We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Adamton Country House

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Adamton Country House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

785 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 776: English reviews
Start your review of Adamton Country House
 Click to rate
Cheshire uk
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We arrived home yesterday from a National Coach holiday tour to Loch Lomond and Ayrshire Coast. It was a delightful experience from start to finish. The main house is wonderful, kept beautifully and takes you back in time. We were given a warm welcome which extended the length of our visit. Staff are friendly, helpful professionals who "go out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dilys W
Peter D, Manager at Adamton Country House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind words. Margaret from reception & Ewen from maintenance are a great asset to the hotel and I'm pleased they have made you welcome in the hotel. Malcolm who was running the bingo is certainly a character and has been with me for 3 years now and is very much a great entertainer. Chris...

Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The hotel is in the process of being refurbished,and what has been done so far is to a decent standard,bedroom is very good the beds and furniture all are good and match.The carpets throughout the hotel are very good and are to the same pattern.The reception staff are very good and are keen to talk to you, on the other...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank arty18
Peter D, Manager at Adamton Country House, responded to this review

Dear guest, My apologies for your stay with us, however I'm somewhat confused by your comments. I'm always disappointed that you cant view your comments to either myself or another member of staff like the reception, instead of writing your comments as above. Peter Dodds

Yorkshire
Reviewed 1 week ago

We just had a 4 days break with national holidays and were very pleasantly surprised bearing in mind price paid. Staff were really nice, food was fine not major choice but hot and we were happy overall. Lovely place modern room fine, the old part was beautiful and grounds lovely. Entertainment on Monday and Wednesday was really great although not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank melthampair
Peter D, Manager at Adamton Country House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your comments during your stay with us. I will inform Chris who is a regular driver here at the Adamton of your comments. Peter Dodds

hartlepool
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our room was ok very clean towels and changed daily the staff are not that friendly the barman just does not talk to customers and the bar shuts at 11.00 pm on the dot the night manager was the only one that was friendly to me the hotel is very remote but we new that before we booked it The...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lexy12
Peter D, Manager at Adamton Country House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm somewhat confused on your comments as the remaining part of your group have enjoyed their stay along with the menu choices that were on offer. I appreciate that sometimes the menu is not always to everyone's satisfaction, however I can assure you all food is well cooked and temperature checks are taken before it is served to...

North East
Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed for a 4 day break with National Holidays,and because it was such a bargain we didn't expect 5* cuisine,but neither did we expect the food to be -1*. Both dinner and breakfast were buffet meals with minimal choice for both.I could go on at great length,but will just single out the diabolical cheap,nasty bacon at breakfast.It looked as...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Lambchopski
Peter D, Manager at Adamton Country House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, My apologies if you didn't enjoy your stay with us, however if you don't bring this to the staff's attention whilst staying in the hotel, we are unable to correct our mistakes. From the numerous comment cards left during your 3 day stay with us we did mot have one complaint about the food or anything else. Peter...

Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Hotel and staff were nice. Rooms comfortable. Entertainment at night was good. Dinner on Sunday night however was appalling. Food was all overcooked and dried up. Complained to staff - as did rest of the group Were told there was no manager or deputy manager on. Worst food we have been served and have been in many hotels on bus...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank k1609
Peter D, Manager at Adamton Country House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I'm sorry that you didn't enjoy your meal with us, however reading the other comments from guests staying with us over the weekend, they have enjoyed their meals with us. I appreciate that some of our dishes may not be to everyone's liking. Peter Dodds

Tranent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This lovely hotel has an amazing history. 1939 to 1945: The house was used as accommodation for American servicemen. Including Elvis Presley. Today the hotel is a bit tired, but it is a budget hotel and as such is astonishing value. There are a lot of original features, fireplaces,staircase and fabulous wood work. Plain entrance to reception. my visit the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IslaT54
Peter D, Manager at Adamton Country House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your comments here on Tripadvisor, as you have mentioned their is room for some improvement within the restaurant and of which we are hoping to roll out a premier dinning restaurant. Some areas are looking tired and of which a maintenance programme will be put in place to rectify these issues. I'm grateful that you...

Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

After reading reviews I was expecting very little and was pleasantly surprised by EVERYTHING, the hotel, the room, the food, the staff and the company on the journey. The room was clean, the food was great at breakfast and dinner with many options at both. Staff were very pleasant and helpful and I would highly recommend.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank joanne h
Peter D, Manager at Adamton Country House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Many thanks for your kind words here on Tripadvisor. We hope you will visit us again soon. Peter Dodds Operations Manager

sussex
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed for a 4 day break this week in room 1015, travelled with Houghs coaches. Room very clean and warm, bed comfortable and clean. Staff very pleasant and polite. Self service breakfast and dinner, plenty of choice at breakfast and dinner. This was a 4 day stay at a budget price and represented good value for money. Thanks for ensuring...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank marinersd
Peter D, Manager at Adamton Country House, responded to this review

Dear marinersd, Thank you for your kind words, I'm pleased you have enjoyed your stay with us and we hope you will visit us again soon. Peter Dodds

Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed in the Adamton Country hotel for two nights. I found the hotel to be clean and relaxing. The stairway in the main house is stunning. The grounds are fabulous with Deers roaming freely. I ate a buffet meal in the restaurant which had a good choice from salmon to pasta. A lovely salad and selection of deserts including...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DeadNinja 6
Peter D, Manager at Adamton Country House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, On behalf of my staff and I we thankyou for your kind words and we hope to see you again soon. Peter Dodds Operations Manager

269 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (255)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (78)
Viewed
Room/Suite (36)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (110)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Prestwick
5.2 km away
The Marine Hotel
The Marine Hotel
#4 of 6 in Troon
1,982 reviews
1.8 km away
Premier Inn Ayr/Prestwick Airport Hotel
3.6 km away
Parkstone
Parkstone
#1 of 6 in Prestwick
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 km away
The Arrandale Hotel
The Arrandale Hotel
#13 of 18 in Ayr
81 reviews
6.3 km away
Western House Hotel
4.6 km away
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
Carlton Hotel Prestwick
#2 of 6 in Prestwick
623 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Adamton House has two distinctive and different properties within its 19.5 acres of grounds. The annex wing offers perfect accommodation for those on a budget or traveling to or from Prestwick Airport. This lodge style accommodation offers doubles, twins, singles and budget bunk rooms. All rooms are en-suite and only a few steps from the main house. The main house has a more traditional feel, and offers an executive style accommodation. It has a history dating back to the 11th century and has supposedly accommodated some interesting residents from Elvis Presley to Bonnie Prince Charlie's children and Clark Gable. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Adamton Country House

Address: Baird Road, Prestwick KA9 2SB, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Prestwick
Price Range: RM204 - RM368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Adamton Country House 3*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotel.de, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Adamton Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Adamton Country House staff and other travellers.
50 questions
Ask a question
Derbyshire, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
2 months ago
Jarrow, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (50)

Questions? Get answers from Adamton Country House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“all the rooms are the same”
 of 5 bubbles lexy12, 20 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Room 1015 is a ground floor room.”
 of 5 bubbles marinersd, 21 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor”
 of 5 bubbles P2573ASjanetm, 19 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms needed net curtains”
 of 5 bubbles suejarvis12016, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Room allocation was on arrival , we were on the ground floor and i think most rooms were similarly furnished. New carpet etc.”
 of 5 bubbles 599sandrar, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5