We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Show Prices
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

4,076 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,723: English reviews
Cork
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

There is only one place to stay in Dublin that's down town. Great location and a warm welcome on arrival. Had a little problem with the heating which they sorted out and gave me a new room. Friendly staff mean a lot. Nice bars and the city is on the doorstep.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Leonard G
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We have just had yet another fantastic stay in The Gresham. We have stayed in many hotels in Dublin and keep coming back to The Gresham as our favourite! We were delighted to stay in the College Wing this time, a beautiful room with clean and attractive decor . I highly recommend staying in one of these rooms if possible...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cathi O
County Galway, Ireland
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here for our anniversary and was sorely disappointed. At check in we were charged twice for our room. The room we got was musty and smelled. Then we were overcharged for our lunch. When I rang about the overcharging the staff said they'd ring me back but they didn't. I emailed the reservations department about my complaint and they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tedd03
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns. We regret that your stay at our hotel did not fulfill your conception in general. Our policy is to make every attempt to please and keep our guests content. We are deeply disappointed to find that our team did not turn around...

Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

So I came here for my birthday weekend we were able to check in as soon as we arrived 10 am which was wicked so we could go and explore ! Check in was stated 3pm so this was a bonus. When I returned I had a lovely message wishing me happy birthday with some biscuits! Whilst there our heating...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank nicola b
Workington, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights to celebrate our first wedding anniversary. The location is perfect! Central for everything. We were so impressed by the grand reception area and couldn't wait to get to our room. But the room was so dated and very very basic. No tea, coffee etc. We booked on a bed & breakfast basis...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carly W
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fantastic cultural city and the Gresham was a superb hotel perfectly situated. The room was fab, the bed was comfy and the staff were great. We had food in the evening which was delishious. Breakfast again was fantastic. I couldn't fault it

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Wendy S
A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed at the Hotel Gresham in Dublin and couldn't have asked for a more central location. Close to shops pubs and restaurants. Easy to get around the city as on the doorstep to all bus routes. We had the Irish buffet breakfast which was plentiful. Room was compact but more than adequate for a weekend break. Bed was comfortable but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
North West England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel in ideal location close to all amenities - Airport coach/bus stop outside. Check in very good. We had asked via e-mail for a quiet room and high floor - our wish was granted thanks to Andrew on reception who kindly upgraded us to a fabulous suite on the 6th floor. Room very comfortable and very large. No noise whatsoever....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happyholidays04
Wells, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I'd always wanted to stay at what was, once, Dublin's premier hotel. It is no longer what it once was though. The lobby is still grand and beautiful but the hotel behind is down at heel. The room, though large, was ugly, bare and unloved. Breakfast was much the same. That end of O'Connell Street is also seedy and slightly...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank RIchard_of_Binegar
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns. We regret that we could not meet your expectations with all aspects of your holiday and would like to inform you that the Gresham had a partial renovation in 2015. RIU is constantly working on the renovation and maintenance of the individual...

Calgary, Canada
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

There was clearly construction happening above our room which we weren't notified of. The noise was insane and non stop one morning. Started at 8:30 and I'm not sure how long the noise continued because it was actually so loud that we needed to leave the room. I guess the drilling couldn't wait until the afternoon when most people are...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank danruether
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns. We regret that your stay at our hotel did not fulfill your conception in general. Our policy is to make every attempt to please our guests. We are deeply disappointed to find that our team did not turn around this situation to...

1,151 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (679)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (114)
Viewed
Bathroom (67)
Viewed
Room/Suite (145)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (297)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (459)
Viewed
Amenities (58)
Viewed
Elizabeth Taylor Suite (89)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Standard Double Room #408 (60)
Viewed
Standard Double Room #442 (69)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (66)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.1 km away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#47 of 153 in Dublin
4,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#35 of 153 in Dublin
2,653 reviews
0.8 km away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#50 of 153 in Dublin
3,267 reviews
0.2 km away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#49 of 153 in Dublin
2,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Toddy's Bar and Bistro
Toddy's Bar and Bistro
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, British
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is located in the heart of Dublin, in a historic building on the famous O’Connell Street, and become one of the city's emblematic sites. This Irish hotel offers you the best facilities for you to enjoy an unforgettable holiday with RIU Hotels & Resorts. All of the rooms in this urban Dublin hotel are equipped with the most excellent amenities to cover all your needs during your stay with us, including a television, safe and WiFi connection. We also have a penthouse suite from which you can enjoy spectacular views over the city and the incredible surroundings of the Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin This new hotel in Ireland offers various unique function rooms for you to hold any kind of event. These rooms are perfectly equipped for your meetings to be a resounding success. The Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin is also located very close to the Convention Centre Dublin making it the ideal place for business travellers. The new Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin has an extensive and well-planned menu for you to enjoy authentic culinary experiences. The facilities also include a bar for you to savour the best aperitifs or relax with an authentic cup of tea. This Dublin hotel is in an ideal location for any visitor. Surrounded by the main shopping area in Grafton Street and Henry Street, you will also find the most celebrated shows and theatres such as Gate Theatre and the National Concert Hall, and some of the most famous places in Dublin like Croke Park and Temple Bar. The hotel is also located a stone's throw away from Abbey Street tram station which will easily take you to any other point of the city. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Price Range: RM629 - RM1,373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#37 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin staff and other travellers.
30 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (30)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Ask for a room that dose not look onto the main street as ther is a lot of noise”
marydollmall, 14 Apr 2017 | Read review
“e-mail hotel in advance”
happyholidays04, 9 Apr 2017 | Read review
“all room excellent have stayed here a lot.”
36disapointed, 1 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Hotel upgraded us upon arrival.”
Seafishtown, 24 Mar 2017 | Read review
“Rooms in the newer sections tend to be more comfortable.”
Pigeonherder, 22 Mar 2017 | Read review
5 of 5