Avonbridge Hotel

Avonbridge Hotel

Nachttischlampe sucht Anschluss
Traveller (203)
nice bed
Room & Suite (61)
Breakfast room
Dining (37)

View prices for your travel dates

Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Did you already book this hotel?

About

3.5
#4 of 5 hotels in Hamilton
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Location
4.2 of 5 bubbles
Cleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Service
3.9 of 5 bubbles
Value
The Avonbridge Hotel is located in the historic town of Hamilton, which has a rich and dramatic history. Situated just outside of Glasgow and about 30 minutes from Edinburgh, Hamilton is a major attraction for visitors of Scotland – acting as a calm and rural escape from metropolitan cities. Owned and operated by The Martalo's, The Avonbridge offers all the benefits of a luxury hotel with the passion and intimacy of a family run business. The Fico restaurant offers all the elements of fine dining in a casual and inviting atmosphere, and our paw friendly Bar Milano offers up the best brunch, and transforms into Hamilton's hottest bar on Friday and Saturday nights. We invite you to dine, celebrate, and rest your head with us, all while taking in the historic sights of Hamilton and beyond in Scotland!
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Free breakfast
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Non-smoking hotel
Wifi
Bar / lounge
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Meeting rooms
Laundry service
Room features
Desk
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
Star ratings are intended to indicate the general level of features, amenities, and services to expect. This property is classified according to Giata.
3.0 of 5 stars
HOTEL STYLE
Family
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English

Location

Carlisle Road, Hamilton ML3 7DB Scotland
Getting there
Somewhat walkable
Places to stay are graded on a 0-100 scale. The higher the grade, the easier it is for travellers to find restaurants and things to do within walking distance.
Grade: 54 out of 100
54
Glasgow Intl Airport
27.9 km
See all flights
Glasgow Prestwick Airport
45.7 km
See all flights
3.5
3.5 of 5 bubbles611 reviews
Reviews summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI

The Avonbridge Hotel garners appreciation for its strategic location, which offers ease of access to Edinburgh and Glasgow, and comes with the added bonus of ample parking space. Guests often commend the hotel's staff for their friendliness and professionalism, although some have noted inconsistencies in the service provided. While the rooms are typically found to be clean, many guests feel they could benefit from updating and better upkeep. Opinions about the hotel's value and amenities vary, with some guests praising cost-effective stays and comfortable beds, whereas others point out issues with maintenance and housekeeping. The overall atmosphere of the hotel receives mixed reviews, with a friendly vibe noted by some, but a noisy environment and a need for modernization mentioned by others.
Location
Convenient
Atmosphere
Lively
Rooms
Dated
Value
Mixed
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Underwhelming

Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or the opinions in it. For more information, please read the traveller reviews and learn more about how the site works.
611Reviews10Q+A93Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 202
  • 165
  • 116
  • 60
  • 68
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Detailed Reviews
Renee S wrote a review Aug 2023
Wirral, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
We stayed here for 3 nights on an away from the kids couple of days "date days". The hotel location is a great alternative to staying in the bigger cities, and an easy drive to both Edinburgh and Glasgow.
The room we booked was a standard double. It was okay, the bed seemed smaller than a usual double but this could be because we are used to a bigger bed at home, the room itself was cosy, with a desk and set of drawers. There wasn't much wardrobe space but it was nice to find we had a trouser press in the wardrobe along with the iron and ironing board. During the 3 night stay we feel the room was only fully serviced with fresh towels, refills of tea and coffee and bins emptied on the first morning. After the second night we returned to the room to find damp towels on the bed, the bathroom bin hadn't been emptied and the tea and coffee station not refilled. This being said for the price we paid we would consider staying again maybe in a slightly bigger room.

Breakfast was included in our booking, which consisted of a buffet breakfast. There could have been more option on the breakfast, fruit teas, more fruit options things of this nature. But either way again being included in our booking we did have breakfast each morning with no fuss. Although there is no "table booking" for breakfast so on the second morning when a coach full of guests were due to leave there were no tables at 8am when we went through to the restaurant. If we'd have been made aware of this prior we could have attended breakfast earlier/later rather than waiting for other guests to vacate a table.

