We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Mespil Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Professional photos
Mespil Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_baseline_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_baseline_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

336 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 300: English reviews
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed here on a business trip and wasn't expecting much based on similar hotels I had stayed in near the area, how surprised I was. I had an executive room, which wasn't much more expensive and it was fantastic. Check-in was quick and efficient. It is situated in a lovely area with walking distance to many restaurants, cafes and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank verat
San Diego, California
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I had the chance to stay here for a business trip. I was sceptical of the hotel when I booked because the price was so reasonable for the area. I was pleasantly surprised to find the hotel quite lovely, the room large, shower/bath area excellent. They have a lounge and a restaurant. But what really sold me on this place...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank CJ F
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I wanted a quick sandwich for lunch. In the bar. "Sandwiches/lunch just finished". There were breakfast baps. Frazzled looking bacon strips among the sausages under the dough. Three cold ones remaining on the counter plate. "I can heat up one for you in the machine!". How much are they? " I'm not sure" The bacon strips looked more and more...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank 34210king
Williamstown, New Jersey
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Had the opportunity to stay at the Mespil and we were not disappointed. The rooms are beautifully furnished and very clean. The staff were very friendly, courteous and helpful. The food served in the dining room was very fresh and plentiful. They also gave you a large variety to choose from. Transportation for touring is real close and readily available,

 Report
Helpful?
Thank John L
Mespil_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel, Dublin. We are delighted to see that we lived up to your expectations as a hotel. It is always nice to hear compliments on the friendliness of our staff. Thank you also for the compliments on on our food offering and i will certainly pass these on to the kitchen....

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for a short two day break over New Years. From check in to check out and everything in between, I couldn't fault this hotel. The staff are courteous and extremely helpful (had an issue with my ATM card and wouldn't swipe, the staff went above and beyond to assist with manual entries - given the banks were shut and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank King-Icarus78
Mespil_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel, Dublin. It is great to see you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were so helpful to you. Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Morgan McInerney Guest Relations Manager

Reviewed 1 week ago

Very good hotel located not too far from Grand Canal square (ideal for business trips). Good clean rooms, good restaurant(s), pretty good wifi, decent gym. Only the breakfast is a bit frustrating for the price and the distinction between continental and Irish seems superfluous. Oh, and the soap and shampoo provided in the bathroom smell wonderful!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Titiparisi
Mespil_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel, Dublin. Thank you for your compliments on the hotel. I will pass them on to the management team. Thank you also for you feedback on the breakfast. We are always looking for ways to improve. Great to see that the soap and shampoo left a good impression! Thank you for...

Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights on a weekend. I emailed ahead for something special as it was our 10year anniversary. I was not disappointed as we got a upgrade to an executive suite and some chocolates in the room, nice touch. The room was great clean and spacious overlooking the canal. We did have to ask for the heating to be...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank mesher75
Mespil_Management, Guest Relations Manager at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel, Dublin. We are delighted to see that you chose to spend such a special occasion with us and that we were able to make it slightly more special. Thank you for your suggestions on improvements that we can make in the the bedrooms. We are always looking to improve our...

Reviewed 1 week ago

I had the pleasure of staying in this hotel on business for 12 weeks every one of the staff could not be more helpful or pleasant. My room was excellent large bed and flat screen TV Anything requested from housekeeping fridge ice bucket etc was supplied.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lenny O
Mespil_Management, Guest Relations Assistant at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel, Dublin. Fantastic to read that you enjoyed your 12 week business stay with us. Delighted to read that any requests were fulfilled for you during your time with us. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our ‘friendly’ and ‘helpful’ staff. Your comments will be passed on to the team....

Apeldoorn, The Netherlands
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the end of the year. Nice hotel, especially the staff is very helpfull and kind. It a walk of about 15 minutes to Stevens Green, but multiple bus stops are nearby and always a couple of taxis waiting just outside the door. Just around the corner ther a some nice restaurants too.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Roos V
Mespil_Management, Guest Relations Assistant at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel, Dublin. Delighted to read you enjoyed your recent stay with us and found the location of the hotel convenient. Thank you for your kind comments regarding our ‘helpful’ and ‘kind’ staff. Your comments will most certainly be passed on to everyone. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel...

Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

As a family we decided to have a 2 night city break in Dublin and stay in the Mespil Hotel again where we stayed several years ago. We knew the family rooms were at the top of the hotel at the front with great views over the canal. On arrival we were pleasantly surprised to see the hotel had been...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank taylorvernon34
Mespil_Management, Guest Relations Assistant at Mespil Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your recent review of the Mespil Hotel, Dublin. Delighted to hear that you enjoyed your return visit to the hotel and thank you for your lovely compliments of the refurbishment work that has been completed. Glad to hear everything in your room was in order and the family ‘slept well’. Thank you for your kind comments regarding...

770 photos of this hotel

Traveller photos: See what travellers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveller Photos (67)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Other (35)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (693)
Viewed
Amenities (32)
Viewed
Double Room #460 (75)
Viewed
Double Room #516 (83)
Viewed
Double-Single Room #426 (91)
Viewed
Double-Single Room #473 (83)
Viewed
Family Room (84)
Viewed
Dining (88)
Viewed
The Hotel (77)
Viewed
Twin Room (80)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (10)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.6 km away
Roxford Lodge Hotel
Roxford Lodge Hotel
#15 of 150 in Dublin
1,168 reviews
3.4 km away
Ashling Hotel
Ashling Hotel
#17 of 150 in Dublin
4,037 reviews
0.7 km away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 150 in Dublin
1,549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Waterloo House
Waterloo House
#22 of 150 in Dublin
541 reviews
0.6 km away
Schoolhouse Hotel
Schoolhouse Hotel
#27 of 150 in Dublin
1,090 reviews
1.0 km away
Ariel House
Ariel House
#3 of 150 in Dublin
1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair Access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Centre with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Mespil Hotel is a modern 4 star hotel located within Georgian Dublin, an elegant and stylish part of Dublin city centre and just 15-20 minutes walk from St. Stephens Green/Grafton Street, Aviva Stadium, Bord Gáis Energy Theatre, Ballsbridge and the RDS and a further 10 minutes to Temple Bar. The Mespil Hotel offers 254 bright, spacious, non-smoking guest bedrooms with free WIFI Internet access. Lock Four Restaurant serves breakfast, lunch and dinner daily and is over looking the Grand Canal. In the Lounge you can enjoy morning coffee, a quick and healthy lunch or treat yourself to a tasty snack and a refreshing cocktail ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mespil Hotel

Address: 50 - 60 Mespil Road, Dublin D04 E7N2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Price Range: RM397 - RM929 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mespil Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Mespil Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mespil Hotel Dublin
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Dublin
#23 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#60 Family Hotel in Dublin
#66 Business Hotel in Dublin
#67 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travellers have asked, with answers from Mespil Hotel staff and other travellers.
40 questions
Ask a question
ireland
5 days ago
Manchester, United Kingdom
over a year ago
Sydney
over a year ago

See all questions (40)

Questions? Get answers from Mespil Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travellers prefer

“Get an executive room if you can.”
 of 5 bubbles verat, 16 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Choose a room away from the canal for a quiet night's sleep”
 of 5 bubbles 400cjf, 13 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Rooms to the front have the best views”
 of 5 bubbles lennyo553, 5 Jan 2017 | Read review
“Our room was on the side street, they do not use AC so windows have to stay open. Very noisy in am.”
 of 5 bubbles Pepzman1969, 29 Dec 2016 | Read review
“The breakfast is worth the money”
 of 5 bubbles FionaR552, 9 Dec 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay