We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Show Prices
#7 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,840 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Maryborough Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Showing 1,818: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 14 December 2015 via mobile

On arrival hotel was busy as there was a wedding on. This meant parking some distance from the front door in an area covered in muck. Not a good start. Arrived to the reception area to a brusque, unfriendly 'welcome' with limited interaction or information given by the receptionist (who was clearly under pressure due to the large wedding crowd)...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank journeyman29
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Journeyman29, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay to Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the food in the restaurant. However, we are very sorry to read that you were disappointed during your time here. We sincerely apologise about the lack of hot water during your stay, this...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 8 December 2015

i had overnight stay at this most wonderful hotel. The staff were very friendly and helphful and made me feel very welcome. The food was excellent and the hotel and grounds was beautiful. I felt very relaxed there.this is a four star hotel with five star treatment. I am looking forward to going back for a visit in the not...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sean K
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sean, Thank you for posting a review of your recent overnight stay at The Maryborough to Trip Advisor. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time here and thank you for your kind comments about our staff, food and hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay again soon. Kind Regards, Laura H. Digital Marketing...

Killarney, Ireland
Reviewed 8 December 2015

I have stayed in the maryborough on two occasions and have had a gorgeous time both times. The food was amazing in the restaurant and the staff were extremely helpful and friendly. My only downside was on our second stay we splashed out for the jacuzzi spa room which was beautiful but was extremely warm and the air con didn't...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank lauraoregan2
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Laura, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visits to The Maryborough. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed both of your stays and that you found our staff to be helpful and friendly. Thank you too for your kind comments in relation to the food in our restaurant. We do...

Newbridge, Ireland
Reviewed 7 December 2015 via mobile

We recently spent a weekend at the Maryborough and are so glad we chose it for our time away. From check in to check out the staff were so pleasant and helpful. We chose a spa room with jacuzzi and it was perfect. Very large and modern and the jacuzzi was fabulous, well worth it. While it was out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Fionaff
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Fiona, Thank you for choosing The Maryborough for your recent visit to Cork. We are so pleased to hear that you and your boyfriend enjoyed your weekend stay in one of our jacuzzi rooms. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed dinner and lunch and sincerely apologise for any disappointment you may have experienced at breakfast, though we...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 December 2015

I've travelled to the Maryborough Hotel and Spa a number of times on business over the past few years. Sadly it looks like I will not be returning because of work, but I fully intend to return as a guest. Beautiful rooms, lovely grounds, delicious food, and one of the best spas I've visited are reason enough to visit. But...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jon H
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jon, Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your experiences at The Maryborough to Trip Advisor. We are so pleased to read that you have enjoyed your visits to the hotel and delighted to hear about the friendly & helpful service you have received from our staff. Please know that all your kind comments will...

County Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 4 December 2015

I stayed in the hotel last weekend with my sister for one night. The staff were fantastic, accommodating, friendly and very helpful. On arrival we were able to check in early, the Spa room was a gorgeous room with loads of space. We had lunch and dinner in the hotel. The lunch was lovely with a nice selection. Dinner was...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Susan N
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Susan, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Maryborough. We are delighted to hear that you and your sister enjoyed your recent visit to the hotel. Thank you too for your kind feedback on our staff and the food in our restaurant. Please know that your comments have been passed on to the management team. Thank you for...

Reviewed 3 December 2015

Overall the hotel was good. We stayed for two nights which included breakfast and one evening meal. I did have one complaint though, we were sold a family room - double bed and two single beds. Instead we were in a room with a double sofa bed and two singles. Sofa beds are NOT very comfortable. I had to sleep...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Noreen W
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your visit to The Maryborough. We are pleased to hear you found the hotel to be a good standard and delighted to hear that you enjoyed the leisure facilities and the food in the restaurant. We apologise for any confusion which occurred with your room type and...

County Kilkenny, Ireland
Reviewed 3 December 2015

Really nice hotel would reccomend it to anyone. Staff were lovely, rooms were really nice and very clean. The thermal suites are just fab perfect place to go and relax. Breakfast was lovely except our second morning was slightly disappointing. Dinner was ok menu was different taste to ours but still was ok. Will definately be back

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank Becci F
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Becci, Thank you for choosing to stay at The Maryborough on your recent visit to Cork. We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your visit and delighted to know that you found our staff to be lovely. Please know that your comment about breakfast will be passed to the kitchen team. Thank you for taking the time...

County Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 1 December 2015

We stayed for 2 nights, a long weekend, in the Maryborough. The thermal suite (complimentary access for guests) is wonderful: very clean with lovely facilities. Suite is gender segregated. The bar food is quite a limited menu, but Bellini's restaurant is really wonderful. I was dining gluten free and was well looked after (though more dessert options could be made...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jenny D
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear Jenny, Thank you for posting a review of your recent visit to The Maryborough Hotel & Spa. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed the thermal suites and the spa bedroom. Thank you for your kind comments about the food, please know that your comments in relation to the gluten-free selection have been passed on to the kitchen...

Cork
Reviewed 30 November 2015

Staff were extremely friendly, a warm welcome from the moment we landed. Clear directions to the room which were very useful because it was tucked away on Spa side of hotel and was fab! Lovely atmosphere throughout the hotel. Bus to the city centre from the main gate. Had a spa treatment which was gorgeous. A delicious breakfast with plenty...

Review collected in partnership with this hotel
 Report
Helpful?
Thank 555una
themaryborough, Digital Marketing Executive at Maryborough Hotel & Spa, responded to this review

Dear 55una, Thank you so much for your kind feedback about your recent stay here at The Maryborough. We are pleased to hear that you found our staff to be friendly and that you enjoyed the spa. Thank you too for your kind words about the food. Your comments have been relayed to the management team. Thank you for taking...

674 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (268)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (65)
Viewed
Room/Suite (44)
Viewed
View from Room (13)
Viewed
Dining (16)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (117)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (354)
Viewed
Amenities (92)
Viewed
Deluxe Room with Balcony (36)
Viewed
King Suite with Garden View (47)
Viewed
Queen Room with Jacuzzi (37)
Viewed
Dining (41)
Viewed
The Hotel (101)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (52)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (9)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (8)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,313 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,049 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Spa
  • Hot Tub
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located in the leafy suburbs of Douglas, yet minutes from Cork City centre, The Maryborough has a character and style all its own. The hotel delivers a unique experience in an exceptional atmosphere. From the moment you enter, we will guarantee you a level of personal service and care designed to match the exquisite surroundings of our 300 year old listed gardens. You'll also have an award winning restaurant, state of the art leisure centre with pool and luxurious ESPA spa on your doorstep. Enjoy a stress-free business trip with complimentary parking & WiFi as well as a convenient location to business parks. Relax over a romantic getaway with gourmet dining & luxuriously comfortable rooms. And for the families, be sure to visit our on-site pet farm with bunnies & chickens & play our outdoor games and activities including crazy golf, badminton, boules & croquet. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Maryborough Hotel & Spa

Address: Maryborough Hill | Douglas, Cork, Ireland (Formerly Maryborough House Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Douglas
Price Range: RM664 - RM895 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Maryborough Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 93
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Maryborough Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maryborough Hotel And Spa
Maryborough Hotel Cork
Maryborough House Hotel
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Cork
#4 Business Hotel in Cork
#5 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#5 Family Hotel in Cork
#7 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Maryborough Hotel & Spa staff and other travellers.
5 questions
Ask a question
Cork, Ireland
over a year ago
Stoneham, Massachusetts
2 months ago
Cork, Ireland
Kildare, Ireland
over a year ago

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Maryborough Hotel & Spa staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Overlooking the gardens and with a balcony.”
unigis1, 22 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Lower 200 rooms have patio, lower 300 rooms have single Juliet door balcony”
MariaW361, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Get a upgraded room with your own private terrace or balcony. Well worth the extra!!!”
ivanm882, 28 Mar 2017 | Read review
“We had a bedroom with garden view, really lovely and quite on second floor.”
ger44944, 13 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Book the Spa Rooms...either them or the Suites”
SeanC1586, 6 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5