Imperial Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Imperial Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel_streamline","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel_streamline__widget","dust":{}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

646 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Imperial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 576: English reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

Very dated, toilet didn't flush very well, shower temperature was burning hot to freezing cold and back again in a matter of seconds, room was so small that we had to bring in the mattress from my mother and father-in-law's room so that there was enough space for the four of us, because they told us the fold out bed...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Sarah O
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for submitting your concern with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial hotel and we offer you our sincere apologies that we couldn't meet your expectations. We strive in providing best possible services to each of our guests so that they can enjoy their stay at our establishments we have taken your observations...

Reviewed 23 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 1 night and it was "fair" the hotel could definelty do with a refurb! Our room was directly on the main front of Fort William which did get a bit noisy but i'm a heavy sleeper so not an issue for me but could be for some. No lift either but staff did offer to help...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Will W
Staines
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Stayed one night after a weeks' hard sailing in the Atlantic and the boat was quieter! Teeny tiny room with a view of a wall! The pub next door has an amazing cover band playing on stage and I can sing along word for word as it's loud and crystal clear. Can also hear other hotel occupants 😳 Oh the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AuntietoGabbyandAlex
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay at our hotel. We apologise that your experience was not to your expectations on this first occasion that you chose to stay with us. We are pleased to advise that since your stay, we have considerably improved on the matters you have referred to...

Darlington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel was poor value for money, 2 people for 3 nights @£400 you expect more than what we got. The "Double" bed was actually a three quarter and not comfortable. The loch view was from a tiny window in the corner of the room which was broken and could not be closed or open fully. Traffic noise was terrible...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul A
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay at our hotel. We apologise that your experience was not to your expectations on this first occasion that you chose to stay with us. We are pleased to advise that since your stay, we have considerably improved on the matters you have referred to...

Blackpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 20 June 2014

hard bed smallroom with a view of a wall over priced! Your paying for the location breakfast was ok, evening meal expensive for what you got, no lift and lots of stairs friendly staff was its only good point better nights sleep at a premier inn

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mayan65
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Many thanks for taking the time to provide your comments following your stay at our hotel. We apologise that your experience was not to your expectations on this first occasion that you chose to stay with us. We are pleased to advise that since your stay, we have considerably improved on the matters you have referred to...

Huntsville, Alabama
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The window opens to kitchen exhaust and we got the smell of curry all night. Otherwise room is clean and has a good size of standing shower. The mattress is extremely poor quality and that's where they have failed my expectations. It was hard to sleep on a 5" mattress. Breakfast was good. Hot breakfast is prepared upon order. Location...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank shefpat
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for submitting your concern with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial hotel and we offer you our sincere apologies that we couldn't meet your expectations. We strive in providing best possible services to each of our guests so that they can enjoy their stay at our establishments we have taken your observations into...

Helsinki
Reviewed 14 June 2014

I would say that this is not a bad hotel, but there is nothing special about it, and it seems difficult to recommend it. Nicely located if you are travelling by train was the most postitive thing. The biggest disappointment was the breakfast, although we left the hotel at 7.30 am when only continental breakfast was available (without bread for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank HKTHelsinki
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for submitting your concern with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial hotel and we offer you our sincere apologies that we couldn't meet your expectations. We strive in providing best possible services to each of our guests so that they can enjoy their stay at our establishments we have taken your observations into...

notts, england
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed here last weekend whilst my husband completed the City to Summit Ironman and it really was an awful end to what had been a fantastic 4 days in Scotland. Upon arrival, I was shown to our room - had trouble getting through the door with the bags as there is a desk right inside and the room was...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank jaxf1
Imperial H, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for submitting your concern with regards to your recent stay at Best Western Imperial hotel and we offer you our sincere apologies that we couldn't meet your expectations. We strive in providing best possible services to each of our guests so that they can enjoy their stay at our establishments we have taken your observations into...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 June 2014

I stayed here on business for one night. My room was modern and very comfortable. I had a good night's sleep, save for being disturbed by passing traffic particularly in the morning. My room was towards the back of the hotel (not facing the Loch). I was sleeping with the window open, because it was warm enough to do so....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Stephen H
Linlithgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Typical clean hotel, other than the fact there are no lifts! Fine for me, but a real drawback if you are infirm. Staff were very helpful - advised that there were no lifts (I was on the 2nd floor) and offered to carry my luggage. The room TV has an unusual controller and it just kept telling me that there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Colin H

263 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (74)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (28)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (169)
Viewed
Imperial Room (42)
Viewed
Dining (51)
Viewed
The Hotel (76)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.6 km away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.3 km away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
916 reviews
0.6 km away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#15 of 21 in Fort William
214 reviews
3.2 km away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
612 reviews
4.5 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
The Imperial Restaurant
The Imperial Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British
Things to do
  • Tennis Court
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Concierge
  • Breakfast Available

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: Fraser Square, Fort William PH33 6DW, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Price Range: RM318 - RM861 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Fort William
Fort William Best Western
Imperial Hotel Fort William, Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Imperial Hotel staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Elgin, Scotland, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Imperial Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“try to get a room towards the rear of the hotel and avoid the pub and A82 at the front”
 of 5 bubbles Penwhapple, 18 Jan 2017 | Read review
“If possible up grade but I would have been as happy in standard room”
 of 5 bubbles tartanterrior, 2 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Give this hotel a miss is you want a good night sleep”
 of 5 bubbles andyvaledecorators, 1 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Don't choose Room 10 unless your'e a smoker !”
 of 5 bubbles 484russellb, 15 Dec 2016 | Read review
“Room 40 faced the Loch but also the road”
 of 5 bubbles 615bobc, 30 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay