We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Fernbank Guest House

PricelineUS$62*
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Professional photos
Fernbank Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Fernbank Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Showing 166: English reviews
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 October 2015

Stayed a couple of nights and were made to feel very welcome. Lovely breakfast. Excellent room on ground floor. Tastefully decorated and spacious. Really clean and comfortable. Good sized tv to watch while in bed (without the need of binoculars!) Beautiful bathroom. Managed to see a squint of Arran from between the houses opposite, and the lovely sunset. Nice and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ChristineMcGoldrick
airmanPrestwick, Owner at Fernbank Guest House, responded to this review

Christine, thank you for you review. Your kind and very supportive words really helped to make our day. We were particularly happy that you both felt welcomed, which for us is the prime consideration. Our motto is "Arrive as Guests--Depart as friends". We would be delighted to see you both in the future when you would qualify for our Returning...

Tsawwassen, British Columbia
Reviewed 15 October 2015

Excellent location. Great, friendly service. Clean and comfortable as it was 13 years ago when I was last here. David still has his entertaining personality. Linda was warm and friendly. Very tasty scottish breakfasts. Close to station and golf courses.

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 44elroy
airmanPrestwick, Owner at Fernbank Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Roy. Thank you for making the effort to write such a positive review. You're now TripAdvisor savvy. Linda and I enjoyed your visit as much as you did. Please send our warm regards to all the family back in Canada and don't leave it 13 years before your return. David

Paris, France
Reviewed 4 October 2015 via mobile

Very accommodating and friendly family run guest house. Excellent Scottish breakfast. Beautiful rooms with that quality hotel feel. Will definitely stay again should the occasion arise. Very close to Prestwick airport and a few minutes from the beach and numerous golf courses

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lynsay d
airmanPrestwick, Owner at Fernbank Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review Fernbank. Your very positive comments helped to make our day; smiles all round. We would love to see you again and look forward to your next visit. Please remember to book via our own site for the keenest price. Regards David

glasgow
Reviewed 25 September 2015

Went to the Fernbank Guest House for overnight stay and was very happy with it. David met us at the door and although we were early it was not a problem. On seeing that my wife had walking difficulties he apologised because we were on the second floor, but we were only in our room for five minutes when he...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank bluenose51
airmanPrestwick, Owner at Fernbank Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write your very positive review. I was more than happy to re-allocate the room given your wife's mobility issues. We're very happy that you enjoyed your stay and found everything clean and comfortable; our priorities (as well as the breakfast). Finally, if you visit us again and book through our site, you can...

Lochwinnoch, United Kingdom
Reviewed 24 September 2015

We have just returned from a very pleasant stay at Fernbank. On arrival we were very warmly welcomed by the owner David who showed us to our room. We stayed in the Deluxe double room which was very tastefully decorated and the ensuite bathroom was also very nice and spacious. The bed was extremely comfortable and we had a great...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank debbiemoore1963
airmanPrestwick, Owner at Fernbank Guest House, responded to this review

Debbie, thank you for posting your review. Not only were we both very taken with your comments, we were also delighted that you would choose to stay at Fernbank in the future. In that case, don't forget that we offer a 5% discount for returning guests when booked through our own site; just mention this in your comments. Regards David

Alyth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 19 September 2015

Last minute booking for my elderly in laws. Last room I imagine as they complained of traffic noise at the front of the property. Very welcoming host and a well kept and spotless property. In laws had to leave very early for airport so no breakfast was available or offered early and neither was a discount. Taxi was requested at...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
1Thank bluegaz
airmanPrestwick, Owner at Fernbank Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am glad your in-laws found the house to be clean and well kept, since this is a top priority for us. I note, and am a wee bit surprised by, your comments re traffic noise and no refund for breakfast not taken. If I have identified your booking correctly, the room used has full,...

Rome, Lazio, Italy
Reviewed 15 September 2015

As I said, it's the perfect place to spend a night in, specially if you land at Prestiwick International Airport. you can get there by taxi (£5) in just 3-5 minutes. Everything was really nice- the bourbon cookie near the kettle, the very comfortable bed, the cleanliness, the wonderful breakfast, I mean, just everything!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AlessiaM90
airmanPrestwick, Owner at Fernbank Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments about Fernbank.. We really do welcome all thoughts but, obviously, it is nice when they are as gracious as yours. Regards, David

lanarkshire scotland
Reviewed 9 September 2015 via mobile

Stayed here 6/6/15 and was very disappointed from the moment the unwelcoming owner opened the door. He told me that i had given him wrong debit card number, so had to sort payment out before i even saw the room, not a good start. The downstairs blue room was very small and had both a small double and single bed...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank midgetgem2
airmanPrestwick, Owner at Fernbank Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. You clearly did not enjoy your stay for which I am very disappointed. Unfortunately, given the 3 or so months since your stay, I am unable to respond to your specific points, particularly with regard to my own demeanour. If, however, I did appear grumpy or inappropriately flippant, I apologise....

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 31 August 2015

Third time I have stayed here and can not fault it one bit .stayed in room 7 this time and was absolutely stunning and spotless .Bathroom very large and again spotless .David and Linda are the perfect hosts and canny do enough for you .Continental breakfast and cooked breakfast available .Breakfast was lovely served in a lovely wee dining room....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank JEN f
airmanPrestwick, Owner at Fernbank Guest House, responded to this review

Jen f, thanks for your kind review and for your continuing visits. Again we are so happy when the rooms and service "hit the spot". We hope to see you both again in the near future. Yours Aye, David

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Reviewed 21 August 2015 via mobile

Great service and overall friendly atmosphere. Not far off from the beach & the bus station to Ayr town. The breakfast was tasty and fresh, just what you would expect of an English breakfast. Would highly recomend it for short stays (business trips f.ex.).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natalia S
airmanPrestwick, Owner at Fernbank Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your review. We loved having you and your friend stay and, of course, we wish you all the best for your upcoming course. Yours Aye, David

32 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (20)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestwick
0.6 km away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 6 in Prestwick
593 reviews
1.3 km away
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
#2 of 6 in Prestwick
645 reviews
3.4 km away
Premier Inn Ayr/Prestwick Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 km away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
2,020 reviews
0.7 km away
Golf View
Golf View
#2 of 17 in Prestwick
128 reviews
2.2 km away
The Beechwood Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersGold level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A great, family run Guest house just 1.5 Km from Prestwick Airport. All rooms have power shower/WC, freeview TV, free Superfast Wi-Fi and tea/coffee. Close to Prestwick's many excellent restaurants, bars and cafes and superbly placed for all Ayrshires great golf courses. Arrive as Guests - Depart as Friends. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Fernbank Guest House

Address: 213 Main Street, Prestwick KA9 1LH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Prestwick
Price Range: RM304 - RM456 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fernbank Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Fernbank Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Fernbank Guest House staff and other travellers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Fernbank Guest House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Our room was at the front on the main road but it was lovely and quiet”
susaneconroy55, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“2 min from train station”
Lynchie68, 12 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Number 8, downstairs next to the dining room, has a door that opens directly onto the garden patio.”
VaTravelers1088, 5 Oct 2016 | Read review
“great for golfers”
F2453QBpauls, 28 Jun 2016 | Read review
“Room with own entry was useful for me.”
L5103UYbrianf, 19 May 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Priceline
US$62* /night
View Deal
Booking.comUS$62
TripAdvisorUS$62
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates