We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveller (128)
Room & Suite (140)
Dining (13)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent22%
  • Very good43%
  • Average21%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible6%
Travellers talk about
“common room”(34 reviews)
“bed dorm”(27 reviews)
“temple bar”(99 reviews)
Free Wifi
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Laundry Service
Free Parking
Pool
1 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (840)
Filter reviews
537 results
Traveller rating
131
223
101
47
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
More languages
131
223
101
47
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscommon roombed dormtemple bargreat locationfree breakfastmixed dormperson roomown bathroomchrist church cathedraldublin castleairport busstayed nightslight sleepercentral locationtrinity collegehostelbeds
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
1 - 5 of 537 reviews
Reviewed yesterday

The property as such is not amazing, creaking floorboards as well as in some cases creaking doors, but the location of this hostel could not have been better. The hostel is located smack dab in the middle of the town right opposite Christ Church. Temple...More

Thank pallavi s
Response from AvalonDublin, Front Office Manager at Kinlay HouseResponded yesterday

Dear Guest Thank you so much for taking the time to review your stay with us. Creaking floors are specific to the old buildings, but we are very happy to see that you did not let this affect your stay with us. We are looking...More

Reviewed 2 days ago

Booking with hostel was a disaster, check in was 2 pm i arrived 1 pm and made me wait even though room was ready. How do i know this because i knew peopel in the room i was being checked into. Pretty old hostel. Showers...More

Thank dylan581
Response from AvalonDublin, Front Office Manager at Kinlay HouseResponded yesterday

Dear Guest We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the stay with us. As per procedures, even if the rooms are finished cleaning they are only released to guests only after they are checked by management. I am sorry this procedures annoyed...More

Reviewed 1 week ago

Me and my friends spent two nights at Kinlay House: the whole staff were really nice and helpful, some of them were able to speak perfectly different languages too. Both double and multiple room (6 beds) were clean and the beds were comfortable. There were...More

Thank Gaia P
Response from AvalonDublin, Front Office Manager at Kinlay HouseResponded yesterday

Dear guest Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review about your stay in Kinlay House. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in the future! Kind Regards, Management

Reviewed 15 March 2018

I was supposed to come into Dublin during their snowstorm, but my flight was cancelled due to extreme weather. This hostel treated it as a no-show, and charged me two nights instead of the one night it says they would charge on their website. I've...More

1  Thank LXS237
Response from Kinlay D, Front Office Manager at Kinlay HouseResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Guest. I am sorry to hear that you did not get to experience the stay with us. I do need to advise however that when you get a non refundable discounted rate based on 2 nights stay, the rate become a booking rate and...More

Reviewed 14 March 2018

This was the first stop on our 3 months of backpacking and my husband and I thought it was great. I usually wouldn't like massive rooms with like 30 people, but the Kinlay Room was airy and attractive. As long as you have ear plugs...More

Thank chauxvive
Response from Kinlay D, Front Office Manager at Kinlay HouseResponded 15 March 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are honored to have backpacking guests like yourselves and we are glad to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for all your good thoughts and recommendations. Looking forward to having you...More

View more reviews
Nearby Hotels
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Breakfast included
Laundry Service
Details
Price range
US$20 - US$165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
US$20 - US$165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveller (128)
Room & Suite (140)
Dining (13)
Amenities (26)
Business Centre & Event Rooms (6)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
teena999
16 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Kinlay D | Property representative |
The Airport Shuttle has to be pre-booked with our reservation team.
0
Votes
teena999
16 October 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Rofhie | Reviewed this property |
Airlink 747 from the airport to the hostel .. the hostel is well located , affordable and easy to get around . It is closer to many attractions.
1
Vote
rominamazzotta
19 March 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from Donal M | Reviewed this property |
Doubt it very much.
0
Votes
Room Tips
"Book with issacs hostel instead."
Read review
"Only take Kinlay Room if you're prepared for lots of people- but I liked it a lot."
Read review
"Do not book this room if you are a young female traveller"
Read review
"We noticed our neighbours in room #109 had their own bathroom and shower."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing