We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ashley Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Ashley Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

198 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 170: English reviews
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 31 October 2016

Father Ted meets Fawlty Towers. The place has an "eclectic" style and actually started to grow on me by the time we were leaving but I can't say I'd ever recommend it. On the plus side it's centrally located so you can walk everywhere, surprisingly quiet and relatively cheap (though it didn't work out as such for us as we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jecond
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear jecond, we are glad you had a great Jazz Festival weekend. Thank you for liking our excellent location, a short walk from the main shopping areas, busy bars and restaurants. While we tried to accommodate your request to change your original date of arrival, you were aware of the 2 nights restriction over the Jazz Festival weekend and we...

Reviewed 24 October 2016 via mobile

Very small, very old. In serious need of an update. Floors were slanted in room, bathroom Was very dated the door didn't close properly and was very narrow. Got walked in on twice by housekeeping. Felt very judged by person checking us in

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Kathy S
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kathy S, thank you for your review. We appreciate your opinion. It is a shame you did not bring any of the above to our attention while staying at the hotel. We would have gladly offered a different bedroom, more to your liking. We checked if there was any issue with the door and we found no fault with...

Reviewed 23 October 2016

Outdated rooms. The photos on their website can be somewhat deceiving as you can be led to believe this is a modern place. Then again, I didn't do much research. I was offered another room, but it was very similar to the room I was put in so I didn't bother moving. I stayed in Room 27 which had spotty...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Steve P
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Steve P, thank you for your review. Our traditional Victorian hotel celebrates over 180 years this year. We are an independent hotel, offering a comfortable accommodation and all mod cons in the centre of Cork city. We are proud to have many happy returning customers, who love the character and the ambience of our hotel, our fantastic staff offering...

Reviewed 23 October 2016

This hotel markets itself as pet-friendly. I was traveling for the weekend to Cork city with my small dog, and was initially pleased to see a hotel that was so centrally located allowed pets. I made my booking on October 5th. Several weeks later, days before my arrival, I received a one-sentence email advising me that animals were not allowed...

 Report
Helpful?
4Thank Kate D
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Katie D, thank you for your opinion. As it was explained to you already by the management at the time of your arrival, we had "No pets" policy in place few weeks before your arrival (please contact the Customer Service of the 3rd party, used for your booking). Mistakenly, you were under the impression that pets were allowed in...

Phoenix, Arizona
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

The location is great. Short walk to center of Cork. Full breakfast was included. Eggs come well done. Rooms are good sized and ours had 2 double beds. There are good pubs nearby. Internet was reliable and fast.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank azlarry
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear azlarry, thank you very much for your review and kind words. We appreciate that you shared your positive experience with others and hope to see you again in the future.

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

If you're looking for a place that's in a convenient location in downtown cork to hit up the local pub's and restaurants, then stumble back to pass out, this hotel is for you! The rooms are very small (but very clean) with few electrical outlets. The room we stayed in literally just fit the bed and a small table. If...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DoritoFajita
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear DoritoFajita, thank you very much for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay, liked especially our excellent location, surrounded by restaurants and bars, standard and cleanliness of our bedrooms (we had also a selection of bigger rooms available at your arrival), friendliness of our fantastic and helpful staff. Thank you for complimenting our free WiFi and complimentary...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 15 September 2016

Stayed here recently as was in the city for work purposes and need a cheap and cheerful place to stay. Arrived in the evening and parked in the cramped higgledey-piggeldey car park. Glad I decided not to book in my dog as well (website claims to be pet friendly with kennel facility) as the kennels appeared to be an outdoor...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pepperonay
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Pepperonay, thank you for your review, however regarding your opinion about our hotel, we cannot agree with you.

New York City, New York
Reviewed 14 September 2016

read some negative comments about the Ashley but I have to stay it was a great stay! don't believe everything you read! Anita who checked me in was awesome! she took into account my request for a quiet room! not only quiet but with plenty of light and super fast wifi! the hotel is in an excellant location! close to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank maris09
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear maris09, thank you from our the staff and management for your lovely review and kind words. We are glad that you appreciated our efforts to make your stay a comfortable one and you shared your positive experience with others. Thank you again for your stay and we hope to see you in the future when returning to Cork City.

Roscommon
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Just wanted a single room. Special rates if you were 2 people sharing a double room. Looked good on the internet. Single room & breakfast €70. Single room did not have any window. A mirror where the window should be. Very cramped and catastrophic. Corridors very tight and narrow. Felt cut off from air. Upstairs balcony beside restaurant closed 'for...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank kiernan2016
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear kiernan2016, thank you for your opinion. We have a number of staff members available 24h for the guests service. You were given a quiet, back room, however if you only informed any of the staff on duty that you preferred a different room, we would have been glad to change it for you at your arrival.

Reviewed 10 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed two nights in this hotel whilst in Cork for a recent visit. The hotel is conveniently located to the city centre and its amenities so you are never far away from all the bars, restaurants and shops. The hotel itself is not large and stylish but is clean and tidy. It has a older style feeling about it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alan M
CorkAshley, General Manager at Ashley Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alan M, thank you from all the staff and management for your wonderful feedback and sharing your positive experience of staying at our property with others. We hope to see you again in the near future when visiting Cork City.

59 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (28)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Lancaster Lodge
#7 of 23 in Cork
688 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shandon
Maldron Hotel Cork
Maldron Hotel Cork
#17 of 23 in Cork
371 reviews
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#10 of 23 in Cork
807 reviews
The East Village
#22 of 23 in Cork
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome and enjoy excellent accommodation with ensuite facilities at surprising value prices in the heart of the City and enjoy a relaxing stay. Park your car in the complimentary on site residents car park and stroll to the shops cafes and bars at your door step. Wifi available throughtout. An extensive breakfast is served early to start your day ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ashley Hotel

Address: Ashley Hotel 16 Coburg Street, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Price Range: RM344 - RM564 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Ashley Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ashley Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Ashley Hotel staff and other travellers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from Ashley Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Room 27 is loud and WiFi is spotty.”
 of 5 bubbles R4037JGstevep, 23 Oct 2016 | Read review
“The twins rooms are very very small.”
 of 5 bubbles Pepperonay, 15 Sep 2016 | Read review
“I liked back rooms! quieter!”
 of 5 bubbles maris09, 14 Sep 2016 | Read review
“There's no lift just stairs and a maze of short corridors with fire doors every few steps. Would advise against if in any physical weakness.”
 of 5 bubbles H9726XUmarym, 2 Sep 2016 | Read review
“Don't Do it!!!”
 of 5 bubbles KillowenCork, 26 Jul 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay