We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Travelodge Dumbarton

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Management photos
Travelodge Dumbarton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

193 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Showing 192: English reviews
Start your review of Travelodge Dumbarton
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped here on way to Isle of Skye, great location, had a room at front of the hotel, no noise from road. Easy to walk in to Dumbarton for food as pub across road doesn't allow dogs. Also easy to click & collect shopping from Asda after your nights stay. Only thing is the licensing laws, no collection of alcohol...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank sazandy
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I enjoyed my stay here out if the hustle and bustle of the city nice and relaxing with good few restraints to eat nearby. Only improvement I could recommend is shower pressure. however rest of the stay was just as imagined thanks.

Thank Tanya M
Bromley, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A clean room and a comfortable bed. Friendly reception staff. The A82 is close but the sound-proofing is OK, but some people staying at the back were disturbed by trains. Handy for Starbucks and the Masala Twist Indian restaurant.

Thank Hayes231
TravelodgeUK, Remy from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Dumbarton, responded to this review

Thank you for submitting your review. We're so pleased you enjoyed comfortable, clean accommodation along with friendly staff service during your visit. Feedback such as yours is invaluable and we will ensure the hotel receives a copy of your comments. Thank you again for sharing your experience and we hope to welcome you again soon.

Teignmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Easy friendly check-in.....Room 124 nice size basic but clean, nice outlook over River Clyde and 5 minute Trains were not a problem due to secondary glazing..... Minor issue shower hose leaking....Would stay here again.......

Thank Sassygirl809
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Cold uninviting room. No drapes no privacy. Towels hard. Stairs needed hoovering. Bathroom floor dirty. Grouting round bath going black. Won't stay here again. Very dated needs a returb. Reception staff need to smile. On leaving staff member ironing in the corridor. Very unprofessional. Whole place needs a good clean.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Curvaceouslady50
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Dumbarton, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on your feedback to...

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Double room and dog accommodation was required. Travel lodge is basic and clean and facilitated what we needed. The Dumbarton hotel was very friendly and helpful. The hotel is just over the road from a pub that offers good breakfast and evening meal facilities. The location is ideal for a stop over when traveling to Scotland. We have stayed here...

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Ralph_A_161
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Reviewed 18 March 2017

Staff friendly as always. Prices excellent if you book early enough in advance. Hotel is great if you want to be between Glasgow and Loch Lomond. We stay here every year during March and will be back next year.

Thank Healsby
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 27 February 2017

Everything was perfect. Best part is all the amenities. Room was nice and clean. Its right on A82 very good location to stay and start fresh next morning if you are travelling up north Overall the experience was good..

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank za_shani
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Location excellent for our needs. easy parking with three local restaurants available for food. We eventually decided on the Indian restaurant next door (within 100 metres) and had a great meal. Room rate was excellent. There was 30 minutes free wifi and only £3 for 24 hours.

Thank dws50
Oban, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 February 2017

We stayed here on Thursday 16th February. The room/bathroom were spotless - well equipped & a nice, comfortable bed - I'd recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in this area & it is handy with Glasgow airport.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank David M
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Dumbarton, responded to this review

Many thanks for this review.We strive to provide a positive experience so it's great you found your room to be spotlessly clean and comfortable during your stay.Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback and we do hope you will choose to stay with us again in the future.

11 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

All Traveller Photos (1)
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

All Management Photos (10)
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Room/Suite (3)
Bathroom (2)
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dumbarton
3.3 km away
Premier Inn Dumbarton/Loch Lomond Hotel
1.5 km away
The Abbotsford Hotel
The Abbotsford Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
173 reviews
1.2 km away
The Dumbuck House Hotel
The Dumbuck House Hotel
#4 of 4 in Dumbarton
366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.9 km away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
6.7 km away
Golden Jubilee Conference Hotel
22.9 km away
Knockderry House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices


  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Dumbarton

Address: A82 Stirling Road, Milton, Dumbarton, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park G82 2TZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > West Dunbartonshire > Dumbarton
Price Range: RM225 - RM445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Travelodge Dumbarton 1.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Dumbarton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Dumbarton Hotel Dumbarton
Travel Lodge Dumbarton
Dumbarton Travel Lodge
Dumbarton Travelodge
Travelodge Dumbarton Scotland
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Travelodge Dumbarton staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Travelodge Dumbarton staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room at the front to avoid disturbance from the railway line”
Hayes231, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Accessible rooms have an alarm system which we did not need.”
WilliamH846, 30 Dec 2016 | Read review
“A front facing room would almost certainly be quieter”
geoffreyhead, 23 Nov 2016 | Read review
“At the front away from the trains”
P5380RWmartin, 11 Nov 2016 | Read review
“go for rooms at front”
ZebraDriver, 6 Nov 2016 | Read review
5 of 5