We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Sunninghill Hotel

Show Prices
#4 of 7 Hotels in Elgin
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Sunninghill Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

91 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Sunninghill Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 82: English reviews
Faber, Virginia
Reviewed 3 November 2014

In town on business and used as a base to work in various parts of northeast Scotland. Staff was pleasant and helpful. Rooms were clean and efficient. Breakfast was pleasant as was the entirety of the hotel restaurant and bar. Close walking distance to the City's center and several restaurants and shops. Wifi is a bit slow but this may...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope we can be of service to you again in the future.

Airdrie, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 September 2014 via mobile

I've had the pleasure of staying at the Sunninghill hotel with my husband while he's been working in the area . The hotel itself is very nice and the owners have managed to integrate a modern , clean ( immaculate ) and comfortable environment along with retaining the character of the 'old' building ... Lots of lovely features like the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happycruzer
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your excellent. I aml very glad you enjoyed your stay and food with us. I shall pass on your comments to the staff who do try very hard to make guests feel welcome and it is always encouraging when we receive positive feedback. Thank you again. Winnie Ross

Arlington, Virginia
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Our room was spacious and very comfortable. Our only problem for our one night stay was our wifi connection. We could not get an internet connection in our room even after the staff tried to help. Worked fine in the restaurant. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Hilary T
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and we are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We know there is poor service in some areas with our WIFI and this Tuesday we are getting new access points installed which hopefully will solve the problem. Enjoy the rest of your trip to Scotland.

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Lovely hotel, rooms well decorated and cosy. The restaurant menu was extensive, with lots of variety and reasonable prices. The staff were all very friendly and helpful, and the bar staff certainly know their whisky!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank GatesheadSpireite
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and hopefully may welcome you back again in the future. I shall pass on your remarks to the staff who always appreciate positive feedback.

Reviewed 16 August 2014

We had both been at this hotel for meals and family events in the past and on every occasion the food had been spot on so it was an easy decision for us to have our wedding reception (42 guests approx) here. Everything was perfect. Fantastic and plentiful food, and good choice of menu, hot plates (mother of the bride...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Marion M
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are all very pleased you enjoyed your special day with us. It is always encouraging for our staff to get good positive feedback. I do hope we can welcome you again and all the best for your future together.

Bridgend, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I was recently working at Lossiemouth and was booked into this Hotel by my company, I have found many of the Hotels seem to suffer a lack of water pressure with the result that you have to work hard to get a decent shower so I was pleasantly surprised when I booked in to the Sunninghill to find a half...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Typhoon P
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I shall pass on your remarks to the staff who always appreciate some positive feedback. I do hope we can be of service to you in the future and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed at Sunninghill during a 3 day visit to Elgin and surrounds to explore family history. It was a very comfortable stay in an older but updated and clean venue. The restaurant downstairs was good, if a bit more expensive than I had expected for rural Scotland. The staff were helpful. I would recommend it.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ruth F
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review and i am glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Although you found our menu slightly on the expensive side I hope you enjoyed your meals. We do try to use best quality local meat and fish which is more expensive. Hope we shall maybe see you again sometime in the future.

Elgin, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Again we choose the Sunninghill for a special night. You guys never fail us, the food was first class and the service genuine and sincere. Both of us had a real wonderful evening before we set of for our wedding and honeymoon. Big thank you to Polly.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank CFM1975
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review. I hope your wedding day day was everything you hoped for and more. Looking forward to seeing again.

Huntly, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This Hotel is a great find , we have never stayed here before but we have eating in their dinning room quite a few times with my husband and with family we did a surprise dinner for my parents golden anniversary and the staff went out of there way to be so helpful we will defenatly use this Hotel again,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank car-to-eat-out
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your very favourable review of our hotel. It is always good to know that our guests have enjoyed both the food and the accommodation. I shall make sure the staff see you comments. It is always a morale boost for them to know their efforts are appreciated. Thank you again and I hope we can...

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 February 2014

My family of 4 stayed here one night in rooms 17 and 19. Nice, comfortable rooms with large and comfy beds however an extra pillow would have been ideal. Decor was a little dated. The Hotel itself was smart and well maintained. The dining room and cocktail bar particularly good. Food was excellent. Both evening meal and breakfast were superb....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MrandMrsGrizwald
Wross1, Owner at Sunninghill Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your favourable review of our hotel. I shall pass on your kind comments to Margaret. She has been with us for 34 years and has been a great asset to us. I am sorry you did not find the extra pillows which are in the wardrobe in case guests require extra along with an extra bed cover....

15 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Elgin
1.9 km away
Premier Inn Elgin Hotel
0.6 km away
Laichmoray Hotel
Laichmoray Hotel
#2 of 7 in Elgin
252 reviews
0.7 km away
Mansion House
Mansion House
#3 of 7 in Elgin
343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Mansefield Hotel
1.2 km away
Eight Acres Hotel & Leisure Club
14.5 km away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#1 of 2 in Rothes
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
Food & drink at the hotel
Sunninghill Hotel
Sunninghill Hotel
Cuisines: Bar, British, Scottish, European, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning

Additional Information about Sunninghill Hotel

Address: Hay Street, Elgin IV30 1NH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Moray > Elgin
Price Range: RM530 - RM703 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Sunninghill Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Elgin
#3 Business Hotel in Elgin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from Sunninghill Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Bungalow round the back is good if there are a number of people wanting to stay together.”
 of 5 bubbles ladydriver2015, 3 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Ask for a room in the original part of hotel”
 of 5 bubbles 783jac, 31 Mar 2016 | Read review
“Do not accept a chalet room.”
 of 5 bubbles GlasgowCross, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“Easy access, to hotel, great access to town or even heading out of Elgin”
 of 5 bubbles 466ca, 15 Sep 2015 | Read review
“No problems with any rooms!”
 of 5 bubbles NeilC240, 1 Sep 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay