We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Imperial Hotel

0.8 km from Cork centre
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
Save
Enter dates to see best deals
Check In Check Out
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
More options
View Deals
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
1 room 2 adults 0 children
View Deals
Close 
76 South Mall, Cork, Ireland
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,879 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Imperial Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,812: English reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2015

We loved the location. The room was a little small but pleasant. There was noise outside the window of late partiers on the first night, but we were so tired, we went back to sleep. Because it was cool September night, we could close the window and storm window. Summer might be a problem. Breakfast was good. We liked the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Margaret P L
FrederikPotgieter, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and others. I am pleased to read that our location and in particular our service stood out for you, the concierge and front desk team are true ambassadors of the personal nature of...

Reviewed 7 October 2015 via mobile

We stayed for just a night here and went to the Pembroke restaurant downstairs for our dinner. It did not help that the waiter who seated us was arrogant and rude. I had a simple dish that only gave me nine raviolis for such a steep price and within minutes of eating it was sick for about seven hours meaning...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Taylor F
FrederikPotgieter, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am incredibly sorry to read that you had a disappointing experience with us and I hope you will allow me to start by apologising unreservedly for failing to meet and exceed your expectations. The service you received in our Restaurant was clearly unacceptable and most certainly not indicative of the high standards we set for ourselves at...

Oakville, Canada
Reviewed 6 October 2015

A few things that you should know if you are considering booking this hotel. The first thing is that the parking is a distance from the hotel - and the hotel itself, was not easy to find with our GPS. We went around in circles, and actually found the car park, before we found the hotel. Part of our problem...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Laura B
FrederikPotgieter, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest It was such a pleasure to have you with us and I am thrilled that you enjoyed your time in our hospitality. The Imperial is most certainly Cork’s Grand Dame, having been built in 1816 (we are celebrating our 200 year anniversary next year!!!) it is steeped in history and has all the charm and elegance you would...

County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 October 2015

Stayed in the hotel on a friday night for business purposes. My room was on 4th floor at the back of the hotel overlooking a street with a pub. The music started at about 10.30 pm and finally finished at 3.45am. It was relentless!! I complained and was met by the manager the following morning when I was checking out....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AnneLaragh75
FrederikPotgieter, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write about us, we value your feedback and view your comments as essential in our pursuit of service excellence. I am so incredibly sorry to hear that you were disturbed by the street musician over the weekend, I have personally lodged a complaint with the relevant Authorities and have been assured...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 4 October 2015

Booked a weekend spa break. Hotel is very central and the spa experience was lovely. However the hotel was very dated and so was our room and especially the bathroom!! The first thing I noticed when I entered was mould in the top right corner of the room over the bed!! (See attached picture) Second thing I noticed was hotel...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NicolaK28
FrederikPotgieter, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am very grateful for your feedback, thank you for taking the time to share your experience with me and my team, we are always learning and know we can only improve if we truly listen to what our customers are saying about us. I am deeply embarrassed and bitterly disappointed to read that we clearly failed during...

Reviewed 3 October 2015

We stayed two weekend nights at the Imperial. The hotel is very grand looking and well kept. The first night we were given a very large beautiful room. Unfortunately, it was situated over one of the party rooms. This was our third day in the country and we were looking forward to a good nights sleep since we were still...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank James B
FrederikPotgieter, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest It was a pleasure to have you with us, thank you for choosing the Imperial. Whilst I am delighted that you enjoyed our location and the elegant design and ambience of our 19th Century built Hotel (the oldest in Cork City!), I am very sorry that you were disturbed by noise from the private event and I can...

Annapolis, Maryland, United States
Reviewed 30 September 2015

This hotel was chosen for us by our tour, and they sure picked a great one. We loved it. The beds were comfortable, the room spacious, and location was fantastic... walkable to pubs, restaurants, and the train and bus stations. The concierge was congenial and had great suggestions for restaurants and pubs. And a map! Breakfast was terrific. We'd stay...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Peggy M
FrederikPotgieter, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest I am delighted your Tour chose the Imperial, it was a pleasure to have you with us! We are striving to deliver a service experience that is professional, personal and above all genuine and your very kind comments are incredibly motivating for me and my team. I will be sure to pass on your kind comments to our...

Reviewed 28 September 2015 via mobile

Another great stay at your hotel. Lovely atmosphere & staff are lovely .. Love the new decor in the bar .. Colours are fab 👍hotel is so Central & ideal for shopping by day & all restaurants & pubs are walking distance away See u again in a few months 😊

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Majella P
FrederikPotgieter, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest A belated Happy Anniversary, thank you for choosing us to celebrate such a special occasion. I am delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable time in our hospitality and particularly pleased that our team and their service was a real highlight throughout your stay. I am very fortunate to be surrounded by amazing, customer focused individuals...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 28 September 2015

A good package for a two night stay. Good value. First night great, slept the sleep of the dead. Second not so good, room was very noisy from a bar or busker down the street (did not stop until after 3am). While they offered to move us, we did not take them up on their offer (at 2.30am), although when...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank MGKDublin_Ireland
FrederikPotgieter, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to give me and my team your feedback, which we believe is essential as we strive towards delivering exceptional service experiences. Whilst I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your overall stay and would return to us, I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise on your second...

Newport, Ireland
Reviewed 26 September 2015

Went for a romantic / pampering weekend here and will definitely go back. The restaurant, the Spa, the bedrooms, the tea rooms, the bar, all beautiful and immaculately clean. You could spend hours in the relaxation suite,

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Noreen N
FrederikPotgieter, General Manager at Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Guest Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at The Imperial Hotel with Escape Spa, I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us! Your future support and loyalty is incredibly important to me and my team and I am therefore thrilled that you would definitely return to us again, if I can ever personally...

348 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (307)
Viewed
Dining (27)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (61)
Viewed
Bathroom (32)
Viewed
View from Room (5)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (119)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (41)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,242 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#7 of 23 in Cork
693 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Room Service
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Imperial and Escape Spa and Hair Salon is a magical hotel that blends the warmth and intimacy of times past with the style and luxury of a contemporary hotel. Its design merges the traditional and the contemporary to create an environment with a unique warm and welcoming personality. Recently refurbished, the Imperial Hotel has 130 beautifully appointed rooms, new executive suites and rooftop penthouse suite. Escape Salon and Spa offers the perfect fusion of natural and holistic treatments in the most luxurious of settings. Irelands 1st Aveda Lifestyle Salon & Spa. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Imperial Hotel

Address: 76 South Mall, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Price Range: RM548 - RM799 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Imperial Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Travelocity so you can book your Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel With Escape Salon
Imperial Hotel Cork
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Cork
#7 Family Hotel in Cork
#9 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#11 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#13 Business Hotel in Cork
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Imperial Hotel staff and other travellers.
11 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (11)

Questions? Get answers from Imperial Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“You may need to request a quiet room or at the very least remember to bring earplugs.”
 of 5 bubbles , 18 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Rooms overlooking the South Mall are best for us.”
 of 5 bubbles deckatty, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Our room was 1st floor,side street,had double windows which shut out any noise”
 of 5 bubbles mariehorgan, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Be guided by the staff”
 of 5 bubbles mcgeemar2017, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Go for the newly refurbished rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles Wexford2014, 8 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5