For the purpose of our stay which was mainly just somewhere to put our head down each night the room served its purpose.
Read more
Date of stay: July 2023
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Kim M wrote a review Sept 2022
Limekilns, United Kingdom
4.0 of 5 bubbles
Myself and my sister stayed in a twin room at the Avonbridge Hotel the night before a charity walk at Chatelherault Country Park. Despite the hotel being busy, hosting a wedding, the staff were very helpful, friendly and attentive.
We visited the restaurant and had a lovely meal. The menu was wide ranging and offered something for everyone, including Vegetarian options (myself being a Vegetarian).
The room was pleasantly decorated and supplied with an iron, hairdryer, good quality TV, soft clean towels, comfortable beds and tea/coffee/hot choc/biscuits.
Despite the wedding function, we heard no noise in our room.
The hotel could generally do with some attention to dusting of vents etc and removal of cobwebs but this would not stop me from staying again or recommending to anyone.
A lovely, quirky and friendly hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2022
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Avonbridge Hotel, Other at Avonbridge Hotel
Responded 1 Nov 2022
Hi Kim, thank you so much for your detailed review it is greatly appreciated. We are delighted you had an enjoyable stay and I would agree that The Avonbridge could be described as quirky. We are in the process of updating parts of the hotel where we can but thank you for your comments and we hope to see you again soon. Regards Manager@TheAvonbridge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read an AI-generated summary of recent traveller reviews.
Lesley wrote a review Jun 2022
Ashford, United Kingdom
3.0 of 5 bubbles
Firstly the staff were magnificent, happy helpful and polite. Bar staff attentive and quick to serve, prices were as expected in a hotel bar. As we were with friends with a dog; we ate in Bar Milano garden section. The pizzas were authentic and tasty. Breakfast was buffet style, hot and plentiful with cereals pastries and selection of breads. Waitress was helpful.

Reception staff were polite attentive and quick to react to any issues.

Cleaning standard was OK as a bottle of juice was left by the taxi/leaflet table for 2 days only moved when we commented. Dust could be seen under glass protective shelves which wasn't a good look.

Room was dated and does need updating both in decor and fixtures but clean with good supply of toiletries, tea & coffee. Small ironing board and travel iron was a lovely touch. Bathroom like the room needs updating towel shelf above toilet was loose and coming away from the wall, on our last day we had an issue with the toilet on which was slow to clear this was reported and given to maintenance to deal with, not sure if this was rectified.

My biggest criticism was the comfort of the bed, there wasn't any, this was by far the worst /hardest bed I have ever encountered, I slept on top of the duvet to make it more bearable to no avail.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2022Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Avonbridge Hotel, Other at Avonbridge Hotel
Responded 14 Jun 2022
Hi, thank you for your review and comments about our friendly staff. We have passed on your comments to the maintenance team to investigate. We hope to see you again soon, Regards, Manager@TheAvonbridge
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Rachael P wrote a review Feb 2020
+1
5.0 of 5 bubbles
I have just got back from staying at the Avonbridge hotel for one night due to visiting family. I was surprised with how nice the hotel was considering how cheap it was! The rooms were extremely clean and comfortable, the hotel reception and restaurant were also very clean and nicely decorated. Checking in process was easy and problem free, we were greeted warmly and all the staff were friendly and smiling every time we see them. The room decorations were a slightly out dated compared to some big chain hotels, but all of it was spotlessly clean and the bathroom was decorated nicely. We had breakfast in the hotel which was a buffet option with all the usual items you expect, they had everything you needed and it all tastes great. Hotel was also in a good location, a few minutes walk from a supermarket, many other chain restaurants, a cinema and some shops. A very nice stay for a great price, thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
K cutler wrote a review Sept 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I went here to celebrate my anniversary with my partner i wasnt told my room wasnt in main building bed was broken really thick dust everywhere mould in the fridge black stuff spitting out the spa jets the power was out for 90 mins so couldnt use the spa to start with. The lady in the recepition was lovely offered me a new room, dust in the other room was the same also mould in that fridge aswell i refused the room because it had no spa bath and i had already upgraded to have a room with spa bath. I was told they would speak to managment in the morning took days to get back to me said he was on holiday but reception stated they would contact managment the next day their responce when getting back was ridiculous blamed me for braking the bed which i had already had pics just as i checked in with the time that the bed was already broken said they could smell smoke when my room was up above the door where people stood and smoked, when i questioned management about these accusations i asked where there no smoke alarms in the rooms? Or where they faulty too. still no responce so no other option to leave this review!!!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Maria A wrote a review Jan 2020
Madrid, Spain
2.0 of 5 bubbles
We booked this hotel well in advanced for 5 people for a 9 nights stay over the Holidays period. They allocated us probably the worse rooms they have. Not only we were in an annexe building, the rooms were very small and dirty. I could see through the windows that there were nicer and bigger rooms even in the same building. You would think they would favour us given the large party and length of our stay. The breakfast is also of quite poor quality.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
1.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Steve wrote a review Oct 2020
Bristol, United Kingdom
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Booked this hotel as I am working in the area, I was not disappointed, the service from the staff was excellent and the food In the restaurant is exceptional!!
I initially booked for two days but extended it to four, 3 course meal in the restaurant was £16 what an absolute bargain, the Italian restaurant Manger was professional who I am sure is an asset to the business.
Pictures shown are the Prawns to start, fish and chips, followed by sticky toffee pudding and vanilla ice cream, 3 courses for £16 it’s amazing!
The hotel is currently running a strict social distancing to comply with Covid 19 rules.
Highly recommend!!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Travelled on business
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mfcfirpark wrote a review Dec 2021
1.0 of 5 bubbles
I never usually leave any poor reviews but feel very let down. Organisation before the day was problematic with them not able to confirm until late on that it was going ahead, but also changing the booking from a sister hotel to this one. On the day, high 100s squashed tightly in the wedding function room with staff run off their feet. No complaints against staff who worked tirelessly. Food however was embarrassing and disgraceful. Soup for starter was 1/4 of a very small bowl and mushrooms were 2 very small mushrooms with a scraping of dip. Main courses were served on what I'd say were tea plates or side plates, definitely not dinner plates. Turkey appeared to be Turkey roll or catering type, not Turkey breast. Dinner was 1.5 small circle slices with 1 small slice of stuffing. 2 boiled potatoes halved, 3 small carrot sticks and a handful of Brussels sprouts, which seemed frozen not fresh. No extras or anything to make the dinner special or remotely worth the money. Pudding was tiny and bland and we were served all 3 courses within 40 minutes. We've chosen not to go back. We didn't complain on the day as seemed pointless, the small dishes they used showed they knew fine what they were offering and others complaining to waiting staff, but was outwith their contol. We left starving, embarrassed and totally disappointed and had to go home and prepare finger food when we'd paid £325 for this poor standard offering.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Karen P wrote a review Aug 2020
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2.0 of 5 bubbles
Visited here for a over night stay for my boyfriends birthday, we stayed in the royal suite 107 (honeymoon suite) room was nice a little old fashioned tho. Bed was too soft, we woke up sore, and with not having the best nights sleep, was also due to noise coming from the street plus the curtains didnt close, think there for design purpose only.
Jacuzzi bath was nice and relaxing.
Had dinner, would say it was nothing special and a bit over priced for what you get, I had the steak, which itself was cooked perfect but the chips and veg that came with it were very bland and very oily (too much olive oil). My boyfriends meal looked lovely, but he said it was ok and a little bit too rich. Our deserts were awful, I had the butterscotch custard with salted caramel, not nice at all, my boyfriend had the cheesecake and it was disgusting, was made with pistachio nuts, personally you dont have that in a a cheesecake.
I thought we would be getting a cooked breakfast as stated when I booked, but it was a picnic breakfast that was on offer and for £140 for one night including breakfast I felt was way too expensive. If I had known it was a picnic breakfast I wouldnt have booked, and the hotel hadn't made me aware of this when I phoned before hand.
Safe to say dont think we'll be back in the future.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Avonbridge Hotel, Owner at Avonbridge Hotel
