We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Hotels.comUS$236*
View Deal
#48 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Lock in the lowest price from our partners
View Deal
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Professional photos
O\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,579 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,455: English reviews
Start your review of O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel
 Click to rate
Newfields, New Hampshire
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We enjoyed this location in the city, the rooms are warm, so you need to keep the windows open, but the Gingerman below is quite loud. Rooms are clean, and lobby is wonderful, but rooms need an update. Shower was full pressure. Getting out of the parking garage was tricky, make sure to get it validated before you go get...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank trishcoxnh
Perth, Australia
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I stayed in the Davenport for 1night with my wife - if it had been longer than 1 night I would have asked for a full refund and found another Hotel. Firstly the full Hotel is very dated and in dier need of modernising and upgrading - the photos on the website make it seem way nicer than it actually...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Cormac M
Rep of Ireland
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The staff at this hotel were very very nice and the location is quiet central. The hotel itself was just okay in that, the rooms are quiet run down. The outside is magnificent but the hotel interior is shabby. Breakfast wasn't included in our stay but there was discounted parking. Average price for a Dublin hotel.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lireland
Roisin M, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lireland, Many thanks for sharing your recent feedback with us following your stay. I am delighted you enjoyed our fantastic location and our magnificent facade. i am however saddened to readthat some aspects of your stay disapointed you. I will ensure to pass on this feedback to all relevant departments to ensure we are constantly improving. if you ever...

Paignton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Hotel looks impressive and in same street as Oscar Wilde's house, near St Stephens Green. Rooms were large, beds comfortable, quiet location, walking distance to centre and main sights. Bathrooms a bit dated and shower disappointing trickle, (stopped working completely on last day, and we were offered another room to shower. Maintenance were quick though). Disappointed by lack of Irish...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Rhian H
Roisin M, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rhian H, Many thanks for giving your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am thrilled you enjoyed our fabulous location and our impressive facade. I am disapointed to read however that you were not happy were certain aspects of your room and it saddens me that you did not recieve a warm reception from the front desk....

Colorado Springs, Colorado
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

Interesting building and the location on Merrion Square can't be beat. I would probably say a 3 1/2 star hotel, but the rooms are clean, and the beds are comfortable. The shower needs a bit more pressure, but will get you clean and is hot, so that is all that counts. Not a bad place to stay and the service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank can529
Roisin M, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear can529, Many thanks for sharing your feedback following your recent stay with us. I am thrilled you enjoyed our beautiful facade and our our comfortable beds. i have made note of all your comments and will ensure to pass them on to the relevent departments to ensure we are constantly improving and meeting guests needs. We hope to be...

Toronto, Canada
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We arrived and the check in was extremely slow having only one person on the front desk. When we saw our room we were disappointed in the size, especially for the price we paid $300 per night. The amenities in the room were awful. The TV is tiny like a computer screen and didn't work, the hairdryer was so outdated...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Fa A
Roisin M, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Fa A, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us. While I am very disappointed that your review is a negative one it is feedback such as this that allows us to continuously improve our standards and services in the hotel. I would like to apologize on behalf of all the...

Ilkeston
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed for a Saturday night during my first visit to Dublin for my husbands birthday along with our adult children. We were delighted to be upgraded to a suite which was very spacious. A very early morning flight led us to drop our luggage off at 8.30am and as one of our rooms was available we were able to check...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank FBuz
Roisin M, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear FBuz, Thank you very much for sharing your review following your recent stay with us. I am glad to read that you found our staff to be friendly and that you enjoyed our breakfast. We are also very lucky to be in such a grat location; just a stone's throw from many popular bars, restaurants and tourist attractions. I...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Staff is very friendly and very accommodating. Breakfast food was ok too. The biggest issue with this hotel is the fact that it is so outdated. The rooms/hotel need a serious upgrade. Wifi is terrible too. The decor reminds me of something I would've seen 30 years ago. All of the appliances in the room are garbage: hairdryer, fridge (which...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Michael X
Roisin M, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Michael X, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us. While I am very disappointed that your review is a negative one it is feedback such as this that allows us to continuously improve our standards and services in the hotel. I would like to apologize on behalf of all the...

Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Worst hotel I ever stayed in, asked for a quite room, got given a room with a green LED light located immediately over the bed, flashed all night, impossible to sleep , no other rooms available, same issue with colleague, it appears this issue exits in all end of corridor rooms, don't know how a company can stand over selling...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith N
Roisin M, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Keith N, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us. While I am very disappointed that your review is a negative one it is feedback such as this that allows us to continuously improve our standards and services in the hotel. I would like to apologize on behalf of all the...

Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I initially made the reservation to their sister hotel The Alexander (across the street). However, due to some confusion in their system, the reservation got cancelled on the day we were arriving and no one informed us about it. Imagine, to arrive late and, the hotel which you reserved and confirmed over the phone, has your reservation cancelled out of...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Filipa P
Roisin M, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Filipa P, Many thanks for sharing your feedback following your recent stay with us. Le tme firstly express my deepest aplogies for the mix up in your booking, however I was glad to find that we were able to find a mutual resolution. However I am glad you had the chance to enjoy our fantastic location; we are very...

544 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (247)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (55)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (104)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (283)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Classic King Room (63)
Viewed
Junior Suite (76)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
04/06/2017 05/06/2017
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 km away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
0.1 km away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
0.5 km away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#51 of 151 in Dublin
3,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Buswells Hotel
Buswells Hotel
#23 of 151 in Dublin
1,417 reviews
1.0 km away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.9 km away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#9 of 151 in Dublin
2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on a quiet corner in the heart of Dublin City, only moments away from the buzz of city life, the O’Callaghan Davenport Hotel Dublin is where history and modernity unite. A fusion of old and new is a distinctive feature of this traditional, elegant Dublin City centre hotel. Imaginatively decorated in warm, vibrant colours, the 4-star Davenport Hotel Dublin has been designed with style and comfort in mind. Upon arrival at the Davenport Luxury hotel Dublin City you will be greeted by the hotel’s striking facade, distinguishing it from any other. It is all that remains of the landmark building, Merrion Hall Just off Merrion Square Dublin City, designed by Alfred G Jones in 1863, after a fire engulfed the building in 1990. The interior refurbishment and exterior restoration has been sensitive to the historic nature of the building. There are a host of facilities available for the business or leisure guest at the O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel Dublin. Rich dark woods engulf President’s Bar, creating an inviting, clubhouse ambience, where residents and locals stop to unwind and enjoy a drink, coffee, or light lunch. Lanyon’s Restaurant is famed for its relaxed atmosphere and tasty European fare. If fitness is your relaxant, there is a 24-hour gymnasium for exclusive use of hotel residents at Dublins Davenport Hotel. The discerning business guest is certain to feel at home in O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel. There is a wide range of facilities at your disposal in the business centre, open 24-hours, while wireless broadband is available in the lobby. As flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels, guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin City O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Address: Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: RM824 - RM1,391 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davenport Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#8 Green Hotel in Dublin
#19 Family Hotel in Dublin
#32 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#55 Business Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel staff and other travellers.
41 questions
Ask a question
Manistee, Michigan
1 month ago
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Houston, Texas

See all questions (41)

Questions? Get answers from O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Avoid - much better hotels in the area!!”
CormacM_13, 19 May 2017 | Read review
“maybe call them again before you go, as organisation is bad.”
504rebekkak, 2 May 2017 | Read review
“Floor 5 was very qiiet”
353mattl, 25 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Our room (512) is great for those who are light sleepers.”
SarniaGirl, 20 Apr 2017 | Read review
“Don't go. It is so bad...”
niamhaw, 10 Apr 2017 | Read review
5 of 5
Hotels.com
US$236* /night
View Deal
AMOMAUS$554
Orbitz.comUS$236
Hotwire.comUS$236
View all 13 deals
*Disclaimer
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Change dates