We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Newton Muthu Hotel

TravelocityUS$113*
View Deal
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
US$116*
US$113*
US$116*
US$113*
US$116*
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Professional photos
Newton Muthu Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

844 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 793: English reviews
Start your review of Newton Muthu Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 6 days ago NEWvia mobile

Once we booked in and given our room number and key we proceeded to go to our room on route everything looked clean with lovely staff until we went into our room which we paid an extra £60 just to get a walk in shower for me,the curtains were ripped the bed base was ripped and filthy the floor tiles...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gloria B
Murray M, General Manager at Newton Muthu Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for placing a review on trip advisor. I am disappointed that you found issues with the room you were allocated.We are currently as advised in many of my replies updating bedrooms and replacing beds, televisions and fabrics where necessary. This will take us a few months to fully complete, but we are working hard to make improvements to...

Escondido,Ca
Reviewed 1 week ago

This place must have 2 classes of rooms, is the only thing I can tell. You don't want room 204. Shower didn't have enough pressure to even get you wet, and it had an old TV, on the floor. Couldn't see it from the bed. Staff was nice, but this place needs updating, bad. Looking through the other peoples photos...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IHeel
Murray M, General Manager at Newton Muthu Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review on trip advisor. I am sorry that you did not like your room. The shower pressure is usually very good throughout the hotel, but we will certainly have the shower looked at given your feedback on the pressure. As I have advised on many reviews we have recently been taken over and are in...

lochcarron
Reviewed 1 week ago

The kids treated us to a 2 night break in an executive double with champers & posh chocs. The room was really good and spacious, the staff we met were exceptional - polite & efficient. Breakfasts offered plenty of choice and were very enjoyable. Dinner was a bit disappointing - just a 3 course table d`hote for a steep £29...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonywilki
Murray M, General Manager at Newton Muthu Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for placing a review on tripadvisor. The menu changes daily and I would apologise that you were presented with the same menu.This was changed as soon as we became aware of this. We currently offer six main course choices in the Ellis Restaurant and eleven in Chaplins restaurant.We are currently changing our menus as we move into the...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked hotel for one night after a trip to Loch Ness. Hotel looked amazing and updated from pictures. However, boy were we mistaken when we showed up to our room. Room was outdated by about 40 years. Old stained carpet, peeling paint from walls, toilet flushed and made a loud whistling sound that would last 20 minutes before finally stopping,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tim O
Murray M, General Manager at Newton Muthu Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review on trip advisor. We were disappointed that you did not enjoy recent stay with us . The room allocated to you was in the older part of the building.On visiting the room I did not find issue with the condition of carpet or the paintwork, but would acknowledge that the rooms have a older...

UK
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I visit Nairn every 6-8 weeks to visit my elderly father and have just been told that pets are no longer allowed. I have stayed at the Newton many many times over the last 5 years and I'm extremely disappointed that management have made this decision. When we've stayed, there have been many people with pets and I feel this...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Britishtourists
Murray M, General Manager at Newton Muthu Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting your feedback on trip advisor As you as aware we have now changed policy and are no longer accepting new reservations for guests with dogs at the hotel. We are now under new ownership,and are in the process of improving some of our standard rooms.This is the room type we allocated to guests with dogs,we did...

Buckie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Have visited before and stayed in main hotel however only annexe available . Was presently surprised when the receptionist escorted to a refurbished old stealing. Room was spacious and modern . Had a DBB deal food was hot and nicely presented very attentive restaurant staff. Good view of sunsets from lounge . I enjoy the location very private we walked...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Janey T
Murray M, General Manager at Newton Muthu Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review on trip advisor. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and for your kind comments on the food and restaurant staff. Pleased that you had a relaxing weekend Best Wishes Murray McPhee General Manager

Perth and Kinross, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This lovely old-fashioned hotel standing in massive grounds on the edge of Nairn golf course has changed its policy and will no longer accept bookings from visitors with dogs. A great pity as it was in an ideal location with a huge lawn outside and it had good food and service. A pity for the hotel's turnover as well! There...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank GrampianScotland
Murray M, General Manager at Newton Muthu Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for placing a review on trip advisor. As you as aware we have now changed the policy and are no longer accepting new reservations for guests with dogs at the hotel. We are now under new ownership and we are in the process of improving some of the accommodation in the older part of the building.We are sure...

Inverness, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Beautifully presented Champagne Tea for 4 people by a friendly young waiter. Coffee, variety of sandwiches and delicious cakes, scones, jams and clotted cream with a very tasty bottle of champagne. There was a wedding on which was delightful as there was a piper playing and it just added to the ambience. Very relaxing and a most enjoyable experience sitting...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Sherrel H
Murray M, General Manager at Newton Muthu Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review on trip advisor Afternoon teas are very popular at the hotel and we were delighted that you enjoyed your day with us. Kind Regards Murray McPhee General Manager

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The only thing that reduced the overall experience of this hotel was the room I stayed in. I can only comment on the room I had as it wasn't one that appeared on the website. My room was very dated and in need of a refresh, I personally wouldn't have paid to stay in this room but my bill had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Darren H
Murray M, General Manager at Newton Muthu Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review on trip advisor. We are currently working through a small number of rooms to make improvements and take your comments on board regarding the room you were allocated. We are pleased that you felt the food and service was to a good standard and hope to welcome you back in the near future. Kind...

Nairn, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Sunday lunch for 6 adults and two children at the Newton, sadly disappointing. One starter arrived which wasn't even on the Menu, we had to ask for the oatcakes missing from the others and the Children's starter. which was supposed to be vegetables and cheese turned out to be 2 Babybel cheeses cut in half and a few Carrot batons....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Ruth M
Murray M, General Manager at Newton Muthu Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for posting a review on trip advisor I was very disappointed to hear that you did not enjoy lunch at the hotel. We will review this with the kitchen and waiting staff to identify in more detail the issues you have raised. The potatoes would normally be oven roasted and the Yorkshire puddings are usually very good in...

355 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (346)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (50)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (124)
Viewed
View from Room (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (137)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Nairn
0.4 km away
Golf View Hotel & Spa
0.5 km away
Invernairne Hotel
Invernairne Hotel
#1 of 9 in Nairn
278 reviews
0.2 km away
The Clubhouse Hotel
The Clubhouse Hotel
#7 of 9 in Nairn
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Braeval Hotel
Braeval Hotel
#4 of 9 in Nairn
384 reviews
18.3 km away
Culloden House
Culloden House
#1 of 34 in Inverness
533 reviews
23.0 km away
Kingsmills Hotel
Kingsmills Hotel
#8 of 34 in Inverness
1,650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A delightful area in the Highlands of Scotland, the hospitality of the town is matched by the welcome that awaits guests at the Newton. Standing in 21 acres of mature parkland and gardens, yet close to the Highland Capital of Inverness, is the Newton Hotel. There are 63 en suite bedrooms and the hotel has a comfortable environment in which guests can relax. The hotel is only a 10-minute drive from Inverness Airport and within easy road and rail links, making it very accessible whichever way you choose to travel. The area hosts a wealth of attractions including the Malt Whisky Trail, Elgin Cathedral, Loch Ness, Cawdor Castle, Culloden Battlefield, the delights of Inverness or Nairn and the famous Moray Firth Dolphins. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Newton Muthu Hotel

Address: Inverness Road, Nairn IV12 4RX, Scotland (Formerly Newton Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Nairn
Price Range: RM445 - RM952 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Newton Muthu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 63
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Newton Muthu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton Hotel And Highland Nairn
Newton Hotel Nairn
Hotel Style:
#2 Luxury Hotel in Nairn
#6 Family Hotel in Nairn
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nairn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Newton Muthu Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Newton Muthu Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Stay away from 204”
IHeel, 15 May 2017 | Read review
“Go for an "executive" double”
tonywilki, 14 May 2017 | Read review
“Request a room in new wing of hotel”
GrampianScotland, 5 May 2017 | Read review
“room with sea view”
robertaX9702MC, 5 Apr 2017 | Read review
“If you can upgrade ask for the superior rooms.”
scootaboot67, 27 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Travelocity
US$113* /night
View Deal
Orbitz.comUS$113
Booking.comUS$116
Hotwire.comUS$113
View all 12 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates