We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Salutation Hotel

Show Prices
#4 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Professional photos
Salutation Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

901 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Salutation Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 880: English reviews
Stirling, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2016

We chose the Salutation Hotel for convenient overnight accommodation close to Perth Concert hall. We had a warm welcome from reception on arrival and our room (105), a recent refurb, was absolutely spotless with quality shower, fittings and linens. There was some faint overnight noise from I think an air-con unit however I am a chronically bad sleeper and so... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jenne M
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words on your recent stay with us in the salutation. I am exceedingly happy to see that you had such a wonderful stay, our staff are all brilliant and aim to provide great customer service! I am happy to see that you found the room, devoid of noise from the street and the room was... More 

Fife, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 2 March 2016

Warm welcome on arrival. Was out for a works night out, on return bar was busy and vibrant so sat and mingled with some other guests. Breakfast was really good, not mundane at all. Fresh, hot and the haggis is absolutely brilliant

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank georgerH6181QZ
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words about your recent stay with us. I am exceedingly happy to see that you thoroughly enjoyed your time here, with particular attention to the atmosphere and the food. I am glad to see that you found our breakfast to be really good, fresh, hot and the haggis was brilliant. i hope you will return... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2016

Stayed in the Salutation for one night (B & B) as it was handy for the Perth Concert Hall. Major work being done on the outside (scaffolding at front) so hotel may prove hard to find for some people. Friendly welcome, fast check-in. Room a reasonable size for being a superior single, furnishings all basic, bed quite narrow, bathroom a... More 

Helpful?
Thank DDNB
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback. I am glad that you found our prime location for many of Perth's activities worthwhile and that you found the welcome warm. I am happy to see that you also liked the room's size, bathroom and cleanliness. I am very happy to see that you liked the food, especially... More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2016 via mobile

Went from bad to worse. DBB deal with treat of fizz! Wine undrinkable, food worse than inedible at dinner. Room smelt strongly of smoke on entering and furnishings and laundry imbued with a very strong smell of smoke which kept me awake all night. Bedroom basic, bathroom very basic with shower that washed the wall only at over hot temperature... More 

Helpful?
Thank Green1scotland
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to drop a few lines in about your recent stay. I am sorry to read that you did not enjoy any aspect of your stay with us. We do have many happy customers that enjoy our fizz, food, breakfast and bedroom facilities all at good value prices. We do out best to look after... More 

Strathaven, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2016

We stayed over after attending a Burns Night in the hotel. The room was clean and comfortable although being a very old building it is a bit of a rabbit warren & a bit shabby in places. However it has retained some attractive features. Staff were friendly & helpful. The meals were excellent. Dinner was served to approximately 200 at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alan S
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to send us your feedback from your stay with us. I am really happy to see that you found our rooms clean and comfortable and enjoyed the character we have managed to retain over the buildings 300 years. As part of our ongoing refurbishment we are trying to bring all parts of the hotel... More 

Aberdeen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2016

If you do not know Perth, you will more than likely pass by this hotel. At the moment it is covered in scaffolding and tarpaulins, nothing at all on the tarpaulins showing the hotels name. This caused us to have to drive round the one way system a few times before parking up and going on foot to check where... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tracey M
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 February 2016

Great central location near shops, concert hall and restaurants. Very comfortable room, comfortable bed fopr a great night's sleep, great en suite with bath, super breakfast- all that you could ever want for breakfast.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank pharpe_693933
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for spending time sending us your feedback. I am happy to see that you found our location good and that it was near everything you required. I am glad to see that you found the room to be comfortable and gave you a great nights sleep. I am also happy to see that you really liked the breakfast.... More 

Scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2016

The welcome was warm and friendly and the hotel was also warm notwithstanding the chilly weather. Our room was rather basic despite being classed as a "SUPERIOR" room with one upright chair and a dressing table stool and no armchair as such. The bathroom was reasonably modern and the water was warm enough. As always the hotel scores highly on... More 

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Selsdon1
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for sending us your feedback from your stay. I am glad to see that you found the hotel to be warm and friendly. I am sorry to hear that you didn't find your room to be "superior" a lot of our superior rooms have been refurbished and some more have been updated. I am glad to see that... More 

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 21 February 2016

first time we have stayed in salutation hotel, outside is going through a refurbishment but inside is very welcoming. room was spotless and breakfast was excellent. the staff were pleasant and helpful. we will certainly stay again

Helpful?
Thank Janet M
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback from your stay. I am very happy to see that you enjoyed your time with us, especially the breakfast and the fact the room was spotless. I am glad to see that you found the staff pleasant and helpful. I hope to see you back soon. Kind regards More 

Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2016

We arrived at the hotel on a wet,cold day to find the front of the hotel behind scaffolding and tarpaulins.We feared the worst,but how wrong were we.Once inside,we were greeted warmly by the well dressed,freindly staff and a log fire.The hotel is lovely and dates back to 1600.We parked in the multi storey at the rear of the hotel,free after... More 

Helpful?
Thank David P
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words about your recent stay with us. I am glad to see that you were pleasantly surprised when you were warmly welcomed by the staff and a log fire. The hotel is 317 years old and we have tried to retain as much character as we could while bringing it up to date. I am... More 

97 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (55)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.0 km away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
0.4 km away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
579 reviews
0.5 km away
New County Hotel
New County Hotel
#12 of 18 in Perth
708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#15 of 18 in Perth
820 reviews
3.2 km away
Holiday Inn Express Perth
5.1 km away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#3 of 18 in Perth
809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Salutation Hotel

Address: 34 South Street, Perth PH2 8PH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Price Range: RM298 - RM651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salutation Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Salutation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salutation Hotel Perth, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Perth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#6 Family Hotel in Perth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Salutation Hotel staff and other travellers.
10 questions
Ask a question
Glenrothes
stevenston
Fort William, United Kingdom
Glasgow, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (10)

Questions? Get answers from Salutation Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a superior room”
  • Room 20 where Bonnie Prince Charlie had meetings in 1745
  • Room 20 where Bonnie Prince Charlie had meetings in 1745
  • Room 20 where Bonnie Prince Charlie had meetings in 1745
 of 5 bubbles jazzythistle, 27 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the superior bedrooms.”
 of 5 bubbles 891georgek, 25 Nov 2016 | Read review
“The lift does not reach some rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Alec513, 14 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Our room was located to the rear of the hotel on the third floor, it was quiet,but the walls are rather thin......”
 of 5 bubbles banavie, 13 Nov 2016 | Read review
“Enjoy the room it'' very cosy.”
 of 5 bubbles , 2 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay