We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Abbey Hotel

Visit hotel website
 2 people are viewing this hotel
Check In— / — / —
Check Out— / — / —
Guests1 room, 2 adults, 0 children
Traveller (151)
Room & Suite (61)
Dining (23)

About

Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Perfectly located in the Heart of Donegal Town convenient for all local amenities an ideal base for touring the stunning County Donegal. The Abbey Hotel is conveniently situated for beautiful coastal drives and main signature discovery points of the Wild Atlantic Way including the famous Slieve League. Seasonal nightly entertainment in The Bar, Concessionary Parking, Complimentary Leisure Facilities (in our sister Hotel the Central next door), Disabled Access.
Read more
Property amenities
Room Service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Banquet Room
Breakfast Available
Conference Facilities
Dry Cleaning
Meeting Rooms
Non-Smoking Hotel
Public Wifi
Wheelchair Access
Show more
Room features
Accessible rooms
Family Rooms
Non-Smoking Rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
River View
Mid-range
HOTEL CLASS
Hotel links
Visit hotel website

Location

Full view
73Somewhat walkable
Grade: 73 out of 100
20Restaurantswithin 0.5 km
14Attractionswithin 0.5 km
914Reviews
201Photos
11Q+A
100Room tips
Traveller rating
  • 323
  • 291
  • 146
  • 85
  • 69
Time of year
Traveller type
Language
  • More languages
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
We stayed there on 16th to 18th Feb we go here always first hotel I come to when I want a break from home to relax.. love it here coming for years food is amazing an staff is so lovely can't do enough to make sure ur stay is nice an relaxing... thanks abbey hotel an staff.. will
Read more
Response from Elaine M, Director of Sales at The Abbey Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Thank you Tracey for taking the time to review your stay at the Abbey Hotel It is a pleasure to read your lovely review We are delighted you enjoyed your experience. Here at the Abbey Hotel we pride ourselves on our wonderful team of staff and their dedication to customer service excellence so thank you for your kind comments. In our menus we are very lucky to have a fantastic culinary team and we can work with so many local produce inspired by the Wild Atlantic Way Thank you for your review We look forward to welcoming you back on the 30th March Kind regards Elaine McInaw
Read more
Took a group of sixteen to the Abbey Hotel. Great hotel. Central location. Staff fantastic kind, helpful, considerate. Nothing is too much for them. Rooms spacious and clean. Warm too. Food is excellent. Fresh - something on the menu for everyone. Worth a visit anytime
Read more
Response from Elaine M, Director of Sales at The Abbey Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Cli0dhnaM Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Abbey Hotel We are delighted you enjoyed your experience. Here at the Abbey Hotel we pride ourselves on our wonderful team of staff and their dedication to customer service excellence so thank you for your kind comments. In our menus we are very lucky to have a fantastic culinary team and we can work with so many local produce inspired by the Wild Atlantic Way Thank you for your review We look forward to welcoming you back Kind regards Elaine McInaw
Read more
Today on the 27th January 2019 between 4pm -5pm I sat for 15 mins at table 11 which is situated in front of bar and wasn’t acknowledged or served. Staff were not busy as they were chatting away behind bar and even as I tried making eye contact would not acknowledge me. Very poor
Read more
Response from Elaine M, Director of Sales at The Abbey Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear Cassie I appreciate you taking the time to review your experience, i really can only profusely apologise as this is not at all our usual standard of service. We take on board your feedback and will be investigating same but in the meantime i do hope you have an opportunity to return to us so that you can experience our usual excellent service and we can remedy your impression Kind regards Elaine McInaw
Read more
Not as luxurious as advertised unfortunately . The lady at reception was nice but unfortunately we just didn't enjoy our stay and won't ever be returning . Car park issue was a maaajor issue as the hotel doesn't have one. It took us ages to find a parking space in the town and
Read more
Response from Elaine M, Director of Sales at The Abbey Hotel
Responded 2 days ago
Dear ontheroadagain2019 Thank you for taking the time to review your stay, we always appreciate feedback, it is just unfortunate that you didn't relay your issues with us during your stay as we would have most definately been able to rectify issues such as car tickets, we have concessionary tickets at reception, with your mattress which you felt uncomfortable we could have changed your room type as all our mattresses are recently replaced in phases and it was unfortunate your room must not have been upgraded at the time of stay. In regards to breakfast all of our Direct bookings on our website include breakfast, it is only when you book third party on Booking.com or Expedia that you can only Book Room Only, this is highlighted in the booking that has a rate for Room Only which excludes breakfast. It is unfortunate that you don't intend to return as i have no doubt we could have remedied your impression of your experience, thank you for your kind workds about our Receptionist and also Night Porter Francis , we pride ourselves on our wonderful team of staff dedicated to customer service excellence. Kind regards Elaine McInaw
Read more
Beds were so bad I was able to squeeze the mattress with one hand and use 1 finger to push into the mattress right through to the davan beneath rooms a bit dated didn't bother me to much went down next day to complain got given choice of 2 rooms first room bed springs coming
Read more
Previous
Album Categories
All photosTravellerRoom & SuiteDining Pool & BeachBusiness Centre & Event Rooms
Photo provided by managementThe Abbey Hotel
Family Room / Diamond View
PreviousNext
12345613
Our Country Music Weekend is on 19th - 21st January We also have a Country Music Weekend 9th -11th March
0 votes
Show all answers
Yes, but its next door in the adjacent hotel. there is also a nice hot Jacuzzi, enjoy :)
0 votes
Show all answers
Yes. There are elevators to all the floors.
1 vote
Show all answers
Hi thebres The Abbey Hotel has lots of Entertainment check out their Facebook page @abbeyhotel our events are on there and we update it weekly with the bar entertainment. Hope that helps, catherine
0 votes
Show all answers
PreviousNext
123
"Ask for a quiet room when booking"
"Best views are on the river side."
"We had a room to the back of the hotel and it was very quiet"
"Ask to see it first or go elsewhere"
"Stay somewhere else that is clean and has parking"
PreviousNext
12345620
PRICE RANGE
US$100 - US$214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the abbey hotel donegal townabbey hotel donegal
LOCATION
IrelandDonegal Town
NUMBER OF ROOMS
117
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing