We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

3,983 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
There are newer reviews for Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin
See the most recent reviews
Showing 3,645: English reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is really clean with nice staff. We stayed there for a night and have a lovely breakfast the day after. The checkout time was at 12.00 but it was extended to 14.00 for us without extra charge. Thanks

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MohsenYazdifar
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The worst afternoon tea experience of my life (and I've had bad before). Sad to see the Gresham make empty promises when it comes to previous customer reviews (which I'm just after seeing - had I read it before I was brought here I would have quickly refused to go). For starters we arrived at 2pm booking for afternoon tea....

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Y1987S
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns. We are committed to provide excellent quality of our products and services to our guests. We regret to read that you have left our hotel with an opposite idea in your mind. We appreciate our guests’ comments since they help us improve...

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staying at the Holiday Inn Express, a few yards up the road, we went to the Gresham for a light lunch. The dining area, with a large oval bar, is very spacious and well appointed. Uniformed hotel staff are on hand to take you to a table and the large capacity for diners guarantees you will not be disappointed. A...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Trevor J
Cobh, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Although this was a brief visit it was an experience to be treasure as I was treated so very well by the staff. Their training must be of the highest standard as this is openly displayed in their attention to detail and their willingness to assist when requested.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Padraigh49
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just back from a lovely time at the RIU Plaza Gresham Hotel and I have to say we thoroughly enjoyed it!The staff are a credit to you so polite N helpful,the breakfast buffet had such a great choice an I love your pancakes!will definitely be back😀

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Amanda P
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed one night. Had a job finding the hotel reception from the carpark. It was confusing and felt like a maze of added on buildings. The room was comfortable, and the bathroom was clean. Breakfast was average. (Toast was very pale, eggs hard, fruit salad was tart, yogurt was gloopy). The mish mash of modern / impressionist decor is not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Gr8Review
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns. We regret that your stay at our hotel did not fulfill your conception in general. Our policy is to make every attempt to please and keep our guests content. We are deeply disappointed to find that our team did not turn around...

Kilcar, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Didn't live up to its name, the room was dated and over priced. A lot of noise from the alley below our room because of the single pane glass window. Not what we expected for a couple on honeymoon. Staff at reception just didn't care when we complained. Needless to say we won't be back.

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Stevo382
RiuHotelsandResorts, Online Reputation Manager at Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin, responded to this review

Dear guest, Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback and for expressing your concerns. We are committed to provide excellent quality of our products and services to our guests. We regret to read that you have left our hotel with an opposite idea in your mind. We appreciate our guests’ comments since they help us improve...

Gentofte Municipality, Denmark
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I had a suite with lots of room and it was awesome. The service was excellent - both at the reception and in the restaurant that I only used for breakfast due to the business trip reason of spending four full days in the Convention Center which is a good 25 walk by the river. Great time and beautiful city!...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Anders_Dalgaard
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a deluxe room at the back of the hotel so nice & quiet. The room was spacious & the shower pressure was fantastic. The car park is behind the hotel & not easy to access the hotel reception, as you require a room key to access the 2nd floor & change lifts to the internal one. A...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Renzo_Joe
Townsville, Australia
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Had a lovely Stay the staff are very friendly and helpful the rooms were tidy and clean beds were very comfortable, great hot shower and even a bath after a long day of sight seeing was great to come home to

 Report
Helpful?
Thank janellewragge

1,121 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (649)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (108)
Viewed
Room/Suite (145)
Viewed
Bathroom (64)
Viewed
Dining (32)
Viewed
View from Room (15)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (2)
Viewed
Other (276)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (459)
Viewed
Amenities (58)
Viewed
Elizabeth Taylor Suite (89)
Viewed
Dining (56)
Viewed
Standard Double Room #408 (60)
Viewed
Standard Double Room #442 (69)
Viewed
Superior Double Room (66)
Viewed
The Hotel (61)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 km away
Jurys Inn Dublin Parnell Street
0.1 km away
Academy Plaza Hotel
Academy Plaza Hotel
#47 of 151 in Dublin
4,228 reviews
0.6 km away
The Morgan
The Morgan
#33 of 151 in Dublin
2,582 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.2 km away
Cassidys Hotel
Cassidys Hotel
#50 of 151 in Dublin
2,373 reviews
2.1 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 151 in Dublin
4,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Toddy's Bar and Bistro
Toddy's Bar and Bistro
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, British
Things to do
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Smoking rooms available
  • Accessible rooms
Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Iconic Hotel on Dublin's main thoroughfare, renovated during 2014 and 2015. Excellent proximity to major attractions, business districts, Dublin Convention Centre, Croke Park, 3 Arena, Rail, Bus Stations and shops. Easily accessible from Dublin Airport via Aircoach and Dublin Bus (bus stop at front door of hotel). Free Wi-Fi. Car Parking Available €17.00 overnight rate. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin

Address: 23 Upper O'Connell Street, Dublin D01 C3W7, Ireland (Formerly Gresham Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > North City Centre
Price Range: RM423 - RM1,332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin 4*
Number of rooms: 323
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gresham Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#34 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#35 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#46 Family Hotel in Dublin
#47 Business Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin staff and other travellers.
27 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (27)

Questions? Get answers from Hotel Riu Plaza The Gresham Dublin staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Had a room with a view of O'Connell street, 4th floor and we were never woken by any noise so it was perfect.”
 of 5 bubbles KieranBrighton, 17 Feb 2017 | Read review
“Request a room in the inner sanctum areas as outside wall rooms could be noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles 944AndrewB, 16 Feb 2017 | Read review
“higher floor away from lifts!”
 of 5 bubbles Privatedancer, 15 Feb 2017 | Read review
“We were on top floor”
 of 5 bubbles tinsley27, 14 Feb 2017 | Read review
“A room at the back is very quiet -- lovely!”
 of 5 bubbles Cobblerstravels, 13 Feb 2017 | Read review
5 of 5