We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City

Save
Share
John Redmond Street Shandon, Cork T23 A9TF Ireland
Expedia.com
Booking.com
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
eDreams
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveller (266)
Room & Suite (48)
Dining (21)
What is Travellers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travellers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travellers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

About

#19 of 35 hotels in Cork
Travellers' Choice
Corks Most Historical Hotel in one of the best located areas nestled in the heart of Corks historic cultural quarter, newly refurbished 4* Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork is found in the nestled by the famous Shandon Bells and on the doorstep of Cork newest premier shopping district, Opera Lane and Corks main thoroughfare St Patrick's Street. With superb accommodation, excellent dining and full leisure facilities in Club Vitae Health Club, this hotel is perfect for both business and leisure visitors.
Read more

Location

Full view
100Great for walkers
Grade: 100 out of 100
0Restaurantswithin 0 km
0Attractionswithin 0 km
Contact
John Redmond Street Shandon, Cork T23 A9TF Ireland
Getting there
Cork Airport7 kmSee all flights
Kerry County Airport78 kmSee all flights
See all nearby hotels
934Reviews19Q+A100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 388
  • 289
  • 159
  • 62
  • 36
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Pat M wrote a review Today
Ireland31 contributions
+1
Stayed here with my partner from the 14/09/21 to 16/09/21 in room 124. Not great I must say. Room was not only very dusty but also had cobwebs in many places. The base of the bed was also missing rollers which left the base uneven. Didn't sleep great as bed was uncomfortable. The dust was so heavy on top of the wardrobe that I was able to put my initials and cobwebs all over the room. Old urine also around toilet in bathroom. This room was meant to be cleaned under the current Covid recommendations. I doubt it. I informed a young lady at reception on 15/09/21 before myself and my partner had breakfast at 09:00. Nothing was done. Very disappointed. We won't be staying again.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Janette S wrote a review 6 Sep
2 contributions
We stayed in Cork for the weekend and the staff at this Maldron Hotel were just super & friendly. The hotel itself had a great atmosphere and was very very clean. The food was fab too!! We would highly recommend it for family visits. The leisure club beside it has a great little pool for the kids 😁 we will definitely be back. 😁
Read more
Date of stay: September 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Shandon, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Janette Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Cathrina Mulcahy Front Office Manager
Read more
Natasha D wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
We were truly disappointed with our 3 night 'girly trip' deal. Firstly, there are only 10 parking spaces in the hotel which forced us to park in an underground car park for 4 days costing us close to 50 euro! The breakfast was below mediocre and we had to send the sausages back as they were undercooked. The toast was warm bread and the tables are way too small to fit breakfast items. We asked to get our sheets changed on night two, when we arrived back the bed were made with the same blood stained sheet and they folded the already used towels to make it look like they were fresh towels! The worst part of the stay was the broken toilet, we asked reception to have a look which they did not.The toilet was continuously flushing which made it impossible to sleep with the noise of it. I wouldn't normally be one to leave such a negative review but it was one disappointment after another unfortunately. Will not be returning.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Shandon, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City
Responded 3 weeks ago
Dear Natasha, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Cathrina Mulcahy Front Office manager
Read more
Sheila wrote a review Aug 2021
4 contributions
This is my 4th or 5th time staying at the Maldron Shandon - previously had no problems which is why I chose to return. As soon as we checked in it felt wrong- there was a smell of rancid chip fat and the lobby was The colourless and bland. I had 2 rooms booked (an accessible room for my elderly mom and a twin for my niece and myself), my brother was checking in for his family and my sister and brother-in-law were also due to arrive. The person dealing with my check-in was very muddled and managed to assign me to my brothers room! We eventually got sorted at reception and went to our rooms on the 5 floor. Moms accessible room was big and the walk-in shower was perfect but I tried not to think about how we would get her out of the hotel in an emergency (fire especially) the room faced into an internal light well and corridors and lift access was narrow especially where the ceiling sloped. The TV did not work in this room (fixed by staff) and the bed was a zip lock style but the catch was broken and mom nearly fell when the bed separated in the night. My twin room was tiny for 2 adults we asked to change but told the hotel was at capacity so had to stay put. My bed was not correctly linked and there was a sharp metal catch sticking out - this was fixed by staff). The TV in our room did not work and required a new aerial cable. The towels were threadbare (see photo) and the noise of the plumbing was awful - basically every time someone on the 5th floor flushed the toilet it created a deep rumbling noise which lasted a few minutes each time. The rooms were very colourless and only paper cups were provided for tea/coffee. I know that the hotel claims that these are COVID related measures but as there is no evidence that anyone ever caught COVID from soft furnishings or ceramic cups it seems to me that this is a cost saving measure and a reduction in service. Over the 3 nights our rooms were never serviced and we had to ask at reception for spare loo rolls. All 4 rooms of our extended family party had some problem or other. My sister and her husband had to move rooms (despite me being told an hour earlier that there were no spare rooms) so all our family are of the opinion that this hotel is no longer a 4 star hotel. The final straw came with breakfast on day 2 - myself and mom asked for soda bread (we had it on day 1 and it was delicious), the bread was inedible as it seemed to be partly raw and then toasted (we had not asked for it to be toasted) - the bread had an odd sheen on the surface. I tasted a tiny bit but it did not taste good. We discussed this with the duty manager at the time. On previous visits we used the bar and restaurant and had large family dinners but we were not inclined to spend any time on this visit - we used the bar twice and had to sit in the lobby (not very comfortable for mom) the actual bar seems to be reserved for people eating but there was plenty of space to accommodate those wanting bar only. Good things about this hotel remain the friendly staff and the location. The hotel has a huge amount of work to do in order to reach the level needed for a 4star hotel. I’m not even sure that the management understand what 4star service involves. I did have a chat with a duty manager on checkout and I have had a follow up email but I still get the feeling that Maldron management think I am just being very picky and awkward.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Shandon, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Sheila, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of. Sincerely, Cathrina Mulcahy Front Office Manager
Read more
Ray Hynes wrote a review Aug 2021
1 contribution
We just got back from spending the weekend here and it was top class. It was our first time in Cork and when we eventually go back we are staying here again! Staff were amazing, special mention to Maria on reception who made us feel welcome as we first stepped through the door, especially our little 6 year old girl who was made feel really special and even more excited for our trip. The food was amazing, we had dinner there both nights and reasonably priced. Room was lovely and bright and spacious, the entire hotel had a family, chilled and relaxed vibe and made us enjoy our trip to Cork even more. Definitely be back in the future, thank you!
Read more
Date of stay: August 2021Trip type: Travelled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from Team Shandon, General Manager at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Ray, Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again very soon. Sincerely, Cathrina Mulcahy Front office manager
Read more
Previous
123456
LOCATION
IrelandProvince of MunsterCounty CorkCorkShandon
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City
Which popular attractions are close to Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City?
Nearby attractions include City Limits Comedy Club and Late NIght Venue (0.3 km), The Shelbourne Bar Cork (0.5 km), and Sin E (0.3 km).
What are some of the property amenities at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, free wifi, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City?
Yes, paid private parking nearby, paid public parking nearby, and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City?
Conveniently located restaurants include Cafe Spresso, Gallaghers Gastro Pub, and Strasbourg Goose Restaurant.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness centre, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Polish, and Lithuanian.
Are there any historical sites close to Maldron Hotel Shandon Cork City?
Many travellers enjoy visiting Blarney Castle & Gardens (7.2 km), Cork City Gaol (1.7 km), and Old Cork Waterworks Experience (2.5 km).