We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Salutation Hotel

Show Prices
#4 of 18 Hotels in Perth
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Professional photos
Salutation Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

928 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Salutation Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 907: English reviews
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 April 2016 via mobile

We came upon the hotel after parking for a wee shopping visit to Perth. I was starving so persuaded my wife to try out a lunch deal. A two course meal was under £9.00 and soup and toastie was under £6.00 so in we went. The hotel was warm and busy even at 12 o' clock! The staff were great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank charles m
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent bar lunch in the hotel. I am glad to see that you found us to be affordable our food to be cooked to a high standard. I am also happy to see that you found the staff to be great. I look forward to seeing you back with us for...

College Station, Texas
Reviewed 16 April 2016

Took a group to tour Scotland in April 2016. We stayed here three nights and drove to Edinburgh, St. Andrews, & then on to Aberdeen. The hotel boasts it's the oldest continuously operating hotel in Scotland, but it has been well cared for in the past 300 years. Our folks all had good rooms and the food in the restaurant...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taildragger-J3
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words towards your recent stay with us. I am really glad to see that you found the hotel to be well cared for and the rooms to be good. I am also really happy to see that the food was to your liking and the service was top notch. I do hope you will return...

Reviewed 15 April 2016

Pleasant hotel, well furnished with polite, efficient and helpful staff. Room was very good, mattress a bit hard but that could just be me. Stayed in superior room with lovely additional touches. Fabulous choice for breakfast. Will definitely return.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sharon S
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind words about your stay. I am really happy to see that you found the staff to be really polite, efficient and helpful. I am also glad to see that you found the room to be clean and spacious. I am also happy to see that you found the breakfast to be to your liking. I...

Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 April 2016

Suited us very well Pleasant staff generally, but bar and breakfast staff were superb.Good spacious room but view left a lot to be desired.Will use again when in the area,as it is very central for town centre.Only drawback is lack of parking connected to Hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank gchris_124937
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for sending us your feedback from your stay with us. I am really happy to see that you found the staff superb. I am also glad to see that you found the room to be spacious and good. I do hope you will return to stay with us again soon Kind regards.

Reviewed 13 April 2016 via mobile

Had a meeting at the hotel which I booked thought our travel company. The hotel doesn't have any parking which to be fair I should have checked prior to booking. The staff were very friendly and polite. They charged £60 for the use of a projector which a bit over the top. The "buffet" lunch was really poor, some strange...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sy1441
SallyGM, General Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to jot down a few lines about your recent meeting. I am pleased to read you found the staff friendly and polite and the meeting room decent. I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy the strips of pork with apple in a creamy arran mustard sauce or the fillet of hake,...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Rooms are not easy to find as this is a very old hotel with passages everywhere. The staff were excellenT. We had to leave early one morning and it was no trouble to have our breakfast delivered to the room. Breakfast in the hotel was a stand out.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank jilly446
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback from your stay. I am happy to see that you found the staff to be excellent and the breakfast to be outstanding. I do hope you will return soon to enjoy our facilities more. Kind regards.

Scotland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 April 2016

I am at this hotel at least twice a year for line dancing weekends and the rooms and the staff are first class. I had on this occasion booked in to the hotel as I was an evening guest, the wedding was in the hotel both the ceremony and the meal, they have a lovely bridal suite and thou the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jane M
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words about your recent wedding trip to the hotel. I am really happy to see yourself and the party enjoyed themselves. Our staff are well trained to help you make the most of your events held with us. I look forward to you coming back as part of the line dancers again. Kind regards

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 9 April 2016

I stayed for 2 nights in April 2016 (Fri/Sat) the hotel is only a 10 minute walk from the rail station or a 4 minute trip in a taxi (I chose the taxi as the weather was not kind). Check in was extremely quick and I was in my room within 5 minutes. The room was on the second floor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank k8rew
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to send us your comments from your stay with us. I am happy to see that you found us very efficient, along with our staff being efficient and polite. I am very glad to see that you found the room a good size along with being very clean and comfortable. I am also happy...

Preston, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 April 2016 via mobile

The salutation hotel is situated in Perth town centre, great location but no parking there is nearby pay and display and parking is free after 6pm until 8am the next day, free all day Sunday. Very homely, great staff make you feel welcome, great food and very clean, the hotel even made up little goody bags for us as 2...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank michaelamarshall2232
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am really happy to see that you found the location a great asset to the hotel. I also am really happy to see that you found the hotel "homely", and the staff made you feel welcome along side great food and a high standard of cleanliness. I look...

Reviewed 6 April 2016

I stayed in a twin room which was a good size. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was a decent size and the shower was powerful enough. The breakfast had a great choice and was good quality. The staff were friendly and helpful. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again or recommend this hotel.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jimr0ss
SallyGM, Manager at Salutation Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to send us your feedback from your recent stay. I am glad to see that you enjoyed the room's size, the power of the shower, and the cleanliness. I am happy to see that you also loved the choice and good quality available at our buffet breakfast. I do hope to see you again...

100 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (16)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (42)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Perth hotels
0.0 km away
Premier Inn Perth City Centre Hotel
0.4 km away
Royal George Hotel
Royal George Hotel
#5 of 18 in Perth
589 reviews
0.6 km away
Mercure Perth Hotel
Mercure Perth Hotel
#15 of 18 in Perth
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
New County Hotel
New County Hotel
#12 of 18 in Perth
713 reviews
5.1 km away
Huntingtower Hotel
Huntingtower Hotel
#2 of 18 in Perth
835 reviews
0.8 km away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#18 of 18 in Perth
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities

Additional Information about Salutation Hotel

Address: 34 South Street, Perth PH2 8PH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Perth
Price Range: RM286 - RM621 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Salutation Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 84
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your Salutation Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salutation Hotel Perth, Scotland
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Perth
#6 Romantic Hotel in Perth
#6 Business Hotel in Perth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Salutation Hotel staff and other travellers.
12 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (12)

Questions? Get answers from Salutation Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Family room had 3 single beds”
 of 5 bubbles 123marjoryd456, 17 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Front rooms on 2nd and 3rd floors over look offices and shops. No blinds or nets at windows so lack of privacy.”
 of 5 bubbles C6162QZkarenb, 14 Jan 2017 | Read review
“We called in for afternoon tea”
 of 5 bubbles Travel_Teddybears, 6 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Quiet rooms are to the rear and sides. Front street facing can be noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles RR688, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
“A lot of the rooms have been upgraded”
 of 5 bubbles willowsend2014, 4 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay