We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
#6 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,803 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Maryborough Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,781: English reviews
Ireland
Reviewed 19 November 2015

wow... gorgeous place... wow ... lovely entrance, lovely welcome, beautiful room, cosy, warm, all you could need.. as it was a wedding we were attending , the hotel areas we were using were absolutely adorable.. harpists playing... very chic... food was varied and all of it so very tasty ... staff excellent ... lovely seating areas spread out so you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank rudd1
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear rudd1, Thank you for taking the time to post a review to Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your visit to The Maryborough and so pleased to hear you found the food to be tasty and our staff to be friendly. Thank you for your kind comments, we hope to welcome you back to visit...

Reviewed 17 November 2015 via mobile

A quick thank you to all the staff in the Maryborough for a lovely weekend celebrating our friends hen party. Carmel & Charlene were so helpful on email helping us plan the perfect hen. I'm sure they won't miss the emails from us! All the staff throughout the weekend were friendly and helpful. The spa is beautiful and so relaxing....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fiona D
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Fiona, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your hen party stay at The Maryborough. We are also delighted to hear that you enjoyed your meals in the restaurant and will be sure to pass your kind comments along to Carmel, Charlene and the management team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Laura...

Reviewed 16 November 2015 via mobile

Very late writing this short review but wanted to since I stayed four months ago. Aside from the beautiful hotel, leisure centre and spa, it's the staff that made our stay memorable, they were all fantastic and could not do enough for us particularly front of house. Highly recommended.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Eleanor B
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Eleanor, Thank you for taking the time to post a review to Trip Advisor. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at The Maryborough. Thank you for your kind comments about our staff, we will be sure to pass them along. We hope to welcome you back to stay at the hotel again soon. Kind Regards,...

Greater London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 16 November 2015

About 40 of us had an excellent lunch. We were unsure of the numbers of attendees and the hotel staff were helpful and flexible with our booking. Thanks to the great staff we had a very enjoyable relaxed lunch,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 856fpc
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear 856fpc, Thank you for choosing The Maryborough for your recent lunch. We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit to the hotel and look forward to welcoming you back again soon. Kind Regards, Laura H. Digital Marketing Executive

Gorey, Ireland
Reviewed 14 November 2015 via mobile

Good food in the bar and well looked after by Siva and Tara. Spa was excellent but separate men and women. Unfortunately the room was not good. The mattress needs to be changed as we sank into the middle. Room furniture was dated. It was a spa room.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank OB M
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear OB M, Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your stay to Trip Advisor. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and will be sure to pass your kind comment on to Siva and Tara. We apologise if you were disappointed with the mattress in your room, please know your comments have been...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 12 November 2015 via mobile

Read my reviews before you read this, I am exceptionally fair and honest and tend never to give a bad rating, not this time. I am sorry in advance but I had to tell it as it is. The hotel is in a nice setting with plenty of car parking. Must admit never used the Spa facilities so can't comment...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank noleybaby
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Noleybaby, Thank you for your review of your visit to the hotel. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food and found the staff to be friendly, but we are very sorry to read that you were disappointed during your stay. We apologise if you experienced a lack of internet connection during your stay. This was due...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 12 November 2015

I stayed in the Maryborough as I thought it would be luxurious with the grandeur of a period house. The receptions area and the old house are just a series of rooms which then are disjointed from the main part of the hotel. The whole place could do with a revamp!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank jad745
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear jad745, Thank you for writing a review of your recent stay at the hotel. Our suites and mini suites are contained within the old house on the floors over the reception area. We would recommend booking one of these should you wish to experience the period features and design of the 18th century part of the building. We apologise...

Lido de Jesolo italy
Reviewed 11 November 2015

This hotel is beautiful-set in woodland with beautiful peaceful athmosphere. The owner is a lovely decent man and all your needs will be catered for. Try to get room with balcony overlooking the beautiful gardens. Best hotel in Cork situated near Douglas- a lovely village with everything to offer- also not far from the Airport .Hotel is right across the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Irishgirlaway
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear irishgirlaway, We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Maryborough. Thank you for your kind comments, please know that they will be passed on to the owner and to the management team. We hope to welcome you back again soon. Regards, Laura H. Digital Marketing Executive

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 11 November 2015

I visited the Maryborugh hotel midweek in July 2015 as I was working in the area. This is a premium priced luxury modern hotel located on the outskirts of Cork city, and Douglas. In conclusion I had an underwhelming visit here. Room My room was spacious and clean. There was free bottled water and cookies. It backed onto an unusual...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank TheLuckyRebel
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear TheLuckyRebel, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Maryborough during your recent visit to Cork. We are delighted to hear that you found your room to be spacious and clean. However, we apologise if you were disappointed with your experience at the leisure centre. If you feel comfortable we would ask you to email lhayes@marybrough.ie with further details...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 10 November 2015

i was not impressed with this hotel we traveled to the hotel for a friends wedding in October we arrived the before the wedding so as we would not be rushing getting ready for the wedding we were put in room 320 and it was facing the back of the hotel were all the deliveries came in we were woken...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Sharon K
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sharon, We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your recent visit to the hotel. We are also very sorry and surprised to hear that you have not heard from the manager since your complaint. If you feel comfortable- please email lhayes@maryborough.ie with details of which manager you dealt with in relation to your refund, so we...

655 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (249)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (102)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (354)
Viewed
Amenities (92)
Viewed
Deluxe Room with Balcony (36)
Viewed
King Suite with Garden View (47)
Viewed
Queen Room with Jacuzzi (37)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,284 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#4 of 23 in Cork
1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#12 of 23 in Cork
1,914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the leafy suburbs of Douglas, yet minutes from Cork City centre, The Maryborough has a character and style all its own. The hotel delivers a unique experience in an exceptional atmosphere. From the moment you enter, we will guarantee you a level of personal service and care designed to match the exquisite surroundings of our 300 year old listed gardens. You'll also have an award winning restaurant, state of the art leisure centre with pool and luxurious ESPA spa on your doorstep. Enjoy a stress-free business trip with complimentary parking & WiFi as well as a convenient location to business parks. Relax over a romantic getaway with gourmet dining & luxuriously comfortable rooms. And for the families, be sure to visit our on-site pet farm with bunnies & chickens & play our outdoor games and activities including crazy golf, badminton, boules & croquet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Address: Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Price Range: RM674 - RM903 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryborough Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Maryborough Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Hotel And Spa
Maryborough Hotel Cork
Maryborough House Hotel
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Cork
#4 Spa Hotel in Cork
#5 Family Hotel in Cork
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#6 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maryborough Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
4 questions
Ask a question
Cork, Ireland
over a year ago
Stoneham, Massachusetts
1 month ago
Cork, Ireland
Kildare, Ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (4)

Questions? Get answers from Maryborough Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“We had a bedroom with garden view, really lovely and quite on second floor.”
 of 5 bubbles ger44944, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book the Spa Rooms...either them or the Suites”
 of 5 bubbles SeanC1586, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
“The pro-facial is a must try!”
 of 5 bubbles margarets140, 2 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms on 2nd floor away from main hotel are quieter for an easier sleep”
 of 5 bubbles PaulMooney99, 1 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a beautiful suite, lovely and quiet”
 of 5 bubbles unam349, 20 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5