Responded 11 Aug 2020
Dear Karen P, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us. I was disappointed to learn that you found our Regal Suite old fashioned. We do have two honeymoon suites available to our customers, both of which differ in style to allow our guests to choose between a more traditional, or a more modern look. Unless specified, it is difficult for us to determine what our guests’ taste is like when allocating them into one of our honeymoon suites so I can only apologise that you were allocated into the room that is more traditional and not to your taste. Our Regal Suite is usually the preferred honeymoon suite due to the large jacuzzi bath within the room and it is to my understanding that this is why you opted for this room. Since the launch of our newly rebranded Fico restaurant, we have received a lot of positive feedback concerning the new menus and quality of the food. I am sorry to learn that the food you ordered on this occasion was not to your liking. Our pistachio cheesecake has been the most popular dessert since the change of menu therefore, it is disappointing that you did not enjoy it. With regards to the chips & veg, your feedback has been passed on to our head chef. Due to the recent global pandemic, we are currently not in a position to offer a hot breakfast for a number of reasons and made the decision to offer our customers a continental breakfast. As buffets are not allowed at this moment in time, we decided the safest way to present the continental breakfast would be in takeaway bag that our guests could collect at their leisure and either eat within the safety and comfort of their room, or take with them when vacating the hotel. I am truly sorry if you were expecting a hot breakfast and can only apologise for any disappointment caused. As a small family-run business and following a devastating global pandemic, we too hope to be in a position where we can start serving our popular full hot breakfast again to all of our lovely guests. All of your comments have been taken on board and hopefully we will have the opportunity to welcome you again in the future. Kind regards, Management Team
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Mandy L wrote a review Apr 2022
1.0 of 5 bubbles
First of all when we arrived they couldn’t find our booking, when we finally got to the room the sheets were dirty, the bin in the toilet hadn’t been emptied and the room was dusty! That night we had a drunk neighbour in the next room who woke everyone up at 2am shouting, swearing and banging in the room which was a bit scary. The meal in the restaurant was nice BUT for the prices I expected freshly made pasta, it most definitely wasn’t freshly made pasta. The customer service has been absolutely shocking and a week later we are still waiting on a refund. Worst service I have ever had staying somewhere.
Read more
Date of stay: April 2022Trip type: Travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Response from Avonbridge Hotel, Other at Avonbridge Hotel
Responded 14 Jun 2022
Hi, thank you for your review and apologies we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion. We will be passing on your comments to the team and if you want to e-mail us manager@theavonbridge.co.uk we can look in to your refund. Regards, Manager@TheAvonbridge.co.uk
Read more
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Patricia77 asked a question Mar 2023
Saint Thomas, Canada24 contributions38 helpful votes
Hi I am curious if the hotel has an outside patio for meals at all?
jadiepye asked a question May 2017
cardenden32 contributions61 helpful votes
What are the check in times ?
Answer from Mary D
Port Glasgow, United Kingdom14 contributions13 helpful votes
2pm but as I was going to a wedding in the Avonbridge they made the room available at 12.30pm. I couldn't have asked for better service.
Answer from lyndylooLondon_UK
London, UK35 contributions40 helpful votes
Hi Breakfast was early so if youre on business you will be able to eat. Nice selection too. We were in a front room and it was huge. The others had smaller rooms but not too cramped but not as big as a travel lodge. The wi fi worked for all of us so no big issue. All our rooms had jacuzzi baths and showers, a quirky touch. The staff are really friendly so I am sure you will not have too much to write about. Hope tgis helps. :-)
JohnWhite60 asked a question Mar 2017
Clydebank, United Kingdom1 helpful vote
Are all rooms en suite?
Answer from Maryj734
Glasgow, United Kingdom37 contributions62 helpful votes
Yes all ensuite
Pat M wrote a tip Mar 2024
Glasgow, United Kingdom9 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Disabled parking out side main door, rest of the parking at the left hand side of the hotel"
Read full review
lisa wrote a tip Mar 2024
Hamilton, United Kingdom16 contributions7 helpful votes
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Good parking facilities, lovely atmosphere, very relaxed and good value "
Read full review
Happy D wrote a tip Feb 2024
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom13 contributions5 helpful votes
3.0 of 5 bubbles
"Don’t bother with breakfast"
Read full review
golfinn@ladybank wrote a tip Jan 2024
Ladybank, United Kingdom14 contributions1 helpful vote
5.0 of 5 bubbles
"Train station and bus station only 5 mins away, more than ample parking "
Read full review
WillRod321 wrote a tip Oct 2023
Buan-gun, South Korea154 contributions69 helpful votes
2.0 of 5 bubbles
"Do not go here."
Read full review
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Hamilton area.
PRICE RANGE
RM 369 - RM 486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the avonbridge hotel hamilton, avonbridge hotel hamilton
LOCATION
United KingdomScotlandSouth LanarkshireHamilton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
65
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

AVONBRIDGE HOTEL: UPDATED 2024 Reviews, Price Comparison and 212 Photos (Hamilton, Scotland) - Tripadvisor

Frequently Asked Questions about Avonbridge Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Avonbridge Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Low Parks Museum (1.1 km), The Town House (1.0 km), and Sew You Can (0.8 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Avonbridge Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free breakfast, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Avonbridge Hotel?
Guests can enjoy free breakfast, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge during their stay.
Is parking available at Avonbridge Hotel?
Yes, free parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Avonbridge Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Beefeater Hamilton, Gusti D'Italia, and The Kurry Lounge.
Are pets allowed at Avonbridge Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Avonbridge Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Avonbridge Hotel?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Chatelherault (1.4 km), David Livingstone Birthplace (5.0 km), and Low Parks Museum (1.1 km).
Is Avonbridge Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific enquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.
All Hamilton HotelsHamilton Hotel DealsLast Minute Hotels in HamiltonHotels near Avonbridge Hotel
Things to DoRestaurantsFlightsHoliday RentalsTravel StoriesCruisesCar Hire