We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Show Prices
#36 of 150 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Professional photos
O\\
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,461 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,351: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed yesterday NEW

Normally we stay the first weekend in Dec at O'Callaghan's on the Green, but as we left the booking late this year, we stayed at the Davenport instead and we were not disappointed. 8 of us had a mixture of Jnr Suites and twin rooms - the suites are enormous - so much that 8 of us could comfortably hang...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank K_RocheLondon
Wexford, Ireland
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed here on recent visit to Dublin and we got a lovely spacious room with attached sitting room which was very comfortable. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Car parking was about 100 metres away and cost 12 euro per day. Breakfast was good but not excellent. Bar was comfortable and pleasant with quite good bar food available. Very pleasant...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JamesS6523TS
Donna D, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JamesS6523TS, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you found the room to be lovely, spacious and comfortable and that you found the staff to be very friendly. Thank you for your lovely feedback about the bar and the selection of food available. I will be...

Sydney
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

From the start this is not the usual type of place or location we would stay at when in Dublin. We tend to gravitate to the less expensive offerings of say Lower Gardiner Street. As a treat our Irish friends booked us a night here as a farewell to Ireland. This is an impressive building that used to be a...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank JnVSydney
Donna D, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JnVsydney, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you were impressed with the building and the beautiful interior. Thank you for your lovely comments about the staff, particularly Jifferson, they are very much appreciated. I have passed on your feedback about the light on the smoke...

Buffalo, Wyoming
Reviewed 1 week ago

This hotel was located in an ideal spot, close to Trinity College and the National Museums. The hotel was very accommodating getting us into our room at 6 in the morning. The staff was very helpful getting reservations at nearby restaurants and giving walking directions. We would definately stay here again!

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank wattranch
Donna D, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear wattranch, Thank you very much for sharing your 5 star review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you took advantage of our wonderful location. We are very lucky to be situated so close to all of the tourist attractions. Thank you for your kind comments about the...

Aurora, Illinois
Reviewed 1 week ago

On the last day of our stay in Dublin, me and my family decided to have a stroll down the city center. On the corner of some park next to goverment buildings you'll find gorgeous Davenport O'Callaghan. Insides of the Hotel is kept in cold stones and classy interiors, which we liked a lot. We thought of restaurant but apparently...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank davidfranco79
Donna D, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear davidfranco79, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your 5 star review. All of the staff in the Davenport strive to deliver an excellent level of customer service to all of our guests so I am delighted that on this occasion Bart went above and beyond and left a lasting impression on you. Thank you very...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel has an amazing location, in the city center. Near are bus stops and also tour bus stops. Next to the hotel is the park with statue of Oscar Wilde and his house. Near are several Irish pubs with great atmosphere. The hotel from outside looks perfect, it is in an old building. When you will come in, you...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tatiana B
Donna D, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Tatina B, Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback of your recent stay with us. I am disappointed to read that it was a negative experience for you however it is feedback such as this which allows us to continuously improve our standards and services. I have taken all of your constructive feedback on board where...

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Had excellent customer service of James when we checked in he was very helpful fantastic room great location to see the sights was advised by Donna to use the hop on hop off bus great advice the bus is a must for visitors will be back soon John and Ann xx

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank AnnJohnMcBurnie
Donna D, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear AnnJohnMcBurnie, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful 5 star review. I am delighted that you received excellent customer service from James. Our main goal is to ensure that all of our guests leave the hotel feeling just as you did. This is what makes our job most enjoyable. I am thrilled to read...

St Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

We only stayed a couple of nights at the hotel but were pleased with the overall standard of everything in the rooms and public areas. The main reason was the location as it was a quick walk to all the main sight that Dublin has to offer as we were only there for a weekend. Would definitely recommend this hotel

 Report
Helpful?
Thank artofeffectiveliving
Donna D, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear artofeffectiveliving, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful 5 star review. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Indeed we are situated in a fantastic location which makes the hotel a great base for exploring the city. I am thrilled that you took advantage of that. Thank you very much for...

Salida, California
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the O'Callaghan for three nights as I wandered through Dublin. This was NOT a scheduled stop, was supposed to be a 6 hour lay over on my way home. Decided to book the room on the spur of the moment. Great call. The staff was polite, the room, though a touch small was more than adequate for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
Donna D, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Paul C, Thank you very much for taking the time to share your wonderful 5 star review. I am delighted you decided to book a room with us on the spur of the moment and found it to be a great decision. We are very lucky to be so centrally located which makes the hotel a great base for...

Wexford, Ireland
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I recently booked a king size room in this hotel having had difficulty getting a twin room anywhere in the city I suspect due to there being a rugby international and concert on . Having checked in my daughter and I were shown to a room with small double bed . I phoned reception and queried this to be told...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Clarem634
Donna D, Front Office Manager at O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Clarem634, Thank you for taking the time to share your review of your recent stay with us. I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the staff and the location to be great. I am sorry for the misunderstanding about the bed sizes. I will discuss this with my fellow team members to...

547 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (238)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (53)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Room/Suite (57)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (23)
Viewed
Other (94)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (283)
Viewed
Amenities (39)
Viewed
Classic King Room (63)
Viewed
Junior Suite (76)
Viewed
Dining (40)
Viewed
The Hotel (65)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Centre/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 km away
O'Callaghan Alexander Hotel
0.0 km away
O'Callaghan Mont Clare Hotel
0.5 km away
Trinity City Hotel
Trinity City Hotel
#57 of 150 in Dublin
3,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
O'Callaghan Stephen's Green Hotel
0.9 km away
Brooks Hotel
Brooks Hotel
#12 of 150 in Dublin
2,129 reviews
1.0 km away
Drury Court Hotel
Drury Court Hotel
#24 of 150 in Dublin
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
GreenLeadersBronze level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair Access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located on a quiet corner in the heart of Dublin City, only moments away from the buzz of city life, the O’Callaghan Davenport Hotel Dublin is where history and modernity unite. A fusion of old and new is a distinctive feature of this traditional, elegant Dublin City centre hotel. Imaginatively decorated in warm, vibrant colours, the 4-star Davenport Hotel Dublin has been designed with style and comfort in mind. Upon arrival at the Davenport Luxury hotel Dublin City you will be greeted by the hotel’s striking facade, distinguishing it from any other. It is all that remains of the landmark building, Merrion Hall Just off Merrion Square Dublin City, designed by Alfred G Jones in 1863, after a fire engulfed the building in 1990. The interior refurbishment and exterior restoration has been sensitive to the historic nature of the building. There are a host of facilities available for the business or leisure guest at the O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel Dublin. Rich dark woods engulf President’s Bar, creating an inviting, clubhouse ambience, where residents and locals stop to unwind and enjoy a drink, coffee, or light lunch. Lanyon’s Restaurant is famed for its relaxed atmosphere and tasty European fare. If fitness is your relaxant, there is a 24-hour gymnasium for exclusive use of hotel residents at Dublins Davenport Hotel. The discerning business guest is certain to feel at home in O’Callaghan Davenport Luxury Hotel. There is a wide range of facilities at your disposal in the business centre, open 24-hours, while wireless broadband is available in the lobby. As flexibility and choice is a core value of O’Callaghan Hotels, guests can use the facilities and services of any Dublin City O’Callaghan Hotel and have the account conveniently billed back to your room. ... more   less 

Additional Information about O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel

Address: Merrion Street Lower, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: RM469 - RM1,237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 115
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cancelon, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Davenport Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Dublin
#19 Family Hotel in Dublin
#27 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#33 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
#55 Business Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel staff and other travellers.
35 questions
Ask a question
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Houston, Texas
over a year ago

See all questions (35)

Questions? Get answers from O'Callaghan Davenport Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Not room 7400, as it can be claustrophobic”
 of 5 bubbles JnVSydney, 1 Dec 2016 | Read review
“dined in the bar only”
 of 5 bubbles davidfranco79, 29 Nov 2016 | Read review
“I had a room by the main road but could hear nothing.”
 of 5 bubbles Chels70, 7 Nov 2016 | Read review
“get as room on the right side of the hotel looking a the front, it has a better view”
 of 5 bubbles JJB99, 26 Oct 2016 | Read review
“I was on the fourth floor which was quiet and peaceful”
 of 5 bubbles vincentdX3010NN, 19 Oct 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay