We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Old Ground

Show Prices
#1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
Panoramas (15)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,429 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,396: English reviews
Waterford
Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We stayed in the Old Ground Hotel for four nights this February and we thought it was a great hotel and it would suit all ages. Our room was spotless and well maintained, our bed was very comfortable. The reception staff were very friendly and helpful. We ate in the town hall restaurant one night and the dining room another...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank TravellerWaterford
County Roscommon, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Just back from a lovely, relaxing break at the Old Grounds Hotel in Ennis. On arriving we were upgraded which was a lovely treat for the weekend. Massive thank you for this. Room was huge with two massive double beds and a lovely couch area. Have stayed in Ennis before but never in the Old Grounds and I have to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank macshortie
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this review

Thank you so much for posting such positive comments - our "amazing" team really appreciate that you took the time to do this. We are delighted that you enjoyed the ambiance and the wonderful food and look forward to welcoming you soon again. Best regards, Mary

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Myself and a few friends were at a private function in the hotel in January. The food was amazing, the staff lovely and the bedroom was perfect. What's the best thing after a heavy night of dancing? A FANTASTIC shower!!! Oh and the breakfast was yummy too! Would recommend the hotel to anyone.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Elaine B
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this review

Thank you Elaine, We are delighted that you enjoyed the experience and met our "lovely" staff. Hard to beat a lively night of dancing - especially now that the stars are giving us all tips on TV! We host many special events, private dinners and weddings with wonderful food and a pleasant ambiance. Many thanks,

Greenwich, Connecticut
Reviewed 1 week ago

We've been to this hotel a few times now. We were in Ireland for a funeral, unfortunately, so it was a quick trip. We asked for early check in and they graciously accommodated us. We had a small issue with the toilet and it was attended to immediately. (User error!) . Poet's Corner is a great refuge after a long...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Debbie O
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this review

Thank you Debbie, we are sorry for your loss and that you had to make the long journey for a sad event. Yes, we are very familiar with transatlantic visitors and know the huge advantage it is to get a bed early and a couple of hours sleep then sets you up for the time change. We always work to...

Sweers Island
Reviewed 1 week ago

I stayed at this hotel with my parents about 20 years ago. The hospitality and charm has not changed, but decor and services have moved with the times. Service was friendly, room was spacious and we received a complimentary upgrade which was a lovely surprise. Bed and pillows comfortable, bathroom was warm, windowseat was fun, food was delicious and the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank SweersLyn
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this review

Thank you very much Lyn - we are delighted that our hospitality continued to meet your expectations and honoured to welcome you back.

Duleek, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We've just spent a couple of nights here and it was a thoroughly enjoyable and relaxing trip. The staff were so friendly and helpful and the room we were given was absolutely beautiful. We availed of a 2 night b&b and dinner option and ate in the bar - the food was delicious and service excellent. Breakfast was also excellent....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Shirley M
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this review

Thank you Shirley - we really appreciate that you took the time to post a review and look forward to welcoming you back. Best regards Mary

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have to say this is one of the best value hotel with good food in Ennis. Right in the middle of the town with a lovely friendly atmosphere. If you have food here be hungry as the portions are very big.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Barryohss
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed in the The Old Ground for a week whiles in Ennis on business. Nice hotel with nice big rooms. Breakfast cooked to order served hot and fresh with great coffee and pastries. Ate in the bar one of the evenings woof and service very good. Great location in the middle of Ennis. Overall great stay.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank enjoyyourstay1234
Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Went to this lovely restaurant for a birthday celebration last Saturday night. Party of eight friends. All I can say is fabulous. Food, staff, atmosphere, this place had it all and the host himself Alan was a gent. Fab night thanks to everyone there.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank oflahertyr
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I am seldom moved to write a review of a place where I have stayed, but I felt this hotel deserves to be commended. Stayed 3 nights, with two other couples, as part of a winter get away. The hotel was a buzz of activity with 3 choices of eating venues and a lively bar that had nightly traditional music....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Ciaran S
MaryGleeson, General Manager at The Old Ground, responded to this review

Thank you Ciaran, Our team really appreciate that you took the time to share your experience. We are delighted to mention that there has been a great buzz for many evenings in January which is a great sign of the season to come. Best regards, Mary

721 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (297)
Viewed
Bathroom (30)
Viewed
Room/Suite (68)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (6)
Viewed
Other (103)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (406)
Viewed
Amenities (15)
Viewed
Bridal Suite (38)
Viewed
Executive King Room (35)
Viewed
Junior Suite (41)
Viewed
King Deluxe Room (30)
Viewed
Dining (63)
Viewed
Standard Double Room (30)
Viewed
Standard Double Single Room (34)
Viewed
Suite (45)
Viewed
The Hotel (75)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (18)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
3.0 km away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#3 of 9 in Ennis
268 reviews
0.1 km away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#2 of 9 in Ennis
763 reviews
2.5 km away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
1.3 km away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
7.6 km away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Town Hall Cafe
Town Hall Cafe
Cuisines: Irish, European, Soups
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Breakfast included
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Address: O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Price Range: RM411 - RM804 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from The Old Ground staff and other travellers.
14 questions
Ask a question
Boston, Massachusetts
Phoenix, Arizona
Kilkenny, Ireland
over a year ago
Dublin

See all questions (14)

Questions? Get answers from The Old Ground staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“404 was recently refurbished. Heated tile on the floor of the bathroom! room 523 was VERY spacious”
 of 5 bubbles DebbieO730, 11 Feb 2017 | Read review
“If you have heavy luggage ask for a room near the lifts. Corridors are long with lots of heavy fire doors.”
  • Spacious room with bathroom, tv, etc
  • Great window seat
  • Spacious room with plenty of seating
  • Spotless bathroom with full size bath and floor was warm!
 of 5 bubbles SweersLyn, 9 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Best views over the garden and church.”
 of 5 bubbles 39ciarans, 31 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Hotel is located just across from the church/cathedral.”
 of 5 bubbles entersandlady, 29 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms facing the Cathedral are beautiful”
 of 5 bubbles nd20172017, 22 Jan 2017 | Read review
5 of